Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Williams Middle Magnet School

Public | 6-8 | 798 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

I have to say that Williams is an excellent school because discipline is applied in the right moment. Thank you Mr. Jacobs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2014

Well I know that teachers want to stop summer reding lost but I HATE that I have to get a summer packet. :(:(:(:(:(


Posted August 27, 2013

I'm currently a 7th grader enrolled in Williams, (I was a 6th grader last year.) and I firmly believe this is a excellent school. I mean it's not every day you find a internationally recognized IB school! This is one of the best educations your child will get, but it can be a challenge. So if your child wants the best education they can get and they are ready for a challenge, by all means enroll!


Posted April 27, 2013

Our school is multicultural. We do learn only about things that go around in the community but the world around us! I like the teachers that put a spin on the way we learn to make it fun yet understandable. I think we can improved by getting involved with the community more.


Posted December 2, 2012

We are so pleased our daughter got into this school. We love it here. The IB curriculum is challenging and it keeps the students busy and focused on their education. Be prepared for large amounts of homework! We live in New Tampa and were worried that the distance to the school would out weigh the academic benefit. It does not, we have found the added effort, early mornings, and busy homework evenings are totally worth the excellent education our daughter is receiving at this school! It's a rich and diverse culture and she adores it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

I am currently in 7th grade i love my new teachers although im not the best student i really do like it here the first time i came in 6th grade it was hard i will admit i disliked my math and science teachers but my other teachers were awesome i strongly recommened this school my science teacher this year is great he's always telling me to do my best he even gives extra credit that you can choose to do or not he just says its your option to do it he lets you bring things in late and he wont mind, my other teachers are good too but my science teacher is the best iv had at the school.


Posted July 14, 2011

My daughter attended Williams for 6th through 8th grade. The curriculum was advanced but they offered extra assistance to students after school if needed. The teachers were fair and I believe they really want the students to succeed. This school is very diverse and rich in culture. I truly recommend Williams as a well-rounded, professional, academia focused middle school. This is exactly the type of school I wanted for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

I LOVE Williams IB. I am going into 7th graade and my 6th grade year was my best year in education. The amount of work is large but that gets kids minds away from bullying and getting in trouble. This school is ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! Most teachers are nice. The math and science is where kids trouble the most here so make sure they understand what they are learning. The teachers here strive to get you one-on-one and to help you. The students here can get a little rowdy but most make good friends. Your child will get the best education they could ever get in the United States her at Williams. It is an excellent school.


Posted March 5, 2011

This school is really great! I am currently in 6th grade and have been an a grade student for the past 6 years if u include this year. The studies aren't too hard for me but for some other students they are. this school offers many courses that you can take online to be in an advanced class. DO NOT LISTEN TO ANY OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT HOW THIS SCHOOL MIGHT BE BAD AND ALL THAT! Those are just students who get F's and hate smart people.


Posted January 6, 2011

Most of the teachers here are very professional, honest, caring people who are passionate about teaching. My son has gone there for 3 years and is moving on to HS next year. I am so glad we chose Williams for him. He was able to take 3 HS courses in 8th grade as well. My son would say they are a little strict but I like that type of environment for my child. It helps them stay focused on learning and cuts down on the behavioral problems and bullying. I am confident that Williams has prepared him for what ever HS he chooses. Also the school is very diverse and rich in cultures. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend Williams IB to anyone with a bright child looking for a structured environment to help their child soar to success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

My daughter just graduated from 8th grade and is going to Hills High IB program. She received one of the best educations available in our county - including private. The teachers and curriculum are awesome. She learned and had fun. it was a great experience for her and our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

The school is better than other schools, but might not be worth the transportation hassle if your neighborhood school is above average. I think the work, especially in 7th/8th grade can be more challenging since the work is the same as in other schools. The teachers are ok at best. I've had 3 children in this school, and all have gone on to the IBHS program. This school does prepare them for the IBHS programs, but many have to take remedial classes or reviews in the summer to get them caught up. Of all the 8th grade teachers, there is only three that we can say are truly top of their game when it comes to teaching. They are the science, inquiry skills and history (he no longer works there, but in the hs program) teachers. The rest seem to think that either teaching isn't important or would rather do projects/babysit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I was a 6th grade student i think the school is good but, i think they challenge us too much. They'll go through a lesson for 1 or 2 days then move on. The kids are kind of bad, But some of the teachers don't worry but others will try alot to help you. about our grades or if we need help. Most of the teachers i had were good, but if you did one bad thing they will be very mean to us for the rest of the year. Its an I.B. school but they dont let you express yourself like thry say they do. You will have a good time, but i think its to chanllanging for the kids who need extra help. The really good teachers werer Mr.Ramsy, Mr. & Mrs.Terhorst, Ms.himerdinger. && Also i dont think the spanish classes teach you mmuch spanish more of everything eles


Posted April 25, 2010

I am a 6th grade student at Williams and so far, I am loving everything. The teachers teach in a way that we learn while having fun, they teach us disipline, the orchestra is really fun and is very sucsessful and the principal is always involved with everything. Williams is a great school also because it is IB and a Magnet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2010

I love the school. I attended it for my 6th and part of my 7th grade years. I moved and I'm now in my first year at an IB high school. I loved the teachers and I miss everyone:(
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Very organized and disciplined. Teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2009

I reallly think this is a fabulous school, because the teachers train you for high school, and makes sure youre well trained for any thing in life. Currently i'm in 7th grade, and its the end of the year. I think most successful students come from this school , not because there smart or anything,but because their willing to try their best and not give up, and i know this by experience with other friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2008

This school is great i went here 4 my 6th grade year but sadly had to leave. For all parents this is a great school with an excellent education. Miss evryone J*Rut
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

The teachers are very good and offer the students the opportunity to learn directly with the teacher and also to form their own opinions and expand on their own potential while also giving them a challenging program to deal with while also adressing the needs of every student. They also offer programs which allow them to expand through extracurriculars becoming the best Model United Nations program in the area and some of the best music programs in the state. However the administration is weak and does ignore the student position and seems to treat them as pawns in a search for their own promotion or image. The teachers are quick to defend the students though and carry their opinion across.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2008

It is a very great school. The teachers challenge you in everything. The teachers give individual attention to every student. If you truly care about your children and you want whats best for them you should send them to williams. It is a very good school. They challenge and offer as many courses as a private school does.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

235 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

235 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 29%
Asian 24%
White 23%
Hispanic 19%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%67%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ARLENE CASTELI
Fax number
  • (813) 744-8665

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5020 North 47th Street
Tampa, FL 33610
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 744-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT