Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berean Academy

Private | K-12 | 134 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2010

Berean is the most amazing school. Since we are a military family, my children have been to 5 schools but nothing comes close to the quality of education we received at Berean. I highly recommend this school because of the incredible staff, fabulous curriculum, and Biblically based instruction. It has a true sense of community which I have not found anywhere else. This school is truly amazing and I am grateful for the education my children receive here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

We moved to FL a year ago. It had always been our prayer that our children could enjoy a Classical Christian education; Berean was the answer to that prayer. The children are taught based on the Trivium of learning. Young children learn facts easily. Our 3 2nd graders and Kindergartner know facts about History, grammar, the Bible and its Chapter concepts, the History timeline, and so many other things. They learn a Bible verse each week. The curriculum has a Christian worldview; it is a natural part of the entire curriculum. Our teachers are committed and well-qualified. It is a family environment; we fit in easily. The new South Tampa campus is flourishing. We could have sent our children to other schools in Tampa, but we chose Berean because it is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

We began our children's education at Berean 7 years ago and have enjoyed all the benefits of a classical Christian education. Our three children are being well-equipped to enter higher education and eventually the workplace with an ability to think clearly about the world around them. This type of education helps them to become life long learners. The teachers are rigorous yet loving and caring about the individual needs and personalities of each of our students. These qualities make Berean unique to the Tampa Bay area. We would highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

Our children have attended Berean Academy for 4 years. We are consistently amazed by their academic progress, but also how they are maturing into great PEOPLE too. WE have a lot of wonderful schools in our area, but Berean is the only place we would consider for our children as it is the cream of the crop in the Tampa Bay area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

We just re-enrolled our children for the 2009-2010 school year. This will be our 5th year at Berean and it just keeps getting better. The staff and faculty don't just do a great job, they love our kids while doing it. The quality of education is outstanding. And, we are really enjoying the new facilities. It is nice to walk into a brand new school building and know that your kids are getting a first-class education to match the first-class facilities. It is also worth noting that the school is a K-12 school. I like the idea of keeping my kids in one place for their entire school career. The mentoring of the older students in a Christian environment is priceless. We highly recommend Berean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Our family has been at Berean Academy for many years, and we believe that it is the strongest it has ever been. The faculty and staff are not only concerned about excellent academics but they care very much about our children's faith and character. When they graduate from Berean Academy, our children will have a strong biblical worlview that will prepare them to live with much wisdom and excellence in this culture. We love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

This is our third year at Berean (we have two children there) and couldn't feel more positive about the choice we have made for their education. Godly and loving teachers and headmaster, a rigorous classical curriculum, and Biblical worldview approach, all combine for the type of environment/influence we want for our children as they grow in their love and service to God. Whatever profession your child aspires to, we feel this foundation for building excellence, strength, and Christian maturity cannot be beat in the Tampa area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

Berean Academy is the best! Everyone there is truely a blessing! Especially the staff. My family really enjoy the one on one care the teachers give the students. Every student is helped, every question is answered. And most importantly, they are tought to be well behaved and caring christians! I wouldn't choose any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I am so pleased and delighted to have our new humble and Godly headmaster, Mr. Kirby. We have teachers who sacrifice so much for our children. The athletic program is on its way! My child is receiving an excellent education but most importantly learning to be a young lady who has the heart for the Lord. I love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Berean Academy has a new headmaster, Mr. Bruce Kirby, for the 2006-07 school year (not the guy referred to by the other commentator) who brings with him a strong background in Christian education and solid commitment to the classical and Christian roots of this ACCS charter member school. Our family is impressed with this year's faculty and staff, who appear to stand foursquare with the school's long-standing attachment to the ideal of the medieval Trivium, classical teaching methodologies, classical content (including strong commitment to Latin instruction beginning in Third Grade), and an applied Christian worldview. Parents who are intrigued by the ancient goals and traditions of classical education (cf. The Well-Trained Mind book), but want a deeply thoughtful Christian education for their children, would do well to take a serious look at this school. We predict that under its new leadership it will be an up and coming powerhouse in Tampa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

You could get a great Christian education from this school. It is perhaps too bad that the Prncipal/Headmaster is a sanctimonious hypocrite. He is not the type of 'Christian' that tries to be like Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Bruce Kirby
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS
Fax number
  • (813) 930-2134

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Greek
  • Latin
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17951 N US Hwy 41
Tampa, FL 33549
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 221-1711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT