Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity School For Children - Lower Division

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2009

The staff and teachers are excellent and professional. Our children are happy and are learning a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

I attended Trinity for all 10 years that it has been open and am very sad to say that I had to leave this year. I graduated with a 4.0 and with 3 high school credits before I even left the school. It is a wonderful school that builds a well rounded student. They teach us that academics comes before extra curricular activities. The sports teams are fantastic, we have an undefeated football team and also offer basketball,volleyball,soccer,softball,baseball and have an awesome cheerleading team. I cant say any thing bad about this school and strongly suggest to you that you enroll your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

i love trinity the teachers are nice and im getting very imprssive grades
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2008

this school is horrible i went there for middle school and now im in highschool this school is horribleeeeee
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2008

Trinity is amazing. They offer so many classes and electives. Im in all of the honors classes in the 8th grade. Once I finish this year, I will have 3 high school credits going into the 9th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

I've been to Trinity since it has started and I have to say, the staff and teachers were very kind and they prepared me for high school. Now I'm in advance classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

Trinity is a charter school and does not get 100% funding from the county. It is run very much like a private school and therefore requires money from outside sources to stay afloat. I feel like my child is getting a private school education for next to nothing. Yes, we pay fees and money for field trips, but I am not paying near to what private schools tuition costs for those fees. As far as the gym, yes again, they need money to help build a gym. I think that people who want a toally free education need to stick to a traditional public school because Trnity will indeed cost some money out of pocket. I feel fortunate my child is attending school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

After reading the other reviews, I am wondering if they are writing about the same school. We had an awful experience. My son is worse off for having attended Trinity. The school is so political. There is favortism with staff member's children as well as children of large $ contributers. They nickel and dime you to death. $5.00 for this $10.00 for that. You will spend thousands per year in fieldtrips on top of $500.00 per year per child so called 'donation'. They do track this and if you fall behind, you will receive bills, so I am not sure if why they call it a ' donation'. They are now asking each family for $1,400.00 to build a gym. Stay far away from Trinity. The more I learn about the school, the more thankful I am we no longer attend. I wish I would have had this advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

I had two children in Trinity. The youngest was in Pre-K for two years, the oldest was in Kinder and 1st. We have since moved to Colorado. In hindsight, we are extremely pleased with Trinity. Our kids love their new school, but often reminisce about how great Trinity was. Learning is fun there, and our kids entered their new schools very well prepared in reading, math and science. Our youngest is way ahead of many other kids. By the way, in colorado neither pre-k nor full-time Kindergarten are the norm, as kids start Kinder part time here. So we really think that Florida's full-time Kinder and Trinity's full time pre-K were awesome. Great Teachers, excellent principal. We miss you, Trinity!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I recently graduated form Trinity as an eighth grader and as much as Ioved my years there Trinity can become quite expensive for my parents and in my opinion could use a little more space and administrative involvment. Trinity lacks a cafeteria so in my case we ate near the Science Labortory and also does not hav a gym. Parking is a big in convenience it can become very crowded. I attended school there for 2 years and nevere met the principal and i saw her a total of 5-6 times. As much as I appreciate the teachers and what i learned from them I wasn't tremendously impressed with the school overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2007

Trinity is a phenomenal school. My daughter just completed her first year at the school (kindergarden) and I am highly impressed with the academics. She is very advanced thanks to the great curriculum and dedicated teachers. The community at Trinity is great and I can not say enough good things about the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

What Trinity lacks is organization and sincere administrative involvement. I volunteered over 100 campus hours this year (not including pick up/drop off), and saw the principal on campus 3 times. There's ittle consideration for parents. Parking is terrible. A stairwell project caused campus traffic problems and blocked the only covered entrance for 6 months+. Lower school starts much earlier than other elementary schools (7:45 a.m.). Parents are severely nickeled and dimed, almost daily! This can add up to thousands if you have 2+ children! Most events are during school hours which is tough if you work. Kids feel excluded if their parents cannot attend. If you're a parent that cannot volunteer or donate often, don't choose Trinty. However, I have no complaints about the academics thanks to wonderful teachers. Trinity offers many specials including art, music, and Spanish. The children attend many field trips and have plays in the library almost monthly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Trinity is a great school with a lot of potential as long as it keeps focused on the foundation it was built on. It would be nice to see more respect for the Trinity dream. There are a lot hardworking believers at Trinity--let's say thanks and support them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

Parking is awful, drop off and pick up are awful, be prepared for thousand dollar field trips and hundreds of dollars for school supplies (like a $25 gift card to Lakeshore Learning? Is that really a school supply?) Test scores are low, class size is high, the school grade has dropped. The principal is rarely seen. I would never suggest this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

My 4 year old is in Pre-K there, my 6 year old is in Kinder. This school is awesome. As a former teacher (highschool), I am extremely impressed by how they managed to keep my kids interested in the classes and subjects, sothat they were both begging to do homework and learn. Pre-K is not just baby sitting, itis a full 6 hour class and the kids worked on counting, reading science etc and they love it. My 4 year old was able to read by the end of his first year in Pre-K, he will go to his second year of Pre-K already able to read, and Kindergarten completely literate. My 6 year old kindergarten aged child learned to read there and devours books. They were both sad when summer came. They look forward to next year. The teachers are excellent! We love them all!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 10, 2006

Trinity School for Children was a lifeline for my child. When she enrolled as a 2nd grade student she was reading below grade level. She was painfully shy, and had very little interest in education. The Staff and Administration has made her evolve personally as well as academically. She now thrives on excellence! The curriculum interrelates real world occurrences in their learning experiences. The students regularly participate in field studies. The field studies are designed to link classroom instruction to events and functions that take place in the world. This concept truly makes learning much more interesting, fun and memorable for the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

I feel that my son has really flourished at Trinity, thanks to some very caring and involved teachers. I do however have a few issues with the school administration. Parking is a huge problem and nothing is done to make it easier for the parents. The Admin is very disorganized. School grade was an A now it's a B- no answer as to why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

Quality of the academic program: moderate - It seems the school's original philosophy has changed, and they now have sacrificed quality individual teaching for a larger volume of students. Thus more students, more classes per grade and less attention for the ones that need it the most. Availability of extracurricular activities: Excellent Level of parent involvement: Excellent, although it seems like its the same people getting the job done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

I have two children that are in K and 1st grade. The teachers are passionate about their work and take the time to get to know each of my children, always pushing them to acheive more. My kindergartner is reading and my first grader is studying multiplication because she is ready. These teachers individualize the curriculum, the principal met with me the same day I asked to talk to her and my children are happy and learning. This is a phenominal place. I am eternally greatful to the faculty at Trinity and the leadership of their principal, Madeline O'Dea.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

this school has no structure and several students have gone backwards in curriculum after attending the school for 2 or more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 29%
White 40% 42%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 152%N/A49%
Male 148%N/A51%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 213%N/A59%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%67%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2402 W Osborne Ave
Tampa, FL 33603
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 874-2402

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




RTM Academy
Tampa, FL



Beacon Academy
Tampa, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT