Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lee Academy For Gifted Education

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $51,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

We are extremely happy with our children's personal and academic development at Lee Academy. We had experiences at a higher profile private school in Tampa before coming to Lee and I don't see how my kids would be where they are if we had kept them there. Their confidence and sense of belonging has just flourished. And they thrive on the academic challenges. Of course you have to make sure the school fits your family's needs and expectations. No school is perfect and every teacher is different. But, for us, this one pretty great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

Lee Academy has had a tremendously positive impact on our son's academic and developmental success. Their philosophy is unique, grouping children by ability level not by chronological age, ensuring that each child is being challenged appropriately. The campus is beautiful, nestled in a charming wooded area with a lakeside view, allowing the students to be in touch with nature on a daily basis. The outdoor classroom areas and community garden provide lots of hands-on learning opportunities for all grade levels. The faculty members provide a safe, customized learning environment, and the small class sizes cater to lots of individualized attention. We feel so fortunate to have found this hidden gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

Yes I would think that someone who spent years in the primary school is much more ignorant and uninformed than someone who has been in the early childhood class for a few weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

Lee Academy is a fantastic school! Our daughter is enrolled in their Early Childhood class and we are very impressed. The class sizes are small and they are able to accommodate varying levels in various subjects among the children very well. They are great at encouraging problem solving and creativity in addition to core learning. They provide a great community of support and offer an amazing amount of enrichment throught various projects like their community garden. As to the other reviewers, everyone is entitled to their opinion but to post that "most of the students have some variety of Asperger Spectrum Disorders" is incorrect, ignorant and inappropriate. I would encourage any parent with a gifted learner who has not yet started school or who is struggling in their current school to check out Lee Academy. We love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

I was displeased with Lee Academy's failure to provide for my child what their website and staff promised. My child's first year was great but after that, the administrators made decisions that were more financially driven than child driven. My child was not appropriately challenged academically despite their philosophy of individuation. One teacher was horrible - lazy and complacent - teaching what she had always done rather than what was appropriate for the group of children. Despite the owner and administrator talking with the first teacher about changes, she quickly reverted back. Having talked with other parents, I understand that is a pattern ongoing for several years. Another teacher was condescending and controlling. Multiple teachers have left and/or were fired over the past three years, showing poor hiring/selection as well as poor management. I know at least two of the teachers left because of their dissatisfaction with the direction of the school ($ driven rather than educationally minded). Other parents have had similar concerns and I have seen many families leave the school in the past three years, as we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

So far, we've been extremely impressed with this school. The teachers are supportive and have great communication with the parents. They work hard to best fit the needs of each student and they have experience in approaching gifted children. My child is being challenged and blossomming without feeling pressured. The school runs smoothly even if the owner is not there everyday as another poster commented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

My 16 year old old is a senior this year, dual-enrolled at honors college at USF. I ve watched her blossom under the guidance of Lee Academy since 2008. I d actually known about Lee Academy since she was in my womb, but mistakenly thought it was out of Tampa Bay. In 2008, I drove down Twin Lakes lost on the way to a client consultation. I saw a vinyl sign with the ship and the name Lee Academy hung on their gate. I jotted down their number and prayed there would be a space for her. Thankfully, there was. Parents of gifted kids understand how easily our kids get bored because a standard, non-gifted-specific curriculum is not built to showcase their inquisitiveness, their intelligence, their individuality - that incredible uniqueness. Our gifted kids need a school that understands and nurtures these special talents and abilities as well as helps them with their deficits. Lee Academy challenges our children and teaches them to be self-motivated, a skill desperately needed in college and in life in general. I highly recommend Lee Academy, its teachers and staff for anyone seeking a school that welcomes parental involvement and will feel like a second family to both you and your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

My daughter just completed her first year in Lee Academy and we could not have been happier with or choice. She is already looking forward to going back in August. I am very pleased with her overall progress - academic and personal growth. Being with older children raised her independence and self esteem. Her accomplishments motivated her to do her best. I think that it is very important to "hook up" children on learning as early as possible. If you are looking to motivating and challenging environment for your advanced child then look no further. Lee Academy is your place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

Lee Academy is one of the best kept secrets in the Tampa Bay Area. It's been around for nearly 30 years, and is considered one of the best private schools in Hillsborough County; however, most people learn about Lee Academy either from another parent, school psychologist or pediatrician. It's one of a few schools in Tampa that offers accelerated learning from preschool to 12th grade, all in a nonthreatening, beautiful, lakeside environment. There's very little staff turnover, and both the teaching staff and administrative staff are stellar. One of the truly remarkable things about Lee is that students are not separated by age or grade, but rather by their ability to successfully do the work. Many students who have completed the curriculum or "graduated" from their neighborhood Montessori schools transition easily to Lee Academy because they are self-motivated and accustomed to a unique learning environment. Lee Academy is a private school but tuition is quite reasonable. By comparison, tuition at Lee is comparable to a parochial school versus a day or preparatory school, and students leave there more than prepared for college and whatever else life may bring them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Lee Academy is indeed a very unique school and my child has attended there for the past several years. I find the teachers to be excellent, using Singamore Math, a Language Arts program developed by Nancy Atwell, and the GEMS program from the University of CA at Berkeley. Other classes such as World History, Geography, Latin, Spanish, and Computer Design are equally engaging. Physical Education is also an important aspect of the daily schedule. Each student is given ownership of his or her own educational progress. The administratioon at Lee adheres to the educational philosophy of the school, willing to listen to parental concerns with an open mind and make necessary adjustments if possible. I have found that the majority of students are happy, interactive, and motivated to learn. The environment at Lee encourages a positive attitude toward learning. The "whole student" is important at Lee!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

I have two children at Lee, and am extraordinarily disappointed by the lack of leadership at this school. The owner is rarely onsite and there is no curricular accountability among the teaching staff. In some cases, this doesn't pose a problem. Some of the teachers, however, have become extraordinarily complacent. There is little or no differentiation of curricula in any of the classes, despite the deceptively low student/teacher ratio. I like that the school offers Spanish, computers, music, and art, but the language arts and math programs leave a great deal to be desired. Many Lee students who have gone on to other schools have struggled to adapt and have discovered unsettling gaps in their education. Before you commit to Lee, be certain that all of your concerns are addressed IN WRITING. Verbal assurances regarding class size and student placement are summarily disregarded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

I have two kids at Lee in Early Childhood and Primary school. The education is tailored to fit each child and they get to advance at their own rate. The school has language programs from the youngest students on up, as well as music, art, and PE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Lee Academy is truly unique: the only school in the Tampa Bay area created specifically for the education of gifted students with a 25-year history of proven success. Leegifted.com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the sense of community and the individualization that each student receives -- among numerous other wonderful things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

I have a son graduating from Lee this year, and he would not be nearly as unique if he had not been exposed to the high expections and stirring of his imagination there. My daughter graduated in 2000 and has been so prepared for the college experience by dual enrollment, and having learned to work on her own with discipline and focus. My son has been exposed to such great topics. The English teacher is fabulous, she goes above and beyond for the kids. Each year they have a play, this year's was 'Tartuffe', and terrific. To graduate they must write a senior thesis, 20 pages plus bibliography. A friend said to me that out of everything my kids have, their literary background is profound. Both kids are honor students at the University of Florida in Gainesville.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 42%
Black 2% 23%
Hispanic 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8613 Twin Lakes Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33614
Phone: (813) 931-3316

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT