Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Grove Middle Magnet School

Public | 6-8 | 562 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I dont go to orange grove yet because im still 5th grade but next year i will go to orange grove. In 4th grade i went to orange grove for a fieldtrip and IT WAS AWSOME !!!!!!! . They have singing (chorous),dancing, band ,and drama. It is also a really big middle school and orange grove is a good school unlike the other schools


Posted August 8, 2012

AWESOME SCHOOL. Altogether if you want to go to a performing arts middle school (or if you are a parent and want your child to go to a performing arts middle school) then Orange Grove is the place to go.


Posted April 10, 2012

My daughter started Orange Grove last year and has absolutely loved it! She loves dance and has thoroughly enjoyed the wealth of other electives offered by the school. These electives include art, chorus, drama, stage craft, orchestra and band (I may have missed one or two). The school also offers several after school sports programs.I was concerned initially that an arts school would not offer the same academic opportunities as the other science and math magnet schools. I was wrong. She was selected for math league and Orange Grove beat the science and math magnet schools in the area. She has excelled academically with high FCAT scores leading to opportunities to participate in an SAT prep course offered by Duke University and summer classes at USF. In dance, she gets to perform in many recitals, at community events and in competitions. Professional dancers from various styles do guest teaching and she was recently chosen to go to NYC to take classes at the American Ballet Theater. She is absolutely thrilled that she can dance two hours a day and still take honors math and science courses. This school is a dream for her and my son can't wait to attend Orange Grove next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

My child is finishing up 6th grade and I'm very happy with this school - it's small enough to where my child receives personal attention from teachers and even administrators, and there are lots of creative outlets and after-school activities. I feel the communication to parents is WAY above average - they use Edline and teachers are always responsive to communication from home. The faculty understand creative kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

My daughter has always been creative so I was thrilled to find Orange Grove for her. While she loves her stagecraft class and after a rough start is happy there, I have to say I'm disappointed. There is poor communication between the school and the parents, there are very few extracurricular opportunities and my daughter is not being challenged academically there. My 5th grader has more homework than my 6th grader does!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

orange grove is such an amzing school. the teachers are great at teaching, and the electives are fantastic. from drama, dance, art, chrous, drumline, orchestra, piano, harp, band, business technology, computer skills, office help, P.E, journalism, and stage craft, the electives are taken so serious. the number of girfted students is incredible. And the advanced classes really are advanced. this school is a privelige to go to. and there are almost no fights or crime. I've gone there for three years, and I've only ever seen one fight, and heard about three. the teachers are devoted, smart, and fun to be with, and they help each and every student. I'd recomend this school to any child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2006

Orange Grove Middle is a wonderful school with high quality teachers and talented students. Children are given multiple opportunities to learn, shine, and explore their talents!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 24, 2006

Orange Grove changed me in a good way. I attened it for two years and then had to move away. The quality of learning is high. I loved this school and miss it everyday
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 6, 2006

the options of electives at this school are very high. many choices to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2006

The quality of academic programs is horrible, the teachers care but funding is atrocious. Sure, we have music programs available, but it doesn't seem like the administration cares about them. There is hardly any parent involvment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2006

I have two children at Orange Grove. We are very pleased with the quality of the school and the attention the teachers give our children. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

Outstanding school with outstanding faculty. The school is committed to the performing arts and academics, and the students have the opportunity to explore their creative side. My daughter had 3 periods of fine arts education per day, including chorus drama & instrument. Behavior problems are less than in other middle schools in the area. Principal Arias has done a good job her first year, however it would be nice to see her at more school activities. There is also a lot of fees for various school activities, I wish they could reduce that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

An excellent A+ school. Academics and Arts addressed with equal intensity. Small class size, exceptional education materials and equipment and superb faculty. Parent participation encourage and facilitated. Creative and stimulating homework assignments given and completion is required. Excellent communication with parents regarding child's progress and needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2003

This is my daughter's third year at Orange Grove. She loves this school and I'm glad we made the extra effort and the drive to attend this Magnet School. The principal, Mr. Perrone, is the best. He is involved and makes sure he knows all of his students. The majority of the teachers are Great but there are a few lazy ones as in all schools. This school not only stresses the arts but also academics, which is the most important. I do wish there were more extacurricular activities for the children to participate in. Overall, Orange Grove is the Best.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

203 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

163 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 33%
Black 31%
Hispanic 30%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 83%67%61%
Master's degree 18%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PAUL GANSEMER
Fax number
  • (813) 276-5857

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3415 North 16th Street
Tampa, FL 33605
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 276-5717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT