Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity School For Children - Lower Division

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

74 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2005

We are in our 5th year at Trinity and we feel 'privileged' to be there. This school academically is superior with the added luxury of additional opportunities for sports, the arts and plenty of welcome parental involvement. To address the privious comment about the school not be diversified, that is ridiculous. You need only visit the school to see the vast amount of different students with huge minority quotas. One of the nicest things about the school is the diversity it offers. I have nothing but good things to say expecially about the staff and principal. First Rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

This school is not for minorities. It does not offer diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

This school has a close knit, family feel. Children develop socially, and feel very comfortable with the teachers and staff. This school is one of the best Charter schools in this county. It goes up through 8th grade. There are lots of field studies opportunities for children to have hands on experiences outside of the classroom. Parent involvement is highly encouraged, and is a positive factor in the success of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

Great school, nice area, good staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Bankstreet program is a practical approach to child development. Parent involvement is as good as I've seen at any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This school is a very loving and nurturing environment. Though they seem to focus more on the children's social development then they do on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

Trinity School for Children is a wholesome, educational environment that is condusive for any child who is willing to learn. The educational premise is based on the Bank Street philosophy and primarily teaches mostly hands-on, critical thinking concepts. The testing of the children that attend this school usually test higher and with more accuracy. The teachers are exceptionally talented. The principal is phenominal and a great administrator. The school is roughly five years old and has surpassed many other schools in the county. Parents must complete a minimum number of volunteer hours to the school/community. Students wear uniforms. School has a great athletic program. For the last few years, the school has received an A from the department of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

This is a wonderful school and is only a few years old. Is improving every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

We just completed our first year at Trinity and it exceeded our expectations. Our daughter s first few years of education were Montessori based and we were looking for a hands-on approach to learning as well as a safe, nurturing place in which she was encouraged to use her creativity. Trinity has given this and more to our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

My daughter has been at Trinity from the day it opened. She has grown so much academically as well as socially in the 5 years that she has been there. The adminstration and staff are so involved and so committed to the education of the entire child. Parent Involvement is critical at this school and we have a group of really involved parents who are committed to the philosphy of the school. Trinity is a school where the students feel safe and love coming to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2003

Last year we were fortunate enough for her to attend Trinity.As the year started my daughter was not coping with the change of schools. At 12 it's hard to accept change. Her two teachers made her feel her value in the school. Mrs O'Dea also gave her a reason to want to be there. This school has been a Godsend. Teachers, staff and parents respect each other and work towards the same goal. 'Our children first!' They learn to not only respect each other, but that the community we live in is very important. It's an unbelievable school and all children should have the oppurtunity to learn this way. The best decision we made for our daughter deciding to send her to Trinity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Madeline O'Dea is a dream to any parent and their children. This school has shown my children the true meaning of community, respect, education, guidance and future. I have been a parent since the opening of Trinity's doors. It is by far and away the best decision I have ever made on behalf of my children. My children are getting more than an academic education. They are learning how to become spectacular adults in addition to receiving a Grade A education. Thank you Madeline, board members, faculty & staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2003

We are starting our third year at Trinity. It is a wonderful school. If you want your child to get in start them at age 3 in the EC program. I did not want this for my child because I thought he was too young. He loves it and looks forward to going everyday. They have started a mandatory $500 fee for enrichment and this can only make the program better. The test scores are under inflated because they do not study for the tests. The children work hard and are proud of their achievements. Parents are very involved.


Posted May 2, 2003

Our girls love Trinity and so do we. The teachers truly care about my kids and take the time to give each of our girls the individual attention they need. The school's open-door policy allows me to participate fully in my kids' education and the teachers really listen. This school is a wonderful place for children to learn and families to grow. If you believe 'It takes a community to raise a child' and that there is more to learning than memorizing facts, then Trinity (which stands for education, family, comunity) is the school for you. We love it!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 29%
White 40% 42%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 152%N/A49%
Male 148%N/A51%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 213%N/A59%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%67%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2402 W Osborne Ave
Tampa, FL 33603
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 874-2402

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




RTM Academy
Tampa, FL



Beacon Academy
Tampa, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT