Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

King's Kid Christian Academy

Private | PK-3 | 111 students

We are best known for academic curriculum.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tampa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $38,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

I attended king's kids when I was a child. Considering all of the bad things I've been hearing lately, I am currently looking for another private school for my son to attend. I wish Mrs. Scott was still the principal and ms. Sherma, ms.joseph, ms. Mosely, ms. April and ms. Precious was still there. ..smh
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My grand daughter attends the VPK program, I have a wonderful teacher,and we are considering taking a part time job so she can remain there, but i must say i have noticed not all the teachers have the same dedication as Ms.Amerson-the after school case is excellent my 5 yr old plays chest,african drums,jewerly making,karate and sign language. Never met the principal and asst Ms Small-NEVER THERE, thank God for Ms Precious. One things for sure they DEMAND payment,NO EXCEPTIONS!!!My biggest problem, to many fundraisers, doughnut sales,breakfast,dinners,shirts and you would thing after the tution paid not including the before and after school care they would lighten up.and we do live and are a working class neighborhood they demand so many hours of volenteer or we are charged for not being able to volenteer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

i agree with the parent that stated they cut alot of teachers and tuition is ridiculous especially when you dont qualfy for the florida pride or title 20 but yes the kids do learn alot my son is in 1st grade but is on a 2nd grade level it gets a little difficult for him at times but he always seems to manage i will be taking him out this school not that its a bad school the tuition is becoming unaffordable for me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

My son has been attending Kings Kids since Pre-K 3 and he has come a long way in his academics and speech. My son is going to the 2nd grade and is reading better than 1st and 2nd graders at nearby and other schools. Kings Kids did go through a lay-off and had to cut a lot of teachers and staff, however they kept a lot of excellent teachers. It is my hope to continue my child attending Kings Kids throughout the 5th grade because it is still an excellent school to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I agree that the learning enviroment is wonderful and it is as i can say is excellent. But it does have it's flaws as does any school that looses kids and staff members that who made an impact in some of the kids life that's still there and i am a parent of a student at kings kids and my daughter is really getting the best education. there are a few things they can change but it only up to the school and the staff themselvesto make these changes where everyone will be happy and make it affordable for these people to be able to continue to take there kids to kings kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I have been familiar with King's Kids for many years and in my opinion, the level of excellence has taken a major drop. It used to be a great school for all children and a pillar for education within the minority community. However, this school year has taken a drastic drop and they have cut almost a dozen of their workers. The tuition has gone up considerably and there has been nothing done to show for the extra funds. The teachers are under paid and it is not the same King's Kids that it used to be. It seems like the let the good teachers go and the entire school is suffering. I will be removing my son. It is just not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

My son wen to King's Kids for pre-k. This was his first year in school. He has learned so much in one year then I could ever imagine. I am very thankful. I highly recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

My daughter has been going to King's Kid since she was a newborn. She is now in kindergarden and has learned way more than a 5 year old should. She is reading books on her own and doing math. She is even able to do her cousin's homework, whos is in 1st grade public school. King's kids is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 23%
White 3% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 29%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Angela Small
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Affiliation
  • Church of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (813) 247-4337

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 North 34th Street
Tampa, FL 33605
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 248-6548

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT