Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tinker Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 554 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2007

My son has attended this school since Kindergarten and is now in the fourth grade. My daughter attended Tinker from first grade and now she is in middle school. I can't say enough positive things about Tinker. The school is undergoing renovations and will soon look as wonderful as the school really is! They do stress the FCAT, but what school doesn't in this area?! Reading is stressed also! I would recommend this school to anyone who PCS's to Macdill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

We have not had a great experience with the school overall, between having to beg for any extra help for our daughter who has a learning delay and the mixed signals from teachers when we wish to come in and help! The school seems like it would be great but over the past two years we have had nothing but disappointments from the teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

My son has been going to Tinker for 4yrs and my daughter just started the pre-k. I always ask other parents for recomendations and then we'll request a teacher for the following year. Eversince it's been great. Oh, and I love the fact that they wear uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Tinker has been a dissapointment for my family. The Administration doesn't do a good job on following up with issues going on inside the classroom. The teachers you can either get a very good one or one that I wouldn't recommend. It is too bad that this school couldn't be focused better on our military children and the consistency that they need. The media specialist is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Tinker Elementary School is a small school. It is an old building. Teachers and office personnel are very good. There are so many extracurricular activities. It is a good alternative if you work or live on post at Macdill Airfoce Base.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

This school has been a big disappointment. My children have attended this school for three years. Even though I love the teachers, the principal needs much improvement. More and more programs are being canceling and all the school's focus seem to be on the FCAT. To the point of stressing out the students. The welfare of the students is not top priority in this school. I will be moving my children to a different school at the end of the school year and would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

Tinker school overall is an excellent school. My girls love the teachers and thr school programs are geared for them. The expectations from the staff and students are great. Like every school, Tinker has its problems. The PTO, which is the only PTO in this county, is very closed lipped and you can not get a straight answer from them. I have had better results with dealing with a PTA. The principal you can not get a straight answer at all from. The really bright star at Tinker would have to be the media specialist. Makes it Great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

Parental involvement is about the only plus for Tinker. Favoritism is commonly displayed among students as well as parents. Several of the teachers leave something to desire due to the fact that they rarely teach. Busy work is a common task given by several of the teachers. There are a few teachers that are excellent, unfortunately my daughter has not been in their classes. The mission of Tinker states they will broaden a child's mind educationally as well as broaden social skills. How do you broaden social skills without activities outside the classroom?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

Excellent school. nice environment. Nice size class. Great location. After school program, cheap. very safe on base(macdill afb).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

Tinker Elementary has the best principle and vice principle that I have seen in any school. They both put their heart into their job and the children are very receptive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I think Tinker Elementary has a major lack of communication. It wasn't until I asked my daughters teacher how her behavior was in class, that I got an earfull. She had been talking, not following directins, and playing in line. If I had of known that before I would have made her stop. I still made her behave. I was just upset that it acutally took me asking before I was told about her behavior. The bad behavior had been going on for monthes. Now tell me that isn't a lack of communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

I have had two daughters attend Tinker Elementary and am sorry they are moving on to middle school. Cheryl Tyo, principal, has a sincere interest in the kids' education and it shows. The staff in the office is always helpful and considerate, even when, as a parent, I was not as organized and timely as I could have been. The 'gifted and talented' classes are wonderful, as are the standard classrooms we were involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

Tinker Elementary located on MacDill AFB is great. My son has been attending Tinker for 4 years, since he was in 2nd grade. The ratio of students to teachers is perfect. One on one attention is readily available. They have chorus, violin and piano if your child is interested. The parents are all actively involved and the students are all very friendly. Making friends is easy. There are always smiling faces when you visit. The office gets to know you by name and are always available when you need them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 21%
Black 16%
Two or more races 10%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8207 Tinker Street
Tampa, FL 33621
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 840-2043

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT