Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tampa Preparatory School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

My AP and advanced classes were NOT at all mentally or academically challenging. I found that I was surrounded by people who had very little passion for learning or education, and although the teachers wanted to do more, they were limited by the students being so incompetent. Although prep boasts that all of their classes are 'Honors classes' they really shouldn't be labeled so. I do not reccommend prep to post IB, gifted,or magnet school students.


Posted April 9, 2013

Tampa preps education is outstanding! The teacher involvement with the kids is excellent. The academics no doubt is on a high level to challenge each child to have them prepared for college. It is what value each child wants to put into their education to get into a good college. Yes, it is not cheap to go to TP. Look at the colleges many of the students got into this year. Harvard, UF, USF, Tufts and so on. Highly rec this school! Parent of a 10th grader
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

My daughter graduated from Tampa Prep and did not get into a good college. If you are considering Tampa Prep, ask where last year s class went to college. Don t settle for a list of colleges, ask for a list that shows how many students went to each college. Now compare this list to one from Jesuit, Berkley, and any of the IB programs. The sad truth is that the IB programs have the best track record (and they are free), followed by Jesuit, Berkley, and a distant fourth, Tampa Prep. My advice: get your kid into an IB program. Yes they will work hard, but if they do well they will get into a good school guaranteed. Why do Tampa Preps students come in last? Two reasons: a weak student body (Tampa Prep will accept anyone that can pay the $16,000 a year tuition) and bad teachers. Some examples: teachers that tell students to read the book while the teacher surfs the internet; teachers that take weeks to return graded tests; and teachers that preach politics instead of teaching. Over the last year, Great Schools has removed seven negative reviews of Tampa Prep. They will probably remove this one also, but I will post it other places so people learn the truth about Great Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

This is a top notch learning institution. I attended TP almost 10 years ago and my studies there helped me earn a spot at a top 20 national university. I would NOT trade this experience for a Florida public high school education. The depth and breadth of material the students take in at Tampa Prep allows them to surpass their peers at the college level and beyond. I credit Tampa Prep for providing me with a foundation from which I've excelled, both at university and in the workforce.


Posted May 13, 2011

I went to this school for 6 years and had an amazing experience. I won't lie, it was very expensive, and very difficult; the courses were taught at a far higher comprehension level than most of my friends experienced at their public schools. That being said, I was much better prepared for college, now attend a prestigious university, and am preparing for graduate school. I don't know what I would have done without Tampa Prep.


Posted August 26, 2009

New headmaster (Principal) is GREAT! Don't know why he doesn't get 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I attended this school for junior and senior year. The teachers are really nice and very caring. But academically it has fallen behind over the years. I recommend your kid take AP courses if they want to get anywhere and want to be more challenged. The worst thing about this school is the guidance. They don't help you with college until junior year and many students aren't pushing to go to the top uni's in the country or state anymore. If you have a gifted child and want to make sure they get into the right uni for them might as well spend the extra grand and go to Berkley, yes a former TP'er is confessing that.


Posted April 2, 2008

This is the BEST school in Hillsborough County, including all Private and Public Schools. My daughter attended all 3 years of Middle School. I have never seen such an involved school before. There is so much thought put into all they do. They plan activites, to help the students form friendships, avoid forming clicks and do not tollerate bullying behavior. All administrative staff are also faculty, so decisions are not made in the dark - they know each student. There are 4 main accademic teachers in each grade level who teach in classes surounding a computer hub. The teachers are excellent, well prepared and enthusiastic. Ample sports & elective options. Theater is GREAT. Only down side is most families live in S. Tampa, hard for others to socialize. Only negative is school favors families with deep pockets, and many girls tend to be clicky. But great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

i just love the school. They really take care of you and everything. Overall, its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2007

By far the best preparatory college program in the Tampa Bay area. Excellent academics and terrific diversity in the student body - top-notch athletics and arts programs. Not an elitist environment - a club or activity for everyone. Outstanding parent communications.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Black 9% 23%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

727 West Cass Street
Tampa, FL 33606
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 251-8481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT