Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Lawrence Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $51,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2012

This school is amazing. Academics are superior and the administration treats your children as if they are family. St Lawrence is not only a school it is also a wonderful community to be a part of. Very highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

This school has the best teachers of ANY private school my three boys have have attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2009

is one of the best if is not the best school in hillsborough county
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

This is a great school, the new principal has made wonderful needed changes. This is an awesome school where 'religion' is not just a subject is a long life asset given to our children. In this 'busy materialistic' world of today... God's teachings sure come handy to the students of St. Lawrence! I truly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

Teachers not trained in years. They are behind in dealing with childrens individual needs and resources of today. Teachers are stressed with class size of 30 students which we do not see changing. if you want alot of religion in class it is good otherwise many other good private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My oldest child just completed early childhood (preK) and will be entering Kindergarten next year. My youngest will be starting EC-3 and I'm glad that she is going to St. Lawrence. I'm sorry to see the current principal leave because the kids really loved him, however I look forward to meeting and working with the new principal. For those parents who posted negative comments, morality begins at home and to blame one person is short sighted and a cop out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

I have two children at St. Lawrence. There are definitely discipline issues at this school. Attempts to address it have been weak. I am hopeful that the new principle will address these issues and that the morales, and discipline expected in a Catholic school return. There are some good, wholesome, families at the school...but they are overshadowed by the popular and wealthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

The quality of academic programs is strong overall. There is an effort underway to reduce class sizes. A new media center is under construction. The art program is wonderful. The school has an abundance of green space and a full track and field for recess and sports. Faith formation is stressed with student Mass once a week. There are tremendous opportunities for parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

This school is very good in academics, but the morals of the kids aren't very good. They worship abercrombie instead of God. Other than that, they have some outstanding teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

My son is in Pre school at St. Lawrence. The teachers are experienced and the school provides a great, nurturing evironment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 44%
Hispanic 27% 24%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5223 N Himes Ave
Tampa, FL 33614
Phone: (813) 879-5090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



RTM Academy
Tampa, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT