Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Academy of the Holy Names High 2

Posted January 28, 2014
- a student
I would not recommend this school to anyone. The school is filled with Old Tampa families who do not know when it is time to move on. The mothers live vicariously through their daughters, and take the drama of their daughters into their own relationships. The teachers only focus on the "average student" and offer no support for those who want to truely excell. There are not enough honors or AP classes offered for those who wish to challenge themselves. Many of the teachers are not state certified and are poor educators. To make-up for the lack of faculty, the students have been given iPads. In addition, the honors and regular classes have been merged together into one block. A vast majority of the girls either go to FSU or UF for college, before moving back to tampa to become a classic Tampa Mom. In my experiance this school is not worth the the tuition, time, and drama.
1 person found this helpful

Academy of the Holy Names High 5

Posted February 20, 2010
- a student
I can honestly say this school met my standards and helped me exceed for my future....Great school!


Academy of the Holy Names High 0
no rating

Posted March 10, 2009
- a student
AHN! Was the best experience I could have ever had. The close-knit family environment cultivates learning and optimal growth. The sisterhood built is undeniable. I am so appreciative of all the sacrifices my parents made to ensure that I received a stellar high school experiencce~

Academy of the Holy Names High 2

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Academy of the Holy Names High 5

Posted January 08, 2008
- a student
As a student of the Academy, I am proud to say that I feel that I have excelled in various ways since my first day. The all-female environment helps us, as students to express our thoughts and ideas without criticism. The teachers encourage free thinking which allows us to grow and explore. Yes, sometimes the rules seem ridiculous and a teacher may not agree with something, but then I remember that it is all training for life. Proper dress, discipline, and sometimes keeping opinions to yourself, are imperative aspects of everyday, adult life. I love this school and all of my classmates. I enjoy my classes, sports teams, and clubs, which encourage me to be active always. An Academy girl is athletic, intelligent and kind. She is friendly to all and has sisters for life. I have 357 sisters and that's the greatest gift that Academy has given me.


Academy of the Holy Names High 5

Posted December 21, 2007
- a community member
All I can say is... A+!

Academy of the Holy Names High 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2006
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone. There are not enough honors or AP classes offered for all the smart girls attending that school. Also the Academy of the Holy Names name only pulls weight in Florida state colleges or Catholic unitversities, other than that it pulls very little. A lot of the teachers are not state certified to teach what the teach, if they are certified at all. The teachers pay more attention to the girls uniforms than they do to the girls educations. In my experiance that school is not worth the ludacris tuiton that the school charges.
1 person found this helpful

Academy of the Holy Names High 3

Posted May 01, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Academy of the Holy Names High 5

Posted April 27, 2006
- a parent
This is a quality school. The High School is for young ladies only. This is a wonderful environment for the girls to explore their education. There are many activities for varied interests, sports, drama, academics etc. I recommend this high school to others.

Academy of the Holy Names High 4

Posted December 07, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy of the Holy Names High
3319 Bayshore Blvd, Tampa, FL  33629
(813) 839-5371
Last modified Academy of the Holy Names High is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Academy of the Holy Names High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top