Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

377 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lomax Magnet Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
There is no doubt in my mind that they have their teaching degrees. As far as fostering the love of learning in children, I don't see that in any of my kids that attend this school.

Lomax Magnet Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
The school does give homework everyday but they are lacking in the science department. I was told by my son's 2nd grade teacher that they MAY have science once a month.


Lomax Magnet Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
My son got in trouble in school for helping another student understand his work and for giving another student a pencil so that they could do their work. The teacher even "accused" my son - a second grader - of trying to steal her job for doing this! How does this type of punishment develop compassion, caring, and empathy in students?! You can't teach something you don't practice yourself!

Lomax Magnet Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
How can you instill those values in a child when the adults don;t even practice or believe in them?!

Lomax Magnet Elementary School 2

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
This is my child's first year at Lomax as a 2nd grader. He has had the worst experience and the worst teacher. He would come home daily crying because he did not want to go back to school the next day. She constantly yells at the class and him. When he asks questions, she replies to him very sarcastically, as if she is talking to an adult and not a 7 year old. The teachers also bully the kids based on any disagreeing remark a parent writes in the parent-teacher section of their agenda. They use bullying as a form of disciplining the kids it seems because the principal does nothing about it. They also gang up on the kids. His teacher would reprimand him and then take him to another teacher so that they both would yell at him! His teacher even refused to let him go to the bathroom to the point that he wet himself! She was punishing him for something that I wrote in his agenda and would make him go out of the way to use a bathroom far away. No one even called to let us know he had wet himself. This happened twice! He will definitely not attend this school next year and the next incident, I will be calling the school board about it!!


Lomax Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
I feel truly blessed to have my son enrolled at Lomax. This is his first year there. The entire school staff is so warm, welcoming and genuinely happy to be there. This has such a positive effect on the students and it shows. I am amazed at the programs offered at Lomax. It's all about preparing your child for the future. College education is a frequent topic at the school. My child has been able to thrive and shine at Lomax. We are truly grateful for the opportunity to be here!

Lomax Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
This school is AWESOME!! My daughter has gone here since 2nd grade and is currently in 4th. Each teacher she has had worked with her and was extremely encouraging. My daughter has always struggled with reading and they have always done a great job with extra help, keeping me informed and getting my daughter to where she needed to be. Even when she missed a lot of school for medical reasons....her teachers visited her, brought her work and helped get her caught up. The staff truly cares about the kids and it shows in how they work with the students! Only reason she will be leaving is because she was accepted into the performing arts school.......and I hope I don't regret making the move.

Lomax Magnet Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Don't believe the review. I regretted reading the review believing it was a great school! This school is far from a good let alone great! Teachers are condescending towards students. Bullying is prevelant!!! Bullying is so evident and serious in this school especially at upper grade level! Students are really mean, rude and disrespectful! If you have a special need child, DO NOT BRING THEM! Curriculum is not up to what it should be! Most students are not well prepared for FCAT! It will be interesting to see what the FCAT results! No diversity! Principal is nice but ineffective in resolving bullying issues! Just walk into the lunch room in the morning to see how much yelling from teachers who monitor students in line for breakfast! It's unbelievable! What a wasteful year for my student! Getting out next year!


Lomax Magnet Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
It is a good school where teachers take at most care in all aspects. Especially in maths and science, my daughter was able to solve her problems or homework herself.

Lomax Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My sons attend Lomax and it is a great Math and Science Magnet school. The teachers are very supportive of the children and they are very serious about my children getting the best education possible. The principle interacts with the children and parents daily. GREAT SCHOOL!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lomax Magnet Elementary School
4207 North 26th Street, Tampa, FL  33610
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (813) 276-5569
Last modified Lomax Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top