Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of the Holy Names High

Private | 9-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $289,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

I would not recommend this school to anyone. The school is filled with Old Tampa families who do not know when it is time to move on. The mothers live vicariously through their daughters, and take the drama of their daughters into their own relationships. The teachers only focus on the "average student" and offer no support for those who want to truely excell. There are not enough honors or AP classes offered for those who wish to challenge themselves. Many of the teachers are not state certified and are poor educators. To make-up for the lack of faculty, the students have been given iPads. In addition, the honors and regular classes have been merged together into one block. A vast majority of the girls either go to FSU or UF for college, before moving back to tampa to become a classic Tampa Mom. In my experiance this school is not worth the the tuition, time, and drama.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2010

I can honestly say this school met my standards and helped me exceed for my future....Great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2009

AHN! Was the best experience I could have ever had. The close-knit family environment cultivates learning and optimal growth. The sisterhood built is undeniable. I am so appreciative of all the sacrifices my parents made to ensure that I received a stellar high school experiencce~
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

As a student of the Academy, I am proud to say that I feel that I have excelled in various ways since my first day. The all-female environment helps us, as students to express our thoughts and ideas without criticism. The teachers encourage free thinking which allows us to grow and explore. Yes, sometimes the rules seem ridiculous and a teacher may not agree with something, but then I remember that it is all training for life. Proper dress, discipline, and sometimes keeping opinions to yourself, are imperative aspects of everyday, adult life. I love this school and all of my classmates. I enjoy my classes, sports teams, and clubs, which encourage me to be active always. An Academy girl is athletic, intelligent and kind. She is friendly to all and has sisters for life. I have 357 sisters and that's the greatest gift that Academy has given me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

All I can say is... A+!


Posted June 10, 2006

I would not recommend this school to anyone. There are not enough honors or AP classes offered for all the smart girls attending that school. Also the Academy of the Holy Names name only pulls weight in Florida state colleges or Catholic unitversities, other than that it pulls very little. A lot of the teachers are not state certified to teach what the teach, if they are certified at all. The teachers pay more attention to the girls uniforms than they do to the girls educations. In my experiance that school is not worth the ludacris tuiton that the school charges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

This is a quality school. The High School is for young ladies only. This is a wonderful environment for the girls to explore their education. There are many activities for varied interests, sports, drama, academics etc. I recommend this high school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

The Academy of the Holy Names is an excellent high school. It truly prepares our daughters to be fine, productive, responsible young woman! They encourage the girls to be all they can be! Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3319 Bayshore Blvd
Tampa, FL 33629
Phone: (813) 839-5371

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT