Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rampello K-8 Magnet School

Public | K-8 | 747 students

Providing Excellence in Education in a Downtown setting.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

Unfortunately this school does not have a experienced ESE or certified teacher for elementary level. Our home room teacher is very rigid and structured we have found that is a very hard situation for a kid with a 504 to be in. While we are supportive at home it is very discouraging for child to feel that help is not available. I suspect the Teacher assigned to work with my child doesn't have enough experience to recognize flags and apply support methods. My child came from a school with this ESE support and when we enrolled had found out that they just hired a teacher still in school working on her degree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

i like Rampello because it a school that showcase students Right- Brain Activities and creativity in art, music,foreign language, science, math and language arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

I go to this school and i think it is the best school ever!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2009

I just enjoy Rampello !! The learning source is fantastic and incredible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

I love this school it's the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

My kids have attended Rampello for the past three years and they love it so much they hate it when school is out. The teachers that I have encountered from Pre- K ( no longer have Pre -K program) to Third grade are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

My son has been going to Rampello since his first grade. Now, he is in eighth grade. The school teachers are the best. They always keep the parents informed. They bought the best out of my son, and he really excelled over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I had the pleasure of being an intern in this school. The teachers and staff really care about the students. A small school that has few discipline issues and is big on school trips and special events. Marc A. Pellicano, Social Science


Posted June 27, 2007

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is a very refreshing alternative to public and private schooling,... It has a private school feel without the private school issues and has public funding without MANY of the public school setbacks. I am VERY happy with my experience!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 24, 2007

My daughter has been at Rampello since Kindergarten, she will be going into the 4th grade next year. It is a wonderful school and the teachers and staff are amazing. They take the time to work with each students which is easy because the class sizes are just right. I am thrilled that my daughter will be able to stay at Rampello until she goes to high school. I recommend anyone who works downtown to send their children to Rampello. It is so wonderful to be able to participate with her class in special events and attend awards ceremonies because I am so close. The principal is the best that I have ever seen. He knows his students and takes time to interact with the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

My son has attended Rampello since 1st grade and is now finishing the 8th grade. The academics are great and the teachers really care. Now that the middle school has been around for a couple of years, there are more options. The parents are very involved and everyone knows everyone. The band is excellent. I know I will miss Rampello as my son moves on to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

My daughter has attended Middle school for one year and has done very well. She has scored well on the FCATs. Her teachers are available for any questions and concerns that I have. They have helped her when needed. The school is very involved in the community and with local businesses and organizations. They go on field trips all the time. The Band is particularly good and earned a Superior this year. It is a small school where everyone knows everyone else. The down side is that students do not get to choose from a lot of electives. There is no busing provided but it is very convenient if you work downtown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

Rampello K-8 staff(principal, assistant. principal, nurse,and secretary)are all wonderful. They treat my daughter and I with upmost respect.My family and I moved here from upstate NY 2 years ago.In my opinion, Rampello is one of two schools that provide the better learning atmosphere for this particular culture.The teachers seem to 'want' to be involved with the children and their families. Some teachers go above and beyond. (Such as Terry Bigelow,Andrew Olson,and Ms.T. Henderson.)The school's dress code is basic and easy to follow. The school plans field trips approximately. every month to keep kids interested in school,and for team building. The field trips tend to be fun and educational. Another plus is the organization at dismissal. The school principal usually is standing outside at dismissal to meet and greet parents as they go thru the car rider/ pick up line. The only big negative is there's not any bus transportation provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

My children have attended Rampello for the past three years. I was very impressed with grades k-4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

As a parent of a first grader, our experience with the quality of academic programs has been quite high, with a great emphasis on reading. Our child has also been able to experience classroom available music and art that has been quite satisfying, as well as other school planned activities, during and after school for the student and parents to enjoy. The level of parental involvement at Rampello is wonderful, you actually know the parent when your child is talking about one of their classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

This school is a wonderful place to send your children. I especially like the Elementary side. It is a k-8 school,so this, in and of itself is unique and wonderful. Great, friendly administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

I have 3 children and they have attended 14 schools through their school 'career'. This is the first school that truly welcomes students. Parents are welcome at any time. I love that it is just 5 blocks from my work. It allows me to easily volunteer or have lunch with my son. It has been a small school squished in borrowed rooms. In Aug of 2005 we open in the new building. We are all excited about having enough space, specialty rooms, larger media center, and going to K-8 by adding a middle school. We are excited about having many extracurricular activities available next year. If you work in downtown Tampa and want to have your student in a high quality, caring environment -- this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

This school is a good school, however, I am not having much luck getting my child into advance reading and math classes. I love the fact that he can take violin lessons an I can't wait for the brand new building to be completed in 2005. Overall, I am pleased with the school, however its not the opportune school for advance higher learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Great school with involved parents. The adminstration takes the time to get to know parents and students. Wonderful, dedicated teachers take the time that your child needs to excel. Opening the new campus next year will give us the room that we need for all of our activities. This is a choice school for parents who work in the downtown area. Parents are responsible for providing transportation. Violin instruction offered at every grade level. PTA has good events and doesn't have too many fund raising activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 33% 42%
Black 32% 23%
Hispanic 31% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%67%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Liz Uppercue
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (813) 233-2337

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

802 E Washington St
Tampa, FL 33602
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 233-2333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT