Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,135 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sickles High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Teachers expect students to constantly buy things that are actually unnecessary. For instance, an economics teacher there demands that students buy business outfits. If they had any respect for students they'd know not to force parents to spend their hard earned money on nonsense

Sickles High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Teachers don't stick up for bullied kids because that would be extra work for them


Sickles High School 1

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
A bunch of teachers make you do busy work and constantly force parents to buy unnecessary things such as outfits in economics. It's expensive

Sickles High School 4

Posted June 19, 2014
- a community member
I love this school! The teachers are extremely helpful honestly. This school is in a good area, and the kids are really nice. One thing I do reccommend is that teachers look at the students more closely, certain kids carry hookah pens in their pockets and smoke it at school! and there is a group of boys that are extremely loud in the hallways. Other than that, I really appreciate this school

Sickles High School 4

Posted February 22, 2012
- a parent
Very Nice school over all in the good area, My Son graduated from here in 2011 and went to Penn State


Sickles High School 3

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
Great School if you are looking for academical quality but it's full of "clicks" apparently a group of boys version of "mean girls" are ruling the social school life! Last Friday they put stick note on the back of girls students rating them while they walk on the cafeteria unaware of the prank.

Sickles High School 5

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
I started at Sickles High School back in 2002 and graduated in 2006. I had been present for many of the schools larger changes that it underwent. Between the changing of the principal to the rescheduling of lunches. I no longer live in Fl and can not speak for what is present now, but from my own experience I can say that Sickles took pride in education in pushing its teachers to take an added effort in helping students that were falling behind. Talking one on one with students about not only grades but being mentors to them as well and trying to help in any way they could. Teachers and principals alike went above and beyond their regular duties to ensure students graduated and made something of themselves. Even for those who slack off in school and had a possibility of not graduating on time with their class had a wonderful opportunity to make up those credits in their last year of school. I can honestly say that beyond a shadow of a doubt Sickles High School is a school I can see myself sending my own children.

Sickles High School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2010
- a teacher
Principal does not support quality electives; wants everyone to take AP classes, even if they get C/D/F and are not AP material.


Sickles High School 4

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
Good leadership from Princial, very action and result oriented. overall quality staff!

Sickles High School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
I love Sickles and think it has some of the very best teachers around. They genuinely care about the students and try to make class interesting. They go out of their way to help and accomodate the students from what I have seen. The administration on the other hand is another story. I think it trickles down from the top. I think the principal is arrogant and doesn't care much about helping the students. I've never seen someone in his position be as cut and dry and cold as he is. Too bad as that is the only flaw I see with the school. Luckily-the teachers make up for his shortcomings.

Nearby schools

Sickles High School
7950 Gunn Highway, Tampa, FL  33626
(813) 631-4742
Last modified Sickles High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top