Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Anderson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 352 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Anderson Elementary is a nurturing, well managed campus with caring and talented teachers. Can consider ourselves fortunate to live in the school boundries.


Posted January 26, 2014

Anderson is a great school with teachers who are compassionate, yet hold the children accountable. Teachers differentiate to meet the needs of all learning styles and abilities. I find it interesting that there are very few comments, representing less than .03% of the school population. Anderson has always been a hidden gem in South Tampa. Keep up the good work!


Posted July 20, 2011

This school has gone from outstanding to awful in 2 years. The new administration does not know the students, and the teacher turnover has increased dramatically resulting in new teachers who are mediocre at best. I would NOT send my child here again if I had the choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

School discriminates against children of different race other then white. The teachers have no communication with the parents. They not encourage children, but rather discourage them. For example, the teachers lower children's grades no matter how hard they tried. They based their judgement more on race and skin color rather then child achievement. Very disappointed that my child have to learn from such an early age biases of the public institutions. We do not teach our child about superior and imperior cultures, but public school will. Very Disappointed..........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

it is a grade a school. My child is comfortable in the Enviornment which helps with his independence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

There is a new principal at this school this year. So far, I have not been pleased with the way this school operates. There is not any paperwork that comes home stating to you what your child is doing in class, the school planner is not being checked by teachers, they have our children take on responsibilities that the teachers should be doing, and you as a parent do not know when a test is going to be given until the night before when your child has to cram for the test and hope that he or she passes. I would not recommend this school. This year has not been a good year for me or my child in this school. In fact, I have to try to teach at home at night because my child does not understand things that my child should understand in class.What a waste of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

I thought my daughter had such an advantage having had a head start at the private, British, Montessori schools overseas and we would only see her education quality go down with a move back home. Anderson never takes the attitude that they only have to meet a basic standard and are always looking to improve from great much to the credit of Ms. Betty Lou Turner and her child focused staff. They look to resolve any problem and seek parental involvement. Much better than the upstate, NY school districts I went to. We are very pleased and they detected and pushed for our daughters advanced placement when we thought we were just partial parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

Anderson Elementary is a wonderful school hidden in the South Tampa area. My children previously have attended schools in the private sector. I was surprised to discover that Anderson was by far a better source of education and even a better environment. The staff is not only qualified, bur friendly and helpful as well. If you are looking into the school choice in the South Tampa area- you will be so pleased if you choose Anderson! The school has been a gem to my two children. They both look forward to school each and every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Anderson is an outstanding South Tampa school.My son is in kindergarden and looks forward to each day.His teacher Ms.angle is very tough which has been very good for him.I highly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Anderson Elementary is definattely a diamond in the rough. My mother and I oversaw three foster sibling children with a very unstable history and may have attended 3 different schools in one school year. Two were twins that had to repeat Kindergarten and one repeated first grade. Their teachers worked diligently with each of them even though they could at times be behaviorly difficult. They took a personal interest and kept them under their wings. They would keep us informed of any positive achievements as well as letting us know if they misbehaved. Needless to say, they were very dedicated and by the time they left school they were academically equal with their peers. Their attention was similar to a private education. They are underconstruction and constantly making improvements, but, once they are done they will be a strong force in the South Tampa Community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My child attends this school. I am very disappointed in the lack of communication teachers have with parents. I believe this school needs to have better technology, ie; website where parents can keep track of childs progress and homework assignments as other public schools. This school is behind in the times and needs to progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 20% 29%
Black 12% 23%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%67%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3910 W Fair Oaks Ave
Tampa, FL 33611
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 272-3075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT