Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westchase Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 925 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2006

I have had a great deal of experience n various schools throughout the state. I can say, hands down, that Westchase is the best. The parent involvement is plentiful. The staff and administration are always willing to put in that extra effort and it is clear that they work as a very tight knit team. Any child that attends Westchase Elementary will have an amazing experience that will help to prepare them for future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

great academic school,,but the smart kids get everything. if u are in the pta you kids get treated special....not fair for the working parents,,,very clicky....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I'm mostly pleased with my son's acedemic progress. He's been at Westchase since Kindergarten, he's in 5th grade now. I think the upper grades (4th and 5th) don't push the parental involvement like the lower grades do. The teachers aren't as available as they were when my son was younger. In meeting with my son's counselors in the 4th grade, we talked for over one hour and the 2 counselors I spoke to hadn't even met my son in person. How can someone advise me on a boy they hadn't even met? Overall, I think Westchase is a great school. The teachers he's had seem interested though the class sizes seem to be very large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

Good academic program. The Suzuki violin in kindergarten was a great benefit. Very strong in reading and they do well in The Battle of the Books. Parents are very involved and the PTA is strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

My son attended this school from kindegarten thru 5 th grade. The teachers are well qualified and school administrators very involved. Afterschool programs are offered on site. Tutors are available for 5th grade math if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

Great school. Kids receive top quality education throughout. Gifted children are appropriately recognized and their AGP program challenges them appropriately. (Note, the AGP assessment should be completed privately - the school's assessment for AGP is based on the county process and is therefore weaker). There are many social development areas that the school promotes well- e.g. rotating class tables monthly, rotating classes annually, which provides the children with broader social skills. Extracurricular activities are broad in nature and have wide participation. However, and this may be a general comment for all elementary schools, I do think the PE program is inadequate and certainly does not provide the physical exercise that it should. These activities and competitive team sports need to be taken outside the school process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

This school is excellent for the most part. My child loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

The teachers at Westchase are wonderful. We are new to this area and delighted to find such good, caring teachers. The only draw back that we have noticed is that when you call the office with a question; no one seems to know the answer. Even with a general question. Other than that, the staff is very pleasant and the teaching staff is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Before we moved to the area, I researched many schools because I had heard horror stories about schools in Florida. Westchase Elementary stood above all of the rest in many areas. The teachers and staff are wonderful! Academically, they are on par with private schools in the area. My child is in the gifted program there and it is amazing. I have two neighbors whose children are in the ELP program(exceptional learning program-for learning disabilties), and they couldn't be more pleased. Parental involvement is like nothing I have ever seen before. And the Art, Music and PE programs are great. Aside from the fact that the school is at full capacity, overall I am thrilled with the choice I made three years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

Great Academic programs and great teachers! Extracurricular activities such as art, music and sports are part of Westchase Elementary's regular program. Students are given personalized care especially in areas of Math, Reading and Science. High level of parents' involvement encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

School has a culture of excellence and the staff strives to be upbeat and positive with the children in all academic endeavors. Excellent parent participation and many volunteer opportunities. No extracurricular school sports but good PE program, music and art programs during the school day. If your child needs 'extra help' or has some slight learning disabilities, school does not offer much in services or testing. Overall one of the best Hillsborough County elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

We just moved to the area. My daughter seems very happy at Westchse. She is in second grade and has adjusted well. The schools is very helpful and communication is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

So far, Great teachers, excellent PTA, & staff. My child is enjoying school more now and all of her learning skills are developing much faster then at her last school in NC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

westchase elementary has been an excellent school. My 5 year old started the school year not reading but at the end of his kinder garden year he was reading at the 2nd - 3rd grade level. my 10 year old has been motivated to excell in the advanced classes starting this next school year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

My neice is at this school and she loves it. This school is in a very nice neighborhood and the school is a crown jewel. The teachers are excellent and they really push academics. I would say their academics are on par with a private school. The downside to this school is that it has overcrowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

Parents are involved at Westchase Elementary. The students at Westchase elementary are offered a great curriculum. My husband and I were debating between a private school and Westchase, and we are very pleased with the quality of education our children are receiving at Westchase. No complaints by us! Great 'A' School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 6%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%67%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%0%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. SCOTT WEAVER
Fax number
  • (813) 631-4617

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9517 West Linebaugh Avenue
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 631-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT