Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lewis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 793 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

This school is amazing! I love the teachers and all of there programs. My daughter enjoys it very much. I would recommend this school to everyone. Especially because it is a Dual Language school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I love Lewis school and my son he proved A lot and I am proud of him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

The most unpleasant experiense I ever had. Staff are not helpful when comes to bullying. Child comes home in tears every single day. Emotinal bullying could be more devastating to a young child then phisical. Child reported to teacher, but no one ever help. Staff just ignore the facts.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

We love Lewis! Wonderful teachers and support class. I think the new core standards are great and the teachers are definitely working hard to implement them. Lovely community school. I will say that parent involvement is key for your child's success because they will have homework and have to understand the curriculum, but I think that's probably true for any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Lewis Elementary is an excellent school for kids to attend. Not only is it rated one of the best elementary schools in the area, the sense of community and togetherness that you have when you are at the school is overwhelming. The teachers and administration strive to make this school one of the best in Tampa. In turn, the students that attend the school are excited to attend and want to learn so they can be high achievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

We have returned for first grade. My daughter has excelled at this school and is above grade level. The teachers are excellent and the staff has been very supportive and works hard to make sure its students have what they need. We have friends in nearby A schools and private schools and my daughter is on or above their reading and math levels. PTA is also outstanding and very involved which is extremely important. We love Lewis and my daughter is getting a top notch education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

I really love Lewis. The staff and students are awesome.You can even take home animals from your teachers. Even though there are a few arguments here and there but that was a long time ago. I would suggest that you take your child to that school.


Posted January 2, 2013

My daughter is starting in 2013 we are looking around for a good school in temple terrace area


Posted November 27, 2012

I love lewis elementary. I went from kindergarden through fourth grade and i wish i couldve finished it off with fifth grade. Its a wonderful place to be and scince third grade i was in the a.g.p program which is a program for gifted students. I have learned so much from there. We took field trips to silver springs and the straz center, st. Augustine, ybor city, and more. The teachers are amazing and the kids are fun and sharing andscince there are only five stars i hae to give it five but its more like a billion and one! My name is ruh abdullah and lewis elementary is the best!!!!!! P.S i am a student but there were no tabs for student so i picked other:)


Posted July 29, 2012

We have been part of the Lewis family since the 2008-09 school year. This past year (2011-12) we welcomed the arrival of a strong principal and new AP. The new leadership has brought positive changes to Lewis, including after school enrichment programs. The commitment level of the teachers and parents has not waivered. The teachers are experienced and communicate clearly with me regarding my children. The PTA is supportive of the school and there is a strong sense of teamwork among the administration, educators and parents. This sense of teamwork/involvement is what makes Lewis unique. There is also a shared belief that we can continue to improve and excel beyond the Florida DOE standards. At Lewis the focus is on the whole child....academics as well as character. Lewis will continue to perform well as long as the educators, parents and community support each other and the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

My two children go to this school: 2nd grade / 4th grade. They love the school and their teachers. The principal is great! We are originally from New Jersey and this school has been really wonderful. My children tell me I am not allowed to move again because they don't want to leave this school. The teachers do their best to encourage the students to do their best which includes awards after each Marking Period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

WIth our move to Florida, this has not been the best of experiences. There is a general miscommunication with staff... that being said, I can see how the school might have been good in the past and agree with the previous post of "thank god" it is over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Lewis is an incredible example of a public school that really goes above and beyond in every way. The faculty is exemplary, the student culture is active and diverse, and there is an extraordinarily high rate of volunteerism . My daughter attends and has had the best time doing so many things: chorus, science fair, student council, patrol. She is in her last year and hates to think of leaving and so do we. What a great place to learn and grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Both of my children have attended Lewis.It is a good schhol but communication between ap and parents stinks.She does not hesitate to talk to your child and never inform you.I miss the old ap.Thank God this is our last year at Lewis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My child has been at Lewis k-5 (current yr 5th). I will miss them dearly. The only gripe I have is communication could be better. They foster a very loving enviroment and are very family oriented. Its like being a part of a small town school. My son has grown so much in every area due to the love and patience of the teachers. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

Lewis has proven to be a very good school. My child enjoys going to class and enjoys school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

I think that Lewis is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

I have 3 children @ Lewis Elementary School. We love Lewis and the teachers, staffs. Our kids come home with such learning experience. We have bright kids, that is the reason that Lewis Elemetary is the school of choice. Special thanks to the Principal and her staff, Mrs Sekoulis(2nd grade), Mrs. Capwell(1st grade), all the 5th grade teachers, library staffs, kitchen staffs, maintenance, etc... Thank you Lewis for giving my children this great opportunity to excel. Lewis is truly # 1. Pierre's Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Lewis and her teacher, Mrs. Rivera, is exceptional. She is caring and attentive, yet firm. She promotes independence, which I love! My daughter learns so much each day. I could not have asked for a better teacher. The entire staff is terrific! My daughter will remain a panther throughout her elementary career!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

Great School in Beautiful Tampa Suburb of Temple Terrace. Rated an 'A' school repeatedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 36%
Black 32%
Hispanic 25%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%67%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 Whiteway Drive
Tampa, FL 33617
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 987-6947

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Aberdeen Preparatory School
Temple Terrace, FL




Woodmont Charter School
Temple Terrace, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT