Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sickles High School

Public | 9-12 | 2070 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2012

Very Nice school over all in the good area, My Son graduated from here in 2011 and went to Penn State
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

Great School if you are looking for academical quality but it's full of "clicks" apparently a group of boys version of "mean girls" are ruling the social school life! Last Friday they put stick note on the back of girls students rating them while they walk on the cafeteria unaware of the prank.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

I started at Sickles High School back in 2002 and graduated in 2006. I had been present for many of the schools larger changes that it underwent. Between the changing of the principal to the rescheduling of lunches. I no longer live in Fl and can not speak for what is present now, but from my own experience I can say that Sickles took pride in education in pushing its teachers to take an added effort in helping students that were falling behind. Talking one on one with students about not only grades but being mentors to them as well and trying to help in any way they could. Teachers and principals alike went above and beyond their regular duties to ensure students graduated and made something of themselves. Even for those who slack off in school and had a possibility of not graduating on time with their class had a wonderful opportunity to make up those credits in their last year of school. I can honestly say that beyond a shadow of a doubt Sickles High School is a school I can see myself sending my own children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Principal does not support quality electives; wants everyone to take AP classes, even if they get C/D/F and are not AP material.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2010

Good leadership from Princial, very action and result oriented. overall quality staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I love Sickles and think it has some of the very best teachers around. They genuinely care about the students and try to make class interesting. They go out of their way to help and accomodate the students from what I have seen. The administration on the other hand is another story. I think it trickles down from the top. I think the principal is arrogant and doesn't care much about helping the students. I've never seen someone in his position be as cut and dry and cold as he is. Too bad as that is the only flaw I see with the school. Luckily-the teachers make up for his shortcomings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

Parents dont listen to any of the stupid complaints about sickles, I have just completed my freshmen year there and I loved it!!! Although many of our core students are leaving in the fall to go to steinbrenner im sure we will still be a top rated school and i look forward to my next 3 years as a gryphon. Sickles has many great programs to offer such our buisness and technololgy department. I was in web design 1 this year and I thought it was great, the teachers are amazing and I would definitly recomend going to this school. steinbreener is going to be very under developed in areas such as R.O.T.C (they wont even have one) which I will be joining in the fall. I give Sickles a ten out of ten and you should definitly send your kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2009

I absolutley love this school!!! This school, I believe, has one of the best orchestra programs. The teacher is fun, respectable, and strict, she pushes the students to excell in music. The admin is eh. Let's just say they could do a little better, But I'm sure next year is going to change. I really do love this school. There is plenty of school spirit and the teachers really care. Have your kids go to Sickles. They won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

This school is fake! When I attended it I thought I was achieving high scores because I was smart. Guessed wrong! I moved to a new school in Pasco and the curriculum was so much more challanging than at Sickles. I have learned alot more at my new school then at Sickles and I believe that the crazy GPA's are so stupid and that they don't and shouldn't count. Especially the AP and Honors classes those classes arn't even that hard the AP and honors classes in Pasco are so much harder than those of Hillsborough. This is my opinion and I know most of you all think too highly of Sickles but if you just had the oppertunity that I had you would have changed yours too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2009

As my final year at sickles winds down, I have to say it is a great school. Sure the Ap's are pains, but our principal is a great leader and has made this school better than before. Our teachers want us to succeed no matter if you do go to college or not. They help us every five days. this is why our school is ' A '. Also, we have good sport programs and great music programs
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

I'm proud to be a student of Sickles, despite some minor administration issues. The principal is a good guy who cares about the students, most of the teachers take a geniune interest in education, and the scores are phenomenal. Good luck finding a better school in Tampa!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

Sickles admin and teachers are overwhelmed with managing the functions and activities of the school. Talented smart kids with tremendous potential are being overlooked, underserviced and dismissed by Sickles judgements. This takes place year after year child after child being shortchanged by lack of effectiveness of the guidance counselors. Most teachers are just there as a job, and lack of genuine awareness and absoulete arrogance based on misinformation is exuded by Principal Russell. If your child & you as a parent can do everything for your child in monitoring all aspects of school work. Then monitor all necessary especially academic requirements to get to college....go to sickles...if not research other schools. You will be very pleasantly surprised at to the information, direction and support you will receive . You kids are worth more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

Sickles is a achool that I am proud to attend. It not only excells in many of it's arts and athletics programs, but it offers the top AP classes with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I have been a proud Sickles parent for the past 6 years. Have one child in her second year of pre med I have two other children that atten Sickles, one a rising senior the other a rising junior. Sickles is a very big school the children are held accountable for their own success. They are given the resources and they are provided the tools to succeed. I find the faculty, staff and administration excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

The Teachers at Sickles High are excellent.The administration is not so great.The time my mother went up to the office she got a lot of sour attitude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2008

I attended Sickles for all four years of my high school career, it needs better administration. ive never been let down as much as i have been with the administration from 05-06 to 07-08. ive lost scholarships because the principal has lost my paperwork...twice. they painted over the arts mural, after the principal promised. i believe that sports are a priority to this administration, no other extra curricular activities are in the spot light here, they are all pushed into the shadows. But....the teachers are wonderful. they put the students before everything. wonderfull teachers, terrible administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2007

Being fairly new to the area, I guess I have been 'waiting and hoping' for Sickles to improve. I am becoming so discouraged with the quality, involvement (staff) and especially the safety of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

Sickles was a big disappointment as a high school. I believe the problem is administration. Better leadership is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

I graduated from Sickles in 2005. While I was there it was a good school with decent academics. If you took higher level courses such as AP classes those were the teachers that invested an interest for the most part. I think that since the new principal has come the school has become worse. They are not personable and it takes a lot to get them to talk to you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 2, 2007

This school may have high academic scoring, but that's all that is good about this school. Other than that, the administrators are absolutely careless. The principal looks friendly, but down on the inside it takes a whole lot for him to express whether or not he'll come see the school play. Literally. The teachers are strict, and that's good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

518 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

511 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

502 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

487 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 37%
Black 7%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 85%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%67%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JAKE RUSSELL
Fax number
  • (813) 631-4754

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7950 Gunn Highway
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 631-4742

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT