Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-9|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Florida College Academy 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
FCA's focus on serving God is the main reason we chose to enroll our child at this school. The family atmosphere is irreplaceable. Academically, students are challenged with excellent curriculum and high expectations, but not at the expense of the joy of learning. Standardized testing is an element of assessment but NOT the focus - a HUGE "plus" for me! I feel completely at peace saying goodbye to my son every morning when I leave him at school because i know he will be interacting with adults who care about him in all aspects of his character and education. No school is perfect, but because each member of the staff and faculty believe in God and are striving to serve Him, the result is a rich learning environment full of love, caring and sacrifice. FCA goes above and beyond to minister to the whole child. We love this school!

Florida College Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Principal Lynn Wade is a strong leader who holds himself and all school personnel and students accountable to high expectations in their walk with God and in their continuing work in education. I am very thankful for his vision and his determination to make Florida College Academy an example of integrity in both moral and academic excellence in schools across America.


Florida College Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are caring and patient with students. Students perform at high academic levels and are well-behaved and respectful. Teachers are well-qualified and hard-working.

Florida College Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
My son is in Pre-K and does not receive homework on a regular basis. The homework that has come home has been relevant and appropriate for my son's learning.

Florida College Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Each staff and faculty member strongly believe in caring for the whole child and serving one another in love. I observe this in conversations and actions between teachers and students and between colleagues.


Florida College Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Each faculty member believes God is the focal point of life. Therefore, high moral standards are always present.

Florida College Academy 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Our experience at FCA has been everything we would ever have hoped for our children. It is as close to a "perfect" situation in almost every way. At first glance, it doesn't appear to be "much of a school" from outward appearances. But once you are inside, you notice a distinct difference from other schools you've probably been in! The kind and friendly environment is warm and inviting. Teachers are smiling and greeting you, students are smiling, laughing and greeting you. You can't help but smile and want to be a part of it. Our children have grown to love, respect and admire the faculty that sacrifice so much to teach there. It is obvious they are there because they LOVE to teach and are committed to it in every way. They also enjoy being surrounded by other students who love to sing in chapel, and who WANT to do the "right thing". They feel safe and loved. When I drop them off for school, I don't worry about them - I know they are in a safe place. A place that will love and protect them just as I would. Academically, the average grade level is learning 2-3 years above the national average! I am confident my children will be able to transfer anywhere and continue learning at the pace established at FCA. When I think of the opportunity we have had to attend here, it fills my heart with joy and pride. It's not a perfect place, but no place is perfect. The difference is, that when issues do arise, they are dealt with, and promptly. Any parent looking for a great place to send their children....should check here!

Florida College Academy 3

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
It's an okay school but can use improvements in academicsband fairness. It is not academically challenging.


Florida College Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
A wonderful school both academically and spiritually! Both of my children have loved their teachers, are challenged academically and are in a very safe environment. Mr.Wade is an amazing principal with many years of experience in the public school system and leads this school well. We wouldn't want our children anywhere else.

Florida College Academy 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been very pleased with Florida College Academy. My child has attended for almost 3 years and been challenged with the curriculum and has thoroughly enjoyed all sports and activities. The Christian influence is very positive and the kids have an overall well rounded and safe environment. The Principal is an outstanding leader and fosters open communication between teachers, parents and children. I would recommend FCA to any family looking for a school for their child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Florida College Academy
7032 Temple Terrace Highway, Tampa, FL  33637
(813) 899-6800
Last modified Florida College Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Florida College Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top