Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $59,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2012

This school is a place that all people love. It was truly a place, a home, i myself went went their. It has so much history, no other school can compete with that. Sure other schools have bigger classes, and bigger things, more tech. but what other schools really don't have is loving teachers, and so many things to do. It's home to me, how about you?


Posted July 18, 2011

There is nothing to not like about this school! Small classes, great teachers, morals and love are what make this school the perfect choice for anyone's child. My children have been there or several years and absolutely LOVE it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

Wonderful school, teachers are great, staff is amazing and most important my children feel like they are at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Great school. Makes you feel like family. Cares about the students and academics are outstanding. A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

A true gem! This school has it all - excellent academics, teachers passionate about education, students respected as individuals with a strong Franciscan led faith-base AND small class sizes. The historic school buildings are charming giving a true sense of Tampa history. Every child should have an opportunity to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

This school is an excellent place for children. The staff is caring and helps all the children adjust to all things life can throw at them. God Bless them ALL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I can't begin to express my love for SHA! My son is in EC3 and absolutely loves going to school. Miss Carol is a GOD spend to early education, never would I have thought at the age of 3 1/2 my son would be writing his name. The office staff is warm and compassionate to your family needs. This is the best kept secret of Tampa Bay. They say you should never judge a book by it's cover and this couldn't be more true of SHA. Once you move past the neighborhood you will find a tight nit Christian school striving to excel our children. I couldn't be more happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Sacred Heart is an AMAZING school. I work downtown and the school is minutes away with a terrific after school program. My son is in EC-3 and has simply blossomed at this school. I highly recommend it to any parents working downtown who are looking for a safe and quality school (not simply daycare) for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

This is the type of school that all parents wish for - its small, the ratio of teacher to student is excellent, the family atmosphere with the parents and teachers is excellent. They have everything that a student needs to excel and become a young productive individual in our society. This school lacks nothing in morales and academics. My heart is with this quite hidden away school. Only wish that I could have went there when I was a student. Its a school from the early days where the teachers and the students respect each other and never a hash word spoken. God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Small classes, Christian environment, associated with a Franciscan parish, a principal who loves and charishes all her students. My son went there K-8.


Posted May 14, 2009

sacred heart is not down town it is on Florida avenue, near mlk, i went there for 8 yrs it is my fondest memories and the teachers student and catholic teachings were greatly appreciated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

This is a great school, excellent teachers, countless events and programms, and extremely good food, they have there own caterer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I went to Sacred heart Academy and absoleutly LOVED it...it was the best..i highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2007

Sacred Heart Academy is one of the best kept secrets in downtown Tampa. The school has an excellent academic reputation which should come as no surprise since over 50% of the teachers hold a master's degree. It is conveniently located to those of us that work downtown and has on campus after school care until 6:00 p.m.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Two or more races 18% 3%
Black 15% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCCAP
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (813) 223-7667

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3515 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33603
Phone: (313) 229-0618

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT