Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bayshore Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 220 students

We are best known for unashamedly Christian program.

 
 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2008

My child has attended BCS for the past 5 years. We have seen a a change in the way the school has been run, as well as a drastic shift in the overall system. It has been somewhat disappointing. With several headmaster changes, it has affected the overall school performance and attitude. The current administration is not teacher friendly and placates parents. Per several other comments, there is favoritism displayed blantantly towards certain families with a higher income level. They do lack extracurricular activities, with pre/post school care programs not at the level they should be. The lunches still need improvement. Yes, you donate or participate in fundraisers (1 per quarter) but most schools execute these same types of activities. There are some excellent teachers that provide education. The K4, K5 and 2nd grade teachers are incredible. We will not enroll our child next year at BCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I have been a teacher in both public and private schools for the last 20 years. I taught at Bayshore School for 5 years while my own children were attending. Never have I worked with such loving, caring and committed teachers and personnel! My hat goes off to all of you who continue to touch the lives of those you serve and for serving such an AWESOME God!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2008

I have a 6 year old and a 4 year old attending Bayshore currently. Compared to Providence Christian School in Brandon, this school is fantastic! The teachers are awesome and my children LOVE to go to school. Yes, they do ask for money a lot, and do lots of fund raisers, but what school doesn't do that....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

this school is deplorable the facilities are disgusting and all of the teachers are favoritist to the kids with money. the school food is disgusting and it is un nutritional
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

I've gone to Bayshore since pre-school. I am about to graduate high school now. I left during middle school, but eventually came back. Why did I come back? Simply because BCS has a good, family environment, great teachers that genuinely care, amazing sports and school spirit, and yes, you also get a good education. Many students, like myself, have taken part in Dual Enrollment and AP courses. I would never want to graduate from anywhere else. except college. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

Bayshore Christian School is the best place to send your child for preschool. Two of my children have gone to the preschool and all read at age 4. My two year old will begin the preschool program next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I did not like this school at all. I went here for the eighth grade and trust me, this school is not for kids who want to do anything extra-curricular. 'New Kids' are alienated and picked on. Favoritism among teachers, terrible lunch program, lack of money, and terrible social environment are just a few of the problems this school has.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2006

This is a fantastic school in every area: Pre school, Elementary, Middle schol and High school. The curriculum is challenging throughout. The leadership is excellent, warm, exciting, compassionate, encouraging and academic expectations are high. My children all experienced wonderful learning situations with their teachers. There is good parent-teacher communication. I'm allowed to participate if I have time in my schedule. The school is safety oriented. Christian values are both taught and caught. Bible knowledge is applied to young lives. 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Great academics and disclipine with inclusion of christian values. My daughter was 4 when she began, I am so very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

Good quality of enducation with emphasis on christian values. High parent involvement and average availability of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 5, 2004

My daughter has attended Bayshore for 3 years. Academically, they are have a great curriculum and she is way ahead in nearly every category. The staff is very friendly and they have a long heritage in Tampa. Some issues are lack of activities due to school size, favoritism shown to students of families with influence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Florida
Florida State
University of South Florida
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Herman J. Valdes
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • SACS; ACSI; FCIS; FKC
Fax number
  • (813) 835-1404

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • We are a small school with great academics, athletics and spiritual enrichment. Our 2010 graduating class of 27 students was offered almost $2mm in college scholarships. We've had graduates at West Point, Annapolis, and the Air Force Academy. We offer 20% discounts to military families, as well as multi-child families, and pastor's families.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
public schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Florida state universities
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3909 South MacDill Avenue
Tampa, FL 33611
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 839-4297

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT