Advertisement
Advertisement

Tampa Bay Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2005

Tampa Baptist was the best investment I made in my children's education. Not only are the teachers excellent, the standards are high and the christian atmosphere is real. The head administrator knows just about all the students by first name basis. Their application of Biblical integartion to their curriculum is great. The SLD departments are excellent. They don't keep these students at a baby level but develop their abilities in the correct ways. Parents are welcomed at every classroom and they are guaranteed a meeting with the teachers when necessary My three children did well and both did exceptionally well at the University. Thanks TBA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Great school, great teachers, great academics. We have been very happy here for 5 years. The staff is very caring and they have a great principal. They care about the future of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

The teachers at TBA really are amazing. They make an effort to connect with the students in such a way that is not found in public school. TBA is extremly diverse, which sets children on the right path to understanding the different cultures and peoples of this world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 22, 2005

Great school with qualified teachers. The education is great for the tuition. Is not in the greatest part of town, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

I have had a horrible experience with TBA. The cirriculum is not what it should be and does not meet very good standards. They have a few sports available however, they do not have the correct coaching skills available. They parent involvement is one of the few things that is okay, yet still some of the parents are too involved. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2004

I have been disappointed with Tampa Baptist Academy, especially this year. They are not equipped to handle any child with a learning disability, even though I was told in the beginning that they were. They have no specialized teachers certified for any learning difficulties. Over the years I have seen many students leave to go to other schools. I do not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

My daughter currently attends preschool at La Petite on Paula drive in Tampa. I just relocated here from Illinois and my five year old was attending a private school in Illinios. Unfortunately La Petite 's curriculum isn't what I expected based on the research I had done. There preschoolers are not as advanced as my daughter and she has indicated that they are doing 'baby stuff' and she is not learning the things I feel she should be to prepare her for kindergarten. This preschool is really a dropoff daycare center with no real structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My children have been at T.B.A since Pre K, and I am very pleased with thier growth both academic and spiritual. a very good private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 44%
Hispanic 30% 24%
Black 23% 29%
Asian 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Natasha Sherwood
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (813) 343-0601

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1602 West Sligh Ave
Suite 100
Tampa, FL 33604
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 343-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT