Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 720 students

Opened in 1925, Roosevelt offers tradition melded with modern flare.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2012

The principal caters to the mom's who volunteer. She creates a climate that is not inclusive. Some people have left which creates more of the same problems related to an overly powerful group of parents. It is almost like it is not a public school. The FCAT is the one reminder that the school is public. Parents seem to be very insensitive to anyone different than them. Teachers would get a higher rating but they are constrained by the FCAT. It is almost like caring teachers cannot go the extra mile and help a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

I went to this school for 6 years and loved every one of them during the last week of my 5th grade year I (and every one else) felt like a movie star I felt really connected with all my and teachers and they help me learn so much during the beggining of the year I could hardly stand reading now all my parents say is "your still reading!" This is a great school 6 stars and two thumbs up!


Posted June 14, 2012

I visited my granddaughter, who is in kindergarten,, for lunch on May 23, 2012. It was my first visit to Roosevelt. It was so new to me I had to mapquest it to find it. It is a true gem! The school is a well kept older school hidden in a quaint neighborhood in South Tampa. As I entered the main office the staff was very friendly and helpful. My granddaughter was called to the main office with a classmate to escort me to her class. I was welcomed by her teacher and observed class activites for several minutes until lunch. At lunch I observed a child eating with his parents in celebration of his birthday. My granddaughter was very proud of her school and pointed out the painting of the Rough Rider on the wall. She said, "that is what I am . . a Roosevelt Rough Rider." She was so happy and proud to "showcase" her school, Roosevelt. I commend Roosevelt as it appeared that ALL the students felt loved and appreciated. What a wonderful learning environment!!


Posted June 5, 2012

I have been in this school for 6 years and my daughter was in the first ever PRE-K program. I love the parental involvement and feel that's the reason for the strength of the school character as well as overall academic achievement. It's extremely old which makes it part of the historical society. It's kept up with regard to the preservation and needs but it's good to know our money is going toward TEACHING and FUNDING for education, rather than APPEARANCES of the school overall. Remember when reading one of the posts below: THE FARMER WITH THE BIGGEST HAT, DOESN"T ALWAYS HAVE THE BEST CATTLE. This school is remarkable INSIDE AND OUT. This school continuously does tremendous on the F-CAT testing. They teach at a higher standard than the FLORIDA STANDARD. Great teachers, parental involvement and a strong community support, make it better than ANY competing school. One problem I had: NO MANDATORY UNIFORMS. The other elementary schools offered it. I GIVE THIS SCHOOL 6 starts. It deserves more than 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Roosevelt is a fantastic school. I intentionally moved to this area because I knew this school received so much assistance from the parents. I am a working, single mom and cannot express how good I feel knowing my kid is getting so much attention during the day - both from teachers and volunteers. She loves her school, is allowed to do work at her academic level and is not kept back in the crowd. I cannot praise the school enough. Great work by everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

5 stars is an understatement. My two siblings and I went to this school ourselves (Class of 2004, 2008, and 2009) and it's the best school I've ever attended! The staff and faculty are great, they're friendly, supportive, and just good people in general. It's a very community/parent oriented and sociable school. They have Writing, Reading, Math, and Science classes, along with Physical Education, Technology, and Music classes (along with clubs and yearly plays). Every year the students test scores are spectacular, due to the wonderful learning environment. Every year the classes get a little more difficult as your child graduates to the next grade level, and when it's time for middle school, 5th graders are as prepared as they can be. And now, finishing my middle school career, I've realized I honestly wouldn't be the same person if I hadn't gone to this school. Everyday was a great one, and every year was life-changing. If I were you, I wouldn't send my kids to any other school. BULLY! BULLY!


Posted February 11, 2011

Roosevelt is a great school. We moved here from out of state and did our research before buying in the expensive south Tampa area. We love being so close to the bay but the real hidden treasure is Roosevelt Elementary! We have a new principal who is working to supplement the school with art, strings and foreign language. I have 3 children at this school who feel loved everyday. Yes, parents are involved but I feel like that supplements what teachers are able to give to our kids. I am disappointed in the funding given by the state of Florida for education overall, specifically in the state's definition of a "full" day. The result is a lot of early release days. Next year, these days may become delay start. Either way, less time in the classroom means less education. With that said, I love living in south Tampa and there is no other school I would send my 3 daughters to. Another awesome thing at our school is the Dad's club involvement. The dad's host a bowling event, movie night, campfire, golf tourney & more. If your child is into acting, there is a great grade level play put on each year. Can't wait to meet you at Roosevelt!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My daughter has attended Roosevelt since K5. She is now in 4th grade. Last year she took the FCAT (Florida's standardized test) and received a perfect score. If you check the scores from all the other schools in the area Roosevelt scores highest each and every year, and there are other very good schools in the surrounding area. This year she has been invited to Duke University's TIP program for gifted students in the top 5% of their peers. My wife and I do work with her but Roosevelt deserves much of the credit. We could send her to any school in the city and Roosevelt remains our 1st choice without a doubt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Couldn't ask for a better school. Faculty does an amazing job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

I have actually told friends who are sending their kids to private school that they are waisting their money. The teachers are dedicated and I feel that over all it's been a positive experience for my children. You're always going to that I didn't care for isn't there any more. As for the parent who seemed to be so disappointed in the school, I don't get it. Sure on a personal level I find wealthy soccer moms to be annoying but you can't fault anyone who wants to be involved in their kid's lives. The fact is that it's a great school and the grades prove it, not to mention the fact that my kids love it. Great principal and a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

The reviewer of 6/7/08 either has chosen the wrong Roosevelt EL to review or has never been to the school! In the past five years I have seen nothing but positive changes in the school's academic focus and programs. The staff is well qualified. They love their chosen profession and our children. The beautiful 80 year old facility is neither run-down or dirty. It is the pride of our community! How is it possible that there is ever too much parental involvement? We are fortunate to have a principal that allows and encourages us to be involved. Roosevelt is the best school in South Tampa. This doesn't happen by chance... everyone working together towards a common goal is how that happens. If your child didn't get the help they need, you should have talked to the teacher, assistant principal or principal. Bully, Bully Rough Riders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

I believe that the person who wrote the review on 6/7/08 has never been to the school! I have had children at this school for 10 years and let me tell you the amazing positive transformation in this school during the last 5 years, coincidentally the same amount of time the the current principal has been there! Academics are the focus! It is refreshing to have a school allow so much parent involvement. And as for the comment about too much parental involvement, how is that even possible? Involvement is our responsibility as parents! The staff has excellent credentials, they are caring and loving. My children always cry on the last day because 'they will miss their teacher.' The facility is anything but run down and dirty. It is well-kept, beautiful 80 year old building! Bully Bully Rough Riders! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

While this school has great scores acedemically, i do not believe it is mainly due to the teachers, but yet, the parents. This school has a bit to much parental involvement (they pretty much run the school) the parents get whatever they want and the staff os not supported in any way. The principal does things and makes choices that are not in the students best intrest, just to please parents. The school is dirty and run down. With all the money that this school has, where is it going? The school is more focused of social activities rather than strong acedemics. Ask any primary teacher if they teach writing. The answer will prbably be no. Do not be fooled by this school. It is very poorly ran. The struggling students at this school will receive very little support. Staff and administration are lacking.


Posted August 15, 2007

Roosevelt Elementary has exceeded all of our expectations! Every year, I think 'it can't get better', and IT DOES. The excellent education, support and love our son has received in his 4 years here is extraordinary. He can't wait to get to school in the morning. As he puts it, 'this school rocks!' We are very fortunate to have a school of this calibre in S. Tampa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

This is an excellent school! The staff give 110% to the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

Very good academic support from teachers and a variety of extracurricular activities for students join after school. Very organized in celebrating students' achievements. Parents are extremely involved and have great volunteer support.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2005

Roosevelt is an exceptional school. It has a smaller population of students (around 500) which allows the principal and staff to know students as individuals. The teachers are caring, well-trained, and supportive. There is strong parent involvement as well. All students are expected to do their best and are given the support to achieve. Excellent music program! Many after school activities/clubs offered. Strong academic achievement in all grade levels. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 1, 2005

Quality of academic programs is very good, have to follow Florida public school guidelines. Music program strong, art is good, but not enough time spent on it, sports and extracurricular activiities are good. Parent involvment has been excellent in the past, seems to be dropping only due to lack of parking and ease of getting into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

In general, Roosevelt has been a good school for my daughter. She has just completed 3rd grade. I would like to see more communications with the parents at the 'secondary level'. My daughter often times did not understand an assignment, or understand why she received a bad grade. As a parent, I did not get enough information from the teachers to 'rework' the assignment with my daughter so that she had a better understanding. While she finished 3rd grade with above average grades, she could have had exceptional grades if I could have worked more closely with her. It would be helpful to know if my child is struggling with a subject... rather than finding out with a less than average grade on her report card! While I'm sure that the schools wants to teach the secondary level child to be independent, when they see a struggle, they should involve the parent immediately! I think, like myself, most parents will provide that one-on-one support for their child. The teacher can teach the class better when all of the students are on the 'same level'. Better communications, assistance finding extra curricular training/study materials, and assignment outlines will help me help my child succeed, and will make less work for the teacher! We will all Win!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%67%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. CHRISTINA DICKENS
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (813) 233-3577

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parents volunteer in all areas of our sc
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Coleman Middle School
Plant High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3205 South Ferdinand Avenue
Tampa, FL 33629
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 272-3090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT