Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westchase Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 985 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2011

An absolutely fantastic school! All 3 of my daughters have gone to school here and it has been nothing but a great experience. As for communication from the school, some would complain there is too much. Since we are "green" you are kept VERY informed of everything via emails. I have 2 still here so I get everything twice but I do not mind because I do not miss anything. I used to only volunteer in the classroom but this year I have become very involved in the PTA. What an amazing group of people that dedicate so much of their time to the school to make it what it is! Never assume anything about the PTA, sign up, they never turn anyone away. I did and am so glad I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Communication between kids, teacher, school, PTA are great. Lived here just over a year and just had to ask get plugged in. I noticed that someone posted about being green and not getting papers...I wish!! They can come over and paper mache away. PTA is great, communicate with parents all the time and have been making great strides raising money for the school. The principal Mr Weaver is awesome. I have a feeling that anybody who has written a bad note about this school just plain old didnt try or expected private school service at a public school. Someone also noted that they didnt know about bus routes....really? Walk in the office, there is a stack of bus routes, goto the school website or just call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

I am a former teacher, a now stay at home parent and an active member of the PTA, and I will say that of any public school, Westchase exceeds my expectations in every way! Westchase is an inviting school that provides an excellent education to all 3 of my children in a warm and welcoming learning environment. The faculty and staff are amazing! As for the PTA, of which I am a proud member, we are a hard working, committed group who welcomes anyone who is willing and able to work on one common goal: making our school the absolute best in order for our students to be successful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

This is my 9th year at Westchase Elementary as a parent and can't say enough about the school. Academically, the school is as strong if not stronger than many private schools. The Principal is wonderful, the teachers are incredible, the support staff is awesome and the PTA is a group of very hard working parents, grandparents and teachers who are truly great! The school is a "green" school and does communicate much through emails, principal phone calls, as well as paperwork sent home in the students folders. As for the bus system, it is mailed home to parents, sent home with students and they are available in the front office as well. In response to a post below: we were also once a military family who had been relocated many times and chose our last stop to be in Tampa and to live in Westchase because of the strong sense of community, the wonderful families and Westchase Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

A fantastic school! we arrived from Uk 3 years ago, my son entered 1st grade and has excelled year after year, the teachers are devoted and committed and have made my son's experience a a very happy and pleasurable one. I only wish I could take the school back to the uk with me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

My daughter just completed 4th grade with an exceptional teacher at Westchase and it seems like every year gets better and better! As for the review stating that the school was not 'challenging' enough, I don't know what else you could be looking for. It clearly is an excellent academic school, with many opportunities for students to showcase their abilities beyond the classroom. I'm an involved parent and have yet to run into any administrator/teacher that is not responsive to a parents' or childs' needs. I just hope we can find a middle school that holds itself to the same standards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

I am very pleased with what this school has offered to my daughter who is about to enter the second grade. I do feel there is lots of support from the staff and parents to make this a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

I recently moved my 2 children to Westchase Elementary from an amazing Magnet school in the county. I have to say that I completely regret our decision. Westchase is so overrated, a lot of the parents think their kids are so brilliant and they are just average. My children were way more challenged in their other school. Both are in gifted (AGP) and still not challenged. If you are a snob and you think your kid is so great than Westchase elemenatry is the place for you. Very upper middle class with no diversity. In my opinion not a true representation of the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I think this school is overrated. It is overcrowded and understaffed. Children who are just average, or who are struggling and need a little extra help, are not given enough attention. The school is focused too much on achieving high test scores, and pushes students accordingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I am so sad to have our daughter leave Westchase. Unfortunately, we are moving due to a job change. This school has been amazing. My daughter loves her teacher, Mrs. Wilson and it has made all the differnce. Prior to 1st grade she had disliked school. Mrs. Wilson is special. We enjoyed Westchase more then most other schools and we move around a bit. It is much more academic then most others and there is homework starting from K, but our daughter learned to adjust and we were never forceful with homework. We will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

My daughter is in Mrs. Serra's 3rd grade class and she loves her teacher.Westchase Elementary all around from staff to principal is an outstanding school who REALLY cares about our kids.I love this school and wish it went all the way to 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

My son attended Westchase and is now a 6th grader at Davidsen. He misses the teachers and staff at Westchase so much. The quality of teachers is not even comparable to those at Westchase. As a parent, I miss the overall Westchase elementary school environment too! Can we have a Westchase Middle School modeled after the elementary school? That would be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My son is a second grader at Westchase, and he loves his school. The parent involvement is unbelievable. I would put this school against a private school any day based on academics. Westchase is an 'A' school all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

Well financed and lots of parent involvment. Excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

Great School. The teachers are top notch and the kids are very well prepared. The school recieves an A grade each year and it is very deserved. Last year they put on the musical, 'Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat,' and it was broadway quality. Anything done at Westchase is done with 110% effort from the teachers, administration and the parents. I feel very lucky that my son is able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I am a single father of a 3rd grader at Westchase and I am at the school everyday and from the staff to the teachers and all the way to the principal I could not ask for more from them as a team. My daughter is blessed to be at such a caring school. I love Westchase and will always do whatever I can to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

The teachers and administration are fantastic and the parents could not be more involved. I have a child in AGP and one that is not. There is no difference in the education they are receiving. I am a working parent and very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Westchase is a good school, but not a great school. If you are a non working parent, plenty of opportunities to get involved and by doing so, you will learn many things that will benefit your child. Basically unless you are there, you will miss out on many things. Many Westchase parents seem to think they have to put the child in AGP no matter what. AGP is in fact advanced math and science program only and parents should not push the kids unless they are strong/interested in math/science. AGP program is over crowded with teachers teaching over 100 students/grade while non AGP students have the advantage of 8-10 students per teacher ratio (since the other half of the class is at AGP).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

One of the best public elementary schools in Hillsborough County. That's not saying much. The parents whose children are in AGP tend to be very happy. Average students tend to be ignored because they are not in the AGP program receiving enrichment, but they also do not need extra help. Parental involvement is quite high because they need to have parent volunteers to make up for understaffing. The school is too large with 9 classes per grade. In spite of these problems, it is one of the best elementary schools in a state with notoriously terrible schools. If you can afford private school, I'd recommend it. Otherwise, move to Westchase, send your child to Westchase elementary, and keep a close eye on their progress. It is the best choice in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I have had a great deal of experience n various schools throughout the state. I can say, hands down, that Westchase is the best. The parent involvement is plentiful. The staff and administration are always willing to put in that extra effort and it is clear that they work as a very tight knit team. Any child that attends Westchase Elementary will have an amazing experience that will help to prepare them for future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%67%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Weaver
Fax number
  • (813) 631-4617

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9517 W Linebaugh Ave
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 631-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT