Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hill Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 963 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2010

Teachers at this school are for the most part friendly, but very lazy. The kids are wild and could use a little more discipline. IMO the kids get away with waaay too much at this school.= both educationally and behavior wise. SO sad that this type of lenient educational environment adds to the downfall of undereducated society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

i sent my child there for the end of 6th grade. she was completely unhappy. teachers were rude. home work over load. i sent her there for 7th . same problems. she has made amazing friends there but the adults there are horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

this is a exellent school. mr.davis is a awsome prisible and the staff is great i love it I has been going there for 2 years and I loves it
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2008

There are many Phenomenal teachers with many college experiences and can put a smile on your face. Any ordinary techer will sit in front of the classroom and say'okay class open up your book' but not at Ben Hill techers will get up from there chair to help a student and will even do a hands on experiments with the student untill they get it. I was only there for the 6th grade and i grew so much from that one year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2006

At this point in time my son and daughter attend Hill Middle and our major problem is that many of the kids are just 'wild'. My son is constantly complaining that the work environment is upsetting and distracting. Many of the students are loud, undisciplined. We recently moved from another state. Didn't really realize how good it was there until we experienced the environment here. We are considering other choices at this time. Frankly I was suprised the ratings were pretty good, but it doesn't reflect our personal experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Very nice PTSA, many extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

The music dept is absolutely wonderful! My daughter is in 7th grade, she has had 2 years of band and has learned so much. My child has ADD and I wouldn't reccomend any children with ADD go to this school. The lack of teacher to parent communication until it is too late happens much too often. Other than that, the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

I chose this school for my son who started 6th grade this year and have been very pleased with the overall quality. Although his homework load is rather heavy, he is really enjoying school and has had a positive experience so far. Teacher communication has been good, and the extra-curricular activities (dances, sports, field trips, etc.) have been very impressive. I would recommend this school to any parent who is looking for a quality education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

330 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 29%
White 38% 42%
Black 10% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 80%67%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 Ehrlich Rd
Tampa, FL 33624
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 975-7325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT