Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

781 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Claywell Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
We have completed 2 years at this school and could not be happier. The administration and teachers are warm and friendly. They really care about the students here. I feel that my daughter has received an excellent education so far. They do a great job placing children in groups that match their abilities and needs to challenge them, or to give them the help they need to improve. I also feel that the majority of the children here are very polite and nice. My daughter loves her school and looks forward to returning in August!

Claywell Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers are great, others ehh not so much. I wish the ones who were complained about were looked at more carefully.


Claywell Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
They don't develop it with the staff, so how can they develop it within the classrooms

Claywell Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
I agree with a previous post, the events are unorganized and the kids are even often confused about their homework. The principal uses his "power" to intimidate and invalidate concerns. They "pride themselves" on being an A+ school, yet behind closed doors contradict everything they preach they stand for. Most of the teachers are great, but there are definitely a few bad apples that seem to get away with disrespecting the children (yelling at them and being sarcastic) instead of encouraging and respectful; it's sad.

Claywell Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a community member
I live and work in the neighborhood with the children and parents. I am a former teacher and I know what a good school looks like! Very pleased!!


Claywell Elementary School 1

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
I babysit a child from this school. There is a serious lack of communication. I have no idea what his homework is daily, or what is expected of him for his reading homework. The staff is impersonal. The events are unorganized. I am not impressed with this school and would not send my kids there.

Claywell Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
My school is one of the best in the county! They offer so much to the students and parents to be able to be involved in the education of our students. The staff and administration are supportive, friendly, and professional. It's very hard to suggest improvements when so much is right!!!

Claywell Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
We transferred from out of state this year and have been impressed with the warm welcome we received from other parents and staff here. I feel completely comfortable reaching out to the teachers as well as the principal and AP. I enjoy volunteering at events, which isn't the case at every school out there! Communication from the principal and AP is clear and consistent. The only area I see lacking is parent involvement...it seems to be the same few volunteers at nearly every event.


Claywell Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
The teachers, faculty, and admin are super friendly, helpful and kind. Both my kids have been here and I wish we never had to leave!!!

Claywell Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
Staff if great my child has been very happy at Claywell Elementary. I also feel safe when I drop off in the morning and pick up in the afternoon. They set a great environment for our children.

Nearby schools

Claywell Elementary School
4500 Northdale Boulevard, Tampa, FL  33624
(813) 975-7300
Last modified Claywell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top