Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Incarnation Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 343 students

 
 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $71,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

I have two boys aged 9 and 6 that have been going to Incarnation since PRE-K and they love it. I like the academics and values they teach there. Wonderful staff and the principal is awesome and very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

This school is the best school for Pre- K or Kindergarten children. Once they join and go all the way up to 8th grade, they'll feel like they're part of the family. You can join at whatever age and everyone there will welcome and surround you with love. Sports and clubs are the best activities there. The teachers are kind and loving, but always keep everyone in order. I was part of this Irish family and I'll always will be. This is my home and as soon as you join you'll never forget the wonderful memories the students and faculty give you. I love this school and so do everyone else who attends. Once an Irish, ALWAYS an IRISH!!!


Posted July 13, 2012

The priest runs this school and he is not a very nice person. He has fired many dedicated professionals. I pulled my children out of this school and was so glad that I did. There are better public schools out there than this school!


Posted February 27, 2012

Incarnation is a fantastic school. We have two kids there now and couldn't be happier with the Pastor, Principal, and the great team of teachers and administrators. ICS provides a superior overall learning experience that includes religion, PE, Art, Music, Spanish, Science, School Garden, Science, Computer Lab, Community Service, Sports Teams, Chess Club, etc. Kids learn morals, values, patriotism, Christian/Catholic beliefs -- behaviors that are reinfored at home. ICS students are well-behaved, responsible, and enthusiastic. The school has a family atmosphere -- the parents and kids all know each other, which strengthens bonds and enhances the educational experience. There is a lot of pride in this school. If you are considering private education for your child(ren), you will be impressed and pleased with everything ICS has to offer. Check out the website or take a tour of the school and see for yourself how wonderful it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

Definitely a top notch school. The principal and priest are role models with high standards, and they expect the same from their staff, faculty, students and families. Those who find difficulty in following those high academic and moral standards, will not excel at this school. The past two years have shown significant improvement in the quality of education as well as improvement in the facilities. I am so proud to have my children enrolled in a school that lives its mission statement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

This school is a NIGHTMARE!!!!! The Principal and Priest are truly incompetent. The principal is young and has no business in that position without having more years of experience that comes along with tenure. There are no aides left in the classrooms and saw multiply teachers FIRED!!! I would never recommend this school to anyone not even as a last resort. RUN!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

We love ICS. As parents, we could not be happier with the caring, firm, and smart leadership that Father Michael and Mr. Zelenka (Principal) have exemplified. They are great decision makers and excellent examples of strong role, moral models.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

Can't wait for the 2011-2012 School Year. Looking forward to a promising school year with strong leadership and challenging academic programs. Our new principal, loyal teachers and new Pastor are dedicated to providing our students with a faith filled Catholic education. Thanks ICS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

Wow, I'm not sure how anyone would like this school. They just fired another teacher (Spring '11). This makes 5 teachers fired, 4 more /left because of the Priest/Bishop's dealings with the school, a beloved principle also fired, and about 8 aides fired! Half of the staff (the aides) weren't replaced and was a money making attempt. I took all of my children out and would never think of putting them back into that school until the Priest leaves. It hasn't improved over the last year, it has gotten worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2010

Incarnation school just got a fantastic new principle! Yes, some changes have taken place (for the better) but the teachers, families, and staff could not be happier now! I think a change and fresh start is exactly what they needed. ICS is headed in a new and exciting direction!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

ICS was a good school. Last year a new priest came in and put fear in the teachers hearts. He fired the Principal and 2 teachers, whom everyone loved. Teachers have to be very careful with discipline, as a consequence there is very little. This has soured me to all Catholic schools in our diocese.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2009

The kids like it and it has a great carival every year!


Posted July 10, 2008

The principal & staff are fantastic! They respond to every concern in a professional, caring manner. The curriculum is also great, with flexibility to move the kids up or down a level depending on their abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

Incarnation is a wonderful school! The teachers are very caring and the academics are great! The best private school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 44%
Hispanic 30% 24%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 6% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 29%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Michael Zelenka
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (813) 885-3734

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Tampa Catholic High School
Bishop McLaughlin High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5111 Webb Rd
Tampa, FL 33615
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 884-4502

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT