Advertisement
Advertisement

Jesuit High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $51,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

This "parent" right below me is completely wrong. First of all, I wouldn't tab schools like FSU and USF as top schools, even though I am attending USF at the moment. And the fact that they suspended nine of their top baseball players for an infraction that they would have suspended non athletes for, kind of shoots down your argument that they treat athletes better. Jesuit truly is a great school that holds their students (both athletes and non-athletes alike) to a high standard with regards to grades and behavior.


Posted March 26, 2014

The school, students and some parents hold the school in such high regard that it is unrealistic. The school is not the all- it -be shinning star and in fact has a few scuffs (ie 9 baseball players being suspended see Tampa Tribune) where "moral character" is involved. In addition students are not getting in the colleges of (first) choice. If you play a sport you should be fine but on merits of GPA watch out! Top schools (FSU, USF, UF, etc) are not so inviting to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

Jesuit is a great school with a challenging curriculum. The problem is they do not "pad" the grades like the public schools do. Therefore, when it is time to apply for college your GPA is not as high as the public school students. The public universities in Fl do not take into consideration that Jesuit is significantly more difficult. Many Jesuit students are having trouble getting into public Univ. because of this. All that matters is the GPA, even if you ace the SAT and ACT. Just be aware, I wish I had been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Amazing school! Not only does it offer top academics, but also a strong moral expectation and brotherhood amongst the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

We have been very pleased with the education that our son has received at Jesuit HS. We were concerned that, because we aren't Catholic, he would be at a disadvantage. We had nothing to worry about! Yes, this is a Catholic environment, but it does not completely "define" its students. The education is 2nd to none. Sports are important, but so are ALL of the extra curricular offerings. Community service is an extremely important component to JHS. Giving back to the community and becoming a "man for others" is the backbone of the Jesuit education. I agree that there are some teachers who are not of the caliber expected at JHS and I feel the guidance department needs an overhaul, but you will find this necessary in any school -public or private. This is my only complaint. These young men are held to a higher expectation than may be found at other schools. Those who do not follow the rules are dealt with by the administration, unlike public schools that tend to "look the other way". It is a competitive process to get in to JHS, and it is not for everyone, but those boys who manage to get the opportunity and embrace it, emerge as leaders of the Tampa community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

Jesuit is hard, it is rewarding, and it has been life changing for my son. I have seen him grow in his Freshman year to new levels in both learning and morality. Do not listen to the reviews that say this is not a Catholic institution, it is. Aside from his English teacher, all of the teachers are fair and caring. Sports are important, BUT so are ALL of the extra activities. Their debate club is second to none, their environmental club is fantastic, and they give all the boys an opportunity to shine. It is cool to be a jock or a nerd here, basically it is cool to be yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

The education is good, however, discipline is not equal (depending on who you are) and many things are overlook/exceptions made for certain people. This doesn't teach good lessons! Football coach is rude, has a trash mouth, and extremely partial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

Jesuit High school represents the finest in academics and athletics programs alike. All while instilling the importance of community service and living the motto..."Men for Others". Without question, one of the finest schools on the country!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

There is no other school in Tampa which we would ever consider for our son. If you are seeking a school which not only emphasizes academics and self discipline, but character development, this is the school to attend. Jesuit strives to graduate morally sound, thoughtful, strong, considerate, influential, and achievement oriented men. This is not a school for all. It is for those who recognize the values which make a good boy a great man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

Make sure your son gets a very good education in elementary and middle school before you come here [ you will need it] and make sure your son is catholic. This school says they take every student that is gifted or with learning differences. Also the discipline policy is the worst. If you do anything whether if it is forgetting your homework or bad behavior or being late, you get detention. There detention system is very different. You write things like poems, scripts, Copy books etc. Also some of the teachers are mean and/or rude. Finally send your son to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

Best four years of my life! Best education, best teachers, and best brothers a guy could ask for. Now I am reaping the benefits with a near full scholarship at a Jesuit College and a 3.8 College GPA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2008

Unbeleivable environment!!! Not only is this a great school experience but it sets you up for the future. Strangers will stop you to talk if they see you have a Jesuit shirt on. They always have something great to say about Jesuit. Once a student of Jesuit, you are always a student. You make life long friends, and the alumni are extremely active. Proud to be a part of something so great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

I am very happy with the quality of education my son is getting. The teachers are great and the administration is extremely thorough. I love this school and think it is one of the best parenting choices my husband and I have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

I for one am a current student at Jesuit. This school implicates in you a type of foundation that prepares you for the real world. It has indeed laid such a foundation in me and I am only in my freshman year. Sports is big at Jesuit but only as big as the students make it out to be. As to Catholic Based : if u want a catholic based school solely,... tell your kid to become a priest. Also, the reason for why such religions are so mixed is because the students excelled academically and Jesuit accepted them for that. My names Armando, class of 2011 and these are my thoughts
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2007

I am a new student to Jesuit and it has been a really good first semester. The kids are really cool (at least most of them) and the sports are really good to. The teachers are very understanding and helpful when you need them. Also the coaches are very good for the sports they support you and train you to the best of your ability.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

We were disappointed with the school for most of the reasons already posted, as well as for what we perceived to be a failure to live up to their motto. Our impression was the school was not looking to develop a young man during his four years of high school but rather was looking for a certain type of student right out of the box. The rules appeared to be arbitrarily applied at times. We were pleased with the teaching staff for the most part but the administration was lacking in true leadership. We hope the school is able to resolve its problems but it was not the place for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

Spiritually... The emphasis is to find God in all things and to do everything for the 'Greater Glory of God.' Jesuit students are required to complete 150 hours of community service prior to graduation. Academically... The school offers six AP courses: US History, English, Calculus, Spanish, Chemistry, and Art. For the Graduating Class of 2006, 105 colleges and universities have accepted the 161 members of the Senior Class. Nearly 90% (144) of these students were offered 360 academic or athletic scholarships, including 135 Florida Bright Futures Scholarships. The total value of these scholarships exceeds $12.6 million! Most of those were for academics. Athletically... This year, the school was recognized as the St. Pete Times' All-Sports award winners and the Boys 4-A FSHAA Program of the Year!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 26, 2006

Jesuit High School is a college prep institution that generated over 10,000,000 dollars of college scholarship offers for the class of 2006. Students are challenged to grow spiritually, academically and athletically. Parental involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

Good for serious students. Very dedicated teachers and staff. Nearly all graduates attend college - but stats on college completion are not available. Very strong sports programs, good music and art programs, many extracurricular programs. Not as many AP courses as some higher-end schools. This is not an exceptionally high-end academic school, but it does prepare serious students reasonably well for college. Religious and academic focus is clearly present, but often overshadowed by sports. Discipline and high academic standards not as high as one might think, but better than many local high schools. Students are given free periods - this hurst students who are not very personally disciplined. Not very competitive in admissions; very high acceptance rate compared to applicants. This is probably due to the emergence of free public magnet/IB schools. Also, only boys can apply, so this limits applicants. Go to a few sporting events and open house.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 4, 2006

Jesuit High School in Tampa, Florida, is not for Catholic families wanting an excellent academic program. Furthermore, this is not a faith-based Catholic high school, and it is very clear from day one that Catholic morality is not in this environment. The majority of students are not Catholic and the focus is on sports. The academic program is run by football, soccer,wrestling, baseball, and basketball coaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 44%
Hispanic 21% 24%
Black 4% 29%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4701 N Himes Ave
Tampa, FL 33614
Phone: (813) 877-5344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT