Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seminole Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 474 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

Although we had a wonderful experience last year, this year has been terrible. Our daughters teacher has completely given up on her job and the children's development when they need it most. Fortunately for us our daughter is very dedicated and has not let these events get her down. As for the teacher... You may not like how her mother handled something but that does not mean you should take it out on our child! She worked harder than you could imagine, yet she was let down by you and your terrible work ethic and communication skills. Maybe you thought this was gonna be a job full of coloring and playing with blocks, but our children need a strong person to start them out with a good foundation... You are none of that. Thanks for the wasted year!!! To anyone reading this please no that I am only giving my opinion on one teacher, they are not all like this. Most of the other teachers I have dealt with have been wonderful... It's just this one that I know of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

My two daughters love Seminole Elementary. If you are a hands on parent and you stay tuned into your child's education, your kids will excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

My son started this school this year in kindergarten. I was very nervous about the transition from preschool to regular school. The teachers were very nice with helping him and taking their time with him. The school is very professional and the curriculum is great. He is so happy every morning when getting ready for school. The only issue I have as an involved parent with my child education is the open door policy for parents. My first child I could visit when I wanted and they always made me feel welcome to come peek at him or have breakfast/lunch with him sometimes. Seminole tell all parents to be off campus at 8:00am. Even the first week of school. Just not inviting for parents but other than that they are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

My son and I attended the October Family Writing Night. WOW! Great job teachers for presenting this writing workshop in such a FUN way. My son learned a lot about elaboration and how to make his writing better. He was initially not excited about going because writing has never been a favorite subject for him. The teacher who worked with my son did an outstanding job and made a big impact. Thank you Seminole Elementary Teachers. You are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

We are looking forward to the beginning of another great school year at Seminole. We appreciate all the teachers and staff for all of their hard work. We also respect the difficult job that school administrators have today. Seminole's do an excellent job of leading our school. I know that everyday my child is safe, happy, and learing. Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

To the 04/17/10 post: not spreading sour grapes....expressing my opinion here like everyone else, which as far as i knew was still allowed. I don't discount the teachers, aides, custodians, cafeteria staff or PTA, they have all been excellent. What I do not like is the "The Captain",as she has dubbed herself treating families like second class citizens if they don't conform to her mold. She has taught her office staff her ill-mannered ways and believe it or not it does trickle down to our children....regardless of the A rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

What a wonderful school! My child loves it! The teachers are very dedicated and everyone is so helpful. The administrators have taken time to speak with me personally on multiple occasions. They always seem to have time for me. It is a beautiful school in a beautiful neighborhood, but it is much more than looks. They care about kids and their education. You couldn't do any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

My review would be much higher if it weren't for the administration. I never had a problem with *teachers* - they were dedicated, communicated well, but I did not feel invited to participate as a parent - the administration seemed over-controlling of PTA goals. I liked that it was a small school for my child's sake, and my child enjoyed being there. And to the 10/7/10 poster, don't dictate what other people can express, please. Some things need to be aired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

The comment from a teacher dated 10-06-09 is exactly what you'd expect a teacher at Seminole to say....they are all under the control of the principal. My child has been enrolled for 4 years and if it weren't for the fact that all of his friends are there and that we have had great experiences with the teachers we would choose another school. The principal is out of control and her office staff is put out if you ask or need anything. They pride themselves on being a family....so dysfunctional is the norm now?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

So far, so good. I've homeschooled, and had kids in charter, private, and magnet schools so am experienced with different settings. I was uncertain about putting kindergartener into public school but student has learned to read at what I'd guess to be about a 3rd grade level, do addition and subtraction, they have done science experiments and do get P.E. at least once a week. Student says she enjoys school. Teacher answers email quickly, and keeps me advised of any behavior issues. It's easy to get someone in the office to answer the phone, it's not so big that it's too bureaucratic. Good mix of kids. Will have to wait and see if it becomes all about the FCAT in the 'real' grades, but so far, so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Seminole Elementary is a great school where teachers, faculty, & staff pour their hearts into every student. Where students are encouraged and challenged to achieve excellence!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

We're an 'A' school, where awesome students, faculty, and staff are 'WILD ABOUT LEARNING.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 4, 2009

This school is great! I do not agree with the parent who stated the school was 'going down the tubes'. My child is in 3rd grade, and my child was not only completely prepared for the FCAT, but he also learned many lessons to help him through life. My child loves his teaccher and was sad to go onto the 4th grade because his teacher made learning fun and exciting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I have pulled both of my kids out of this school. It's going down the tubes due to the fact that the teachers do not teach they instruct in order to pass the FCAT. The principal needs a Dale Carnegie class pronto. Leadership and creative problem-solving skills are severly lacking. It is a shame. In 2005-2007, the school was a leader in academics especially for kids with disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I think Seminole is a great family oriented school. The staff knows all children and parents, as well the parents know all the staff. Transport my children 8 miles to go to this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Seminole is a good school doing the best they can with what they have. They would be a great school if they had a 'real' gym or P.E. program. Enrichment opportunities for the kids are lacking. It is a safe school, 'most' of the teachers are responsive and caring. They do their best to work with children at all levels. I am content so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

I placed my son at this school after talking with other parents about the school. I have no regrets about his placement and his retention this year has far exceeded his prior years of education. I have found that if you ever have a question or need assistance, you just ask. If you are considering this school, I recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

The teachers, principals, and staff are wonderful. It is a warm and friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

My son has been going to this school for 2 years & it has been the WORST 2 years of my life. I agree with the other parent who stated that teachers do not keep in contact with parents. I have gone through that with 4 different teachers at this school & the principal's answer to everything is moving the child out of the class rather then fixing the problem 4 different teachers and not one of them has filled out one page of the agenda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

I love this school. I walk into the office at Seminole and there are smiles all over and everyone is always so friendly and helpful. The school itself is clean and colorful. My daughter says 'I love this school, even the lunches are good'. Academic programs are also really great. They are always learning in fun ways and hand on. The teachers really do care and they have a fun and creative way of teaching. Thank you to everyone who is part of Seminloe Heights Elementary! This has been the best year so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 36%
Hispanic 30%
Black 29%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%67%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. JACKIE MASTERS
Fax number
  • (813) 272-2279

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 North Central Avenue
Tampa, FL 33604
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5556

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Walton Academy
Tampa, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT