Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tinker Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 554 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2010

Great school. My son was here for kindergarten and 1is now in 1st grade. I love, love, love both teachers he had. Ms. G Bell and Ms. S Bell (yes they're related), are great teachers and my son loved them both. They are very approachable, and you can tell they genuinely care for their students. Though I've never had any personaly experience with the priniciple, she is tough, but she loves her students as well. I'll miss Tinker. The only reason my child won't be attending next year is because the school will be outside of my area. Thank you Tinker staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Staff continually puts a good show on but our children's education is paying for it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Tinker Elementary is a fantastic school located on MacDill Air Force Base in Tampa, Florida. My children have great memories of that little school!!! The teachers and staff are the best in Hillsborough county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My daughter started at Tinker about 2 monts ago. So far, I really like her teacher's methods of teaching, which is what counts. I can still tell you that I don't care with the people at the front office. I agree with a lot of previous reviews, they are rude, are not professional and seems like they do not care abou who is standing in front of them. I have met the principal on several occasion and so fat, I think she is great. So that's it...I just have a bad thing to say about the admin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

This school is the best that has happen to my son! I have found the principal to be supportive w/responsible parents and matters under her control. My son teachers are and have been responsive to the needs of the student and as a result my son has moved up the grades with no problem. Today, my son (eventhough he is in lower grade) he is reading and doing math work at the fifth grade level and he is very motivated. His disposition is the reflection of the school's environment and the high quality of teachers the schools has on-hand. The fact this school is inside of a military base gives me the peace of mind I could not get in any other school. The only observation I have is for the office staff to be more customer oriented and stay away from gestures to improve their bad repution. A parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

This is an outstanding school to send your children to. This is a school of choice. Those parents who are complaining need to do us all a favor and find a new school! The principal is a great person. Very professional and supportive. She is very friendly and goes out of her way to know each parent in the school. The administrative team at Tinker needs to do some work that reflects the principal's leadership and caring attitude...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I cannot let the negative review be the last one viewed on this site! The principal is an outstanding individual. Very professional and supportive. She is friendly and goes out of her way to know each and every child in the school. Those children are treated like her own. She is aware of their feelings and needs and goes out of her way to comfort them. The administrative team at Tinker is awesome. This is a wonderful school to send your children to. This is a school of choice. Those that are complaining need to do us all a favor and find a new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I am very disappointed with this school and it's principal and the teachers time and time again it has been shown this principal will uphold her teachers even when proven to be wrong let alone constantly ignored or disregarded unless you lose your temper and let it be known that you will take issues further then they only present a quick fix not taking care of the problem TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Tinker is an excellent school. I have had 2 children in this school for the past 3 years. We commute in about 45 mintues from another county. Since I work on MacDill it is nice to have the children so close. Parents are always welcomed to come to the school for classroom visits, eat lunch with your child, volunteer, etc. The person who complain about not receiving a phone call back... why didn't you stop by the principals office? Although there is on secretary/admin lady that I do not care for, I do not let 1 person ruin this great schools and great teachers. Tinker is a great school with great teachers. My friends in my neighborhood complain of the school we are zoned to go to because of the large student/teacher ratio. At Tinker, we have had the good fortune of low student/teacher ratio as compared to other local school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I'm seeing all of these complaints from disgruntled parents and it amazes me that they continue to send their child to such a 'horrible' school. Why are they complaining when they can pull them and send them somewhere else? If it's that bad, get out. My children have attended the school for 3 years and I have never had an issue. If you want to speak to the teachers, they are available. They may not get back as quick as some may want but they do get back. As for admin and the front office, try dealing with parents who are upset all day. They are doing the best they can. As for communication about activities, etc., those go out quite often. Try checking your student's Wednesday folder or their backpack. Tinker has been an A rated school for 7 years for a reason...they get the job done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

This school is absolutely in dire need of improvement. I called the school three times and asked that the principal call me to hear solutions on some of the existing problems (safety issues) and I am still waiting on a call. The office staff lack professionalism and competency. You have to pull teeth for registration information and forms (when they can find them), don't have the number to transportation for newcomers, and when it rains they can't manage getting the bus positioned or even control traffic. The secretary has a nasty disposition, constantly rolls her eyes, and sighs when one makes a call or asks a question. Very little information is ever sent home concerning education or activities. What activities?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

This school is an amazing school. My child is now in first grade and has had the same teacher in Kindergarten and now again in first. I think the teacher/parent communication is wonderful with an e-mail list serve, notes back and forth, newsletters, reminders, updates, etc. I feel like I am in the classroom and know what is going on when I can not be there. I would recommend this school and teacher to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

If I could give it a '0' star rating, I would. Sounds like a repeat to other reviews, but they are right - communication is horrible, teachers/staff yell at the children, and asking for help from the administration doesn't get you anywhere. Very sad that this is the school experience that the children of our military families are being subjected to. Much improvement is needed to make this school truly an 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

For this school being on a military base, it is not up to par. The school should be sensitive to the children and their needs; especially, with having deploying parents. They have horrible communication. We found out in kindergarten the reward system, when the kids get things right - they give them handfuls of candy and then wonder why they are all over the place. Our son has adhd and we feel have they have been single out by some teachers - we are disappointed with how you try to get help from the teachers and answers on homework and you get ignored. This is not the way and education system is suppose to be - more less on a military base. The board needs to come in and set structure and get teachers that care about students and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Tinker is an outstanding elementary school. With the adjustments and move into a brand new building, the teachers and administration have worked very hard to keep safety and instruction at its best. Parent involvement is crucial. It would be great if more parenst would be involved rather complain when issues arise. Tinker is GREAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I think Tinker Elementary is a awesome school and the principal is super. they have helped all of my 3 boys grow and learn. I have one son who has alot of trouble and they keep up with his needs.I would recommend this school for all. It does have trouble with outside but i believe it is cause its in renovations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

The principal needs much improvement, the administration is not professional at all. This school is a disappointment. Teachers need to worry about school studies. I hope next year they will be big changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

I am impressed with the achedemic program intended for my son's first grade. However, I am very dissappointed with the teacher follow up to concerns. The questions are asked and completly ignored. There is also very clear favoratisim amoung students and parents. My son requires extra attention, medicaly and educationaly, there has been no follow up to his needs. I am always chasing down answers about his education. They also have little outside recreational tools, no playground at all. The kids need things to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

The administration lacks leadership and follow through. Parents are given the run around regarding problems in the classroom. There is obvious favortism amoungst parents. When administration is approached, they tend to blow you off, by saying,'Give it sometime!' PLEASE!!! I want my son to feel safe at school. Tinker could be a great school...Perhaps a new adminstration is in order. I'm hoping to PCS soon and get away from here..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

The teachers at this school are great but I feel the administration doesn't strive for excellence. She can be very frustrating. The school had a high turn over among the teachers this last year so there are many new teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 21%
Black 16%
Two or more races 10%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8207 Tinker Street
Tampa, FL 33621
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 840-2043

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT