Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Most Holy Redeemer School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $49,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

My daughter has thrived over her past two years at MHR. Through their Accelerated Reader program, her reading has advanced more than two grades above her level. It's a warm community of teachers and parents, with nice buddy systems that build mentoring relationships between the oldest and youngest students. The after school program is fantastic, and the one thing I would love to see is a summer camp program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

This school has really not lived up to it's potential. My son is bored because of the low education rate. He comes home telling stories of kids showing "private parts" in the restrooms and use of bad words. He has made all "A"s while at MHR because of the work we do at home and the low education level of most of the students in his class. Today I learned that the field trip will be canceled because of the behavior of the kids in his class. Pretty sad that he is punished for the acts of other kids. My wife and I are currently looking for a new school and can't leave MHR fast enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I currently have 2 children at MHR and 1 who just graduated from MHR. She attends a local Catholic high school. I do not believe that a parent truly knows how well a school has prepared a child until the child goes on to the next level of education. My oldest child is thriving in high school. She feels that MHR prepared her for the challenges of high school. She feels that she was taught and developed very strong study habits, note taking skills, and a strong math background . She compares her elementary education to her peers and she fells that she had a much higher level of learning then the peers had at other private/charter schools. I am so very pleased with all the skills taught to her by her teacher at MHR! My other two children are also thriving at MHR! The curriculum taught is challenging, the math, writing, and reading being taught is superior and will assist them in their high school years also! Do not hesitate about this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

This is my 20th year with a student attending Most Holy Redeemer. I could not be more pleased with the outstanding education they have received. My older children have left MHR completely prepared to succeed in high school. In addition to the excellent academics MHR has a family, nurtuing atmosphere like no where else. The children are taught values and manners. I love the new principal and the exciting changes at the school which include drama, band, and art. No parent could go wrong sending their child to MHR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

Sadly enough I see it from the inside...we are losing many students and enrollment this year has barely gone beyond 200 students. We might not have an A.P. for next year as we don't have the need for one, which is very sad. The dynamics at this school have changed drastically from previous years and the nurturing and the good of the students isn't as abundant as in years past. Classes are packed and only 2 teacher aides. A lot of talk spreads through the school and teachers are fearful of being laid of/replaced and parents are showing concerns. Not sure where this school is heading after 50+ years, God only knows.


Posted March 21, 2012

We love MHR - they teach strong fundamentals and values - we have two children there and are very happy = the student/teacher ratios are not high, in fact, lower than diocesan average
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

We are thrilled with MHR in so many different respects. Our child is thriving academically and socially. We are very impressed with the curriculum, which is structured and challenging, yet, allows a child to use his/her imagination and work up to his/jher potential. We find the teachers energetic, enthusiastic and truly wanting the best for each child. The classes are no larger than that found at any public school but there is a real nurturing yet disciplined environment that prepares children to best compete in the work world they will be entering. We are so pleased with the ideas and energy of the principal. We have found the faculty and other parents so friendly and welcoming. We are also amazed at the high level of parent support for, and participation at, the school. We are also very pleased about the number of school-sponsored events for the families to get to know each other and socialize. Last but not least, we are so pleased with how they have instilled in our child how to live, day to day, in a Christian fashion toward others. We cannot imagine sending our child anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

Given time to rate this school with the new principle placed here at the beginning of the school year. Many thought that with a change in the principal, things would go uphill. Sadly enough, strong leadership is lacking and the Home and School Assoc. seems to be making the calls. The math aspect in the middle school is lacking and students are struggling, we're experiencing this first-hand. In addition, there is only one class for ALL grades except one and so classes are crammed with too many kids for the teacher to student ratio. We were told at open house this year that the school will close down and maybe move, but all that is being kept very secretively from us parents. Overall disappointed and we were hoping that change would be better. Please look at other Catholic schools in the Tampa area if placing your child in the private sector.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

Our son has attended Most Holy Redeemer kindgarten through 8th grade. I am consistently impressed with the level of academic achievement that the school attains, as a function of its committed teachers and faculty. In our son's 7th grade class, 80+% of the class was eligible for the Duke Talent Identification Program, and most of those eligible students took the SAT and performed at a level superior to many high school seniors. It's a real testament to the curriculum at the school and the ongoing commitment to preparing MHR graduates for high school and beyond. Outside of the academics, the school fosters a tremendously strong Christian spirit, and I am proud of the young man our son has become, largely as a result of MHR's guiding principles. We have been blessed beyond measure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Excellent school! My children attended the school and have fond memories. They were well prepared for high school. They have a supurb technology program and now also have Spanish as part of the weekly curriculum. Now that I have a grandchild there I see how the school has grown with the times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

My husband attended Most Holy Redeemer and has such wonderful memories from his days at MHR. There was no question where my children would go and I can honestly say that I now understand how he could speak so highly of his elementary/middle school years. The MHR families are the best! We are one big happy family. The teachers and staff do a great job of preparing our children for the next phase. Our test scores are unbelievable. We have the highest scores in the county and our students are well behaved and polite. If you are looking for a first class education..look no further than MHR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

My son attends Most Holy Redeemer and I absolutely love it! Not only do they teach them education wise, but they teach them character wise as well. I can't think of a better school around, the teachers really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

The test scores for the children that graduate from this school are among the highest in the county. This school gives my children a good blend of socioeconomic factors. Great school, good value and I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Our son has been in Most Holy Redeemer since kindergarten and is now in the 4th grade. He is consistently scoring in the 99th percentile in all academic subjects, while truly enjoying a well-rounded education with a focus on the Catholic faith, community service and sports. MHR is consistently among the highest performing schools in our diocese and state. When specifically comparing the academics to other private schools in the area, even those with a much higher price tag, MHR is still far more advanced. I know my child will be much better prepared for high school and college because of the strong Catholic and academic foundation that MHR has built. I would highly recommend the school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

This is our 10th year at MHR. While there have been many problems throughout the years, I doubt there would have been less at any other school. My three children have/will emerge benefiting from the higher academic level that private school offers, amd their spiritual growth is elevated to a degree above that which I could have imagined. There is always room for improvement,(could do without some of the projects, 'busy' work, as that's more the parents' effort) but overall, I feel we placed our children in an academically sound and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

There seems to be negative academic issues in math and science as the kids progress to high school. We enjoyed the small school setting and smaller class sizes, but overall, the school seems to rule the children with old fashion negative dicipline rather than positive reinforcement. They spend too much time telling them what they're doing wrong and what they can't do, rather than encouraging them to higher levels of achievement and confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

We are new parents with one child in kindergaten. Thus far have been very happy. School is small enough to be a very warm and personal environment. Parents are very involved in the school, and are required to provide service hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

The education received from this school is vast compared to public schools. This school was way ahead in all subjects when I graduated 8th grade and then went into the public school system. I became bored repeating subjects in teh 9th grade I had already done 2 years prior. If I would've known then what I know now, I would have begged to stay in Private school rather than going into a Public school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (813) 933-3181

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

302 East Linebaugh Avenue
Tampa, FL 33612
Phone: (813) 933-4750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT