Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wharton High School

Public | 9-12 | 2324 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2013

I was a student at Wharton and i found it boring. The students dont talk to you, it is ALWAYS hot, the teachers are very strict (except for a few). I didnt like it at all. But there are good things, like the clubs and sports but thats it. oh and the academics are behind. In 9th grade biology we talked about what an ecosystem is. I learned that in 5th grade in my old school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2013

tbh Wharton is a good school I am a student there and the reason why people get mad and start to fight is because most ap's aren't gonna stop them and they know that also most of those students who does drugs smoke drink and cause violence are the main ones that are graduating on time with a2.3 and higher with an athletic academic or rotc scholarship people do not know what half these kids go through most of their lives like some students get shot at they get jumped the day before or they jus have family problems which makes some students want to fight or do drugs or drink alcohol the next day, and also I understand what you are thinking why cant they just move from the environment to keep their kids trained and the answer to your question is because most parents don't think they can do any better and they think if the go to a more calm suburban community they would get in trouble everyday so don't say that Wharton is a bad school full of bad kids blame most of the teachers ap,s and councilors who don't think we will make it because of the every day problems we as students face
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2013

It would not me rate the school a zero but that is what it deserves. If you have a choice do NOT go here. I moved here knowing all schools will have drugs, bullying, and fighting but this is what happens daily. The school goes on lockdown very frequently. It is about 20% caucasion and almost everyone does drugs. Terrible school do not go here unless you want your child to fail. Some teachers only care about being paid and that's all. The overlook: This school is awful!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2013

if you want your kid to succeed and have teacher that care, don't send your kid to this school don't get me wrong their debate, lsa,marching band, and rotc program is amazing but form regulars to ap class teachers do not care. SO if your kid doesn't want to do one of does academy's then don't send them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2012

Great school. Diversity, athletics, good science and AP classes/teachers. Take honors and AP and you'll be fineHad an amazing four years, good memories.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2012

It is naive to think there are schools that don't have drug or violence problems at the high school level. That's everywhere and is sadly just reality. My child will be a Senior next year and has received an excellent education thanks to some fantastic teachers that continuously go above and beyond to help the kids. It's true that the experience is much better if you are in higher level classes. I recommend taking HOPE through FL Virtual school during the summer. I would, however, like to see the administration focus less on the football/basketball teams and more on the outstanding music/academic achievements they earn year after year. The music program is second to none, the Brain Bowl teams sweeps the awards at MOSI every year, and the math teams consistently place at the top. These are the achievements that make them look good across the district, yet they get very little mention...if at all. The tennis team, state champions, also gets no attention. A well-rounded representation in the spotlight would be a nice change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

Do not send your child to this High School. The bullying, fights and from the principal to all 6 AP do nothing to keep your child safe. Zero is done, even the teachers are scared. My daughter who has to go and is in 11th grade would rather QUIT then go back. I have met with all I can and still No GIRL is safe to walk the school. The stars below will not let me give no stars. I will home school my A student with dual college .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

I do not feel that my children are safe at this school. Drugs, fights, bullying. It seems like the administration is not respected and has no control. There are many AP courses offered, but it is extremely difficult to learn in this environment. I have two children in this school and will do whatever it takes before my other child is ready for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

I'll give you the best advice out of everyone here: If your kid has a choice on what school to go to and is looking for an enjoyable highschool experience don't go here. With all respect for Wharton I would say that our academics are stellar with variety of rigourous course to take. However, being here for almost two years I must say I have not met one student EVER that said that they love this school. There are drugs here and bathrooms reek of them but even so that is not the biggest problem. The main issue is that the school is so big with so many people. Although that can be a good thing, it also causes a social gap between students which has led to violence,bullying, and negative views from students that as result most begging to withdrawl. My experience so far has been horrible and the only reason I'm still here is because its the closest school in my district. There is not really a large wave of school spirit here and the days here are often dull. If you have other schools in mind I reccomend you look at Blake High School and Wiregrass High School. You may choose to listen to my advice or ignore it. But just know I came here extremely optimistic but I'm leaving dissapointed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2011

Like other people said, every high school is going to have drugs & violence. Yes Wharton is filled with kids from the ghetto parts of Tampa, but the faculty and staff actually care about all kids, they don't just care about getting paid. I've gotten to know some of the principals & they all are so inspiring. All of my teachers so far have wanted to see me succeed, teachers I have and I know of always are there to help students. LIke another person said, if you're not in any honors or AP you will be stuck in a regular ghetto class where you don't learn jack because the teacher is too busy yelling. I had two of those classes last year and I wish I never did. If you really think about it, people should be thankful because their class rank will be even higher with all of the ghetto kids who take up a high percentage of a class and who are at the bottom.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2011

I'm currently a student planning on transfering to another school for the secound semester.School is way to crowded.Too Long.Over an hour longer than pasco county high schools.To many people get bussed in.Some teachers are good but some are bad.Ismelt drugs in the hallway once.Their are quality teachers and classes but as a whole school it needs improving.If you have the choice i advise not going.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2010

I went to Wharton High and to me, it's just like any other high school there is. Of course there are going to be drugs and fights in ANY high school. The teachers I had were incredible people and cared about my progress. Because of one of the teachers there, I was guided to find what I love doing and what my major is in college. I loved the experience of going there. If you want to try and shield your child from drugs and violence, you're going to have to keep them home from any school and away from society in general. Deal with it at home, you can't control other kids, and staff can't completely control that either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2010

I agree with the last 3 reviews. Even as a new family moving to the area it took 2 weeks to get my son registered. The faculty was very rude and unhelpful. Once he started school it just got worse. Had teachers cursing, no one returns emails or phone calls. tried to get ahold of the AP for a month and he was either at lunch or couldn't meet with me, never bothered to return my calls. The teachers don't care about the students. This is the worse school. We are moving to a different part of Tampa. I refuse to let me son continue to go here and I don't want any of my other kids to have this kind of experience or awful high school education. DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I agree with the last review.There is also plenty of politics and unfairness among the teachers and administrators.Noone can say anything or ir will be taken out on students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

too many drug, too many students, teacher and AP's do not care about the student body they are just trying to get paid, and it is getting way out of control. If you had a choice not to come to wharton. Dont!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2010

I recently pulled my child out of this school to attend private school. Although the honors and AP classes are great, the enviroment is greatly lacking. There is way too much drugs and illegal activities among the students there. The administrators and teachers don't seem to be able to control things there. Although it is a very nice area, there seems to be a lot of kids that are bussed in from less desirable areas and tend to have major behavior problems. The office staff is not very helpful at all. They don't return phone calls or emails and it seems as if your child is just a number there. It has way too many students for the amount of staff and if your student is not one of the top students, they will get lost in the shuffle. The school needs to crack down on the drugs(pot smoking at school)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

This school does nothing to help your child succeed. There are too many Indians and not enough Chiefs. No communication between departments, and just plain confusion. If you can avoid this school, do so at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Great school, very competitive track and cross country teams


Posted November 18, 2008

Some of the teachers here do not care and are very unfair to the students. Teachers need to get paid more to behave appropriately at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

I began attending this school in August 2008 and I love it. It has been the best learning system for me and there are barely any discipline problems. The only way you could get into trouble at this school is if you try to get into trouble or if you put yourself in an uncomfortable position.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

583 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

522 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

498 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

569 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
24%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

593 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 35%
Black 30%
Hispanic 25%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%67%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRADLEY WOODS
Fax number
  • (813) 631-4722

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20150 Bruce B Downs Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 631-4710

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wiregrass Ranch High School
Wesley Chapel, FL



Academy At The Lakes
Land O'Lakes, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT