Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Essrig Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 695 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

This is a fantastic school. My kids have been here for three years now. I love the teachers and staff. I am a working parent but have been very involved with the PTA and my kids teachers. Newbie principal; but he's doing a great job so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

Essrig is a supportive, close knit learning environment fostered by the best teaching and support staff. My daughter loves going to school here each day and has grown and learned so much. We have a wonderful principal, office staff and group of volunteers, as well. I am thrilled that she is attending Essrig for elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

I have had children at Essrig for the past 7 years. Nothing but positive experiences. Great teachers and staff. Lots of opportunities to get involved. I would recommend Essrig to anyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Essrig is a very caring school with a great group of teachers and staff. The location of the school makes it easy for parental involvement since it is close to home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We came last year from Carrollwood Elementary school because our zoning changed and it came as a blessing. The difference from this two school is from night to day. This is truly a red carpet school and the difference between this schools is in the treatment by the school office staff, administration and principal, they are extremely helpful, and acknowledge you as soon as you enter their office. The teachers are amazing! There is no bullying in this school since the staff show a lot of concern about this. Go Panthers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

I have gone to this school since kindergarden and i loved it this school deserves way more rating like 10 out of 10 the staff was lovely and the teachers where the best i cant wait to go to ben hill next year!


Posted May 8, 2013

Essrig is an excellent school, I have no words to express how satisfied Im with my daughters education, Im highly recommends this school for everyone who has the opportunity to have his kids there. Amazing in activities, good communication and very clean, also friendly personal....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

The school teachers are great. The principal seems very nice. But the staffs doing those registration there was one very mean. You would easy get your feeling hurt if you don't have a strong stomach. I never meet anyones like that. I can not believe that I paid taxes and live in the school distric but afraid to let my child to go there. Because if the front desk like that when emergency needed somethings for my child and the front desk not let thing goes faster and organize. So then my child life would be in danger. That lady seems like try to controlling everything around without a warming heart and caring. I hope everything go well for everyones at this school. I rather pay for my child in private school where I have respect. God bless everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My child has been at Essrig for Kindergarten and first grade. Her teachers have been excellent. The administration has been supportive. The principal, Mrs. Campbell, is approachable and gets the job done well and quickly. I would definitely highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

My children have gone to this school for the past three years. I am very happy and impressed with the education they are receiving as well as the staff. I always feel very informed with what is going on with my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

My son has spent two wonderful years at Essrig. His teachers have been very knowledgeable and supportive. It is very apparent that the administration cares about the students and their parents. We look forward to sending our younger son there next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2007

I use to go to Essrig and Im now in 7th grade but for the 7 years that I was in Essrig, I have to say Im glad that I went. I love the teachers, they are th best that they could get. I was never left out of learning and now, Im a straight A student. I LOVE ESSRIG! And I hope to go visit it soon. I miss all of my teachers and they still remeber me! Even my kindergarden tearcher! Isnt that great? take it from a student who use to go to Essrig, they know kids and they know how to make learning fun.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 16, 2007

Great teachers and great facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

I love Essrig. The teachers are wonderful. And the Mrs. Gillett has been amasingly helpful. Mrs McKay and the rest of the secretaries are always wonderful. I have noticed a great improvement in my sons reading thanks to the one on one and tutoring he has recieved. I was planning on changing my kids to Northwest But after a month, I realized this was a much better school for them. I appreciate all the hard work and attention everyone has given to my little ones. Thank you all. Sincerely, Patsy Leroe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2006

Great School. Very happy my daughter attends this Shool. Had switched Daughter to Citrus Park but switched back to Essrig after only a week. Essrig is by far a better, cleaner and more organized school. Great Teachers, Staff and exceptional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Essrig has provided my son with a lot of support. They care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Good school with good clubs and good teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

I really am very pleased with this school. The level of parent involvement and teacher communication is at the top level. The academic program inspires the children to do the best that they can do. I think the mandatory uniforms may get the children in the right mind set as well. I have 3 children going there and they always look forward to the Whisker Wahoo on Fridays. So my final grade for this school would be an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

My child is in the upper levels of Essrig and is having a very good school year. He is a little advanced for most of the kids in his class and actually is having more extracurricular academic opportunities to shine as a student than he did in his previous school (less competition academically). This has given him more confidence as a student. He does tend to get bored easily and the teacher has been very good at keeping him busy during classtime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

Wonderful Math and Science program!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
White 35%
Black 7%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 177%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 216%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%67%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13131 Lynn Road
Tampa, FL 33624
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 975-7307

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT