Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Tampa, FL
Students enrolled: 786
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chiles Elementary School 1

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This school needs robots not kids. Like someone else said in the reviews, if you don't have a perfect child than don't waste your time with this school and with all those long parent teacher meetings, where the blame is going to be in you (for not parenting best) and on your child, for he/she is not obedient at all. The reason, why they got high test scores in fifth grade state tests because, if they find a kid who would need more help, they start mentally torture the kid and the parent up to to the point that parent would change the school. It happen with me and it happen with my neighbors. All they need very obedient little robots who must follow the teacher's commands. Otherwise the poor child is in trouble. Parents, my best advice to you is when your child come home with repeated complaints from the same teacher, please don't blame your child right away, rather, think outside the box and observe the teacher's behavior carefully. See if she is trying to compete your child as is he/she is of her age. To this day, after 2 years of my son passing first grade from Ms xxx, I repent now that why did not I complaint to the county about his teacher's behavior towards him, that was discriminative, discouraging and rude! As the youngest kid in his class room he had difficulty to write and read (though w=he was excellent with math and science), she would made him sit on the playground, during break time, in-front of kids who are playing right in-front him, and would ask him to finish his writing work. Is not it a mental torture? Than what it is? I talked to the principal who simply covered the teacher and repeatedly blame my child for poor behavior. Excuse me, he is only 6 years old (perhaps 60 years younger than you) and you want him to act and obey commands just like you. Looks like neither Ms xx and nor Principal has ever taken child psychology classes during their teaching training.

Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful place! It's an A school for a reason!!! The new principal is so committed to the students, the teachers and the school as a whole. The gifted program is first rate and the special opportunities are some of the best in the county!! We are so happy at Chiles, we know our daughter is in a great place! It's like they say, attitude reflects leadership!


Chiles Elementary School 1

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
There is no genuine concern for children or their education at Chiles. If your child is not "perfect" then don't waste your time enrolling them at this school! Teaching is just a 9-5 job for these teachers there is no love & excitement in teaching children. The administration is not only unhelpful they place all blame on the children and talk down to them! This school is in need of change! Chiles needs a new principal, assist principal, and teachers that really love educating young minds! Not all teachers are so apathetic, however there are some that shouldn't be allowed to teach. They want little robots instead of children in their classrooms. There are so many outstanding schools with staff that sincerely care than to have to send your child Chiles. Keep looking you will be glad you did!

Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
I can't even begin to tell you how amazing this school is.....teachers, past principal and the new one!!! The opportunities and "extras" at this school are unbelievable! We came from a local private school where we were paying out the nose and not getting even half the education my children have gotten at Chiles.... especially if you have a child that qualifies for the gifted program. The county wide programs like Battle of the Books, Tropicana Speech, Odyssey of the Mind cannot be experienced in the private schools. Not to mention the amazing bells and chorus program. I will definitely miss this place when my years here are done!

Chiles Elementary School 2

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
Principle from 2012 was horrible she allows the teachers to disrespect parents. She doesn't follow the school board rules. I'm glad she was replaced there is a god!


Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has adapted very well to which has been her very first school! The staff members that have worked with her are very dedicated and determined to exceed expectations. The school has a lot of activities aimed towards family involvement. These are offered during evenings and weekends, which as a working parent, allows me to participate in such events.

Chiles Elementary School 1

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
My child has been harassed every since he started this school. He has been push and called names by other students, but the teachers and principle turn a blind eye. This school has a sure problem with bullying and the staff does nothing about it.

Chiles Elementary School 2

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
This school is in major need of fair leadership! The children need to become the priority!


Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
My children have attended Chiles since the day that it opened. This is a tremendous school. The children are encouraged to use their imaginations and creativity. The teachers give and seek feedback with parents while providing love and discipline to the children. I have always felt that my child is safe and secure while I am at work. I am made to feel welcome and encouraged to visit or volunteer. You can get spoiled having your children in a school like this.

Chiles Elementary School 1

Posted September 16, 2010
- a teacher
very poor principal at this school. Has her favorites and all others are out. What a shame too. Chiles has gone down hill since she took over.Wonderful teachers and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chiles Elementary School
16541 Tampa Palms Boulevard West, Tampa, FL  33647
(813) 558-5422
Last modified Chiles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chiles Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top