Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

847 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chiles Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
It is true. The learning has lost its beauty at chiles. The students are all the same and conform to whatever is expected and are afraid to challenge their creativity. Everything is about test scores and being the best rather, than the joy of learning and fun behind it. Not only are the students robots, but the principal has the teachers as her little puppets. She has no sense of reality. My daughter came home crying everyday and both her father and I are teachers. She has always had a love of learning until the new principal changed the philosophy of learning at chiles. It is so sad to see such a beautiful school in a beautiful neighborhood forget what learning is all about. The kids eyes don't light up anymore when they learn something new. They are afraid to make a move. No hands on learning and nothing fun anymore. The beauty of learning is gone here. And coming from a teacher in the district , there are way better places out there with supportive principals and teachers to encourage the love of learning again. We have transferred our daughter and her eyes light up again. Yayyyy

Chiles Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Botts is excellent and remains one of my daughters favorites. She was loving and made her learning fun and memorable


Chiles Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are expected to follow the philosophy of the principal and she has it all wrong and taken the fun and love of learning out of the achool

Chiles Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had over three hours of homework every night. It was busy work and nothing ever fun. Simply worksheets and math page after page

Chiles Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
The students persist because if they are not successful they are treated differently. If they don't succeed in a test, they will be treated different than those that do.


Chiles Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Yes. They have set high standards with respect. The stud nets understand respect is needed for learning

Chiles Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
The school is not sympathetic towards the kids at all. They are all robots and conform to whatever is desired by the principal and teachers. No creative children

Chiles Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
No faith in the kids and all the love of learning is gone. It is so sad.


Chiles Elementary School 1

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This school needs robots not kids. Like someone else said in the reviews, if you don't have a perfect child than don't waste your time with this school and with all those long parent teacher meetings, where the blame is going to be in you (for not parenting best) and on your child, for he/she is not obedient at all. The reason, why they got high test scores in fifth grade state tests because, if they find a kid who would need more help, they start mentally torture the kid and the parent up to to the point that parent would change the school. It happen with me and it happen with my neighbors. All they need very obedient little robots who must follow the teacher's commands. Otherwise the poor child is in trouble. Parents, my best advice to you is when your child come home with repeated complaints from the same teacher, please don't blame your child right away, rather, think outside the box and observe the teacher's behavior carefully. See if she is trying to compete your child as is he/she is of her age. To this day, after 2 years of my son passing first grade from Ms xxx, I repent now that why did not I complaint to the county about his teacher's behavior towards him, that was discriminative, discouraging and rude! As the youngest kid in his class room he had difficulty to write and read (though w=he was excellent with math and science), she would made him sit on the playground, during break time, in-front of kids who are playing right in-front him, and would ask him to finish his writing work. Is not it a mental torture? Than what it is? I talked to the principal who simply covered the teacher and repeatedly blame my child for poor behavior. Excuse me, he is only 6 years old (perhaps 60 years younger than you) and you want him to act and obey commands just like you. Looks like neither Ms xx and nor Principal has ever taken child psychology classes during their teaching training.

Chiles Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful place! It's an A school for a reason!!! The new principal is so committed to the students, the teachers and the school as a whole. The gifted program is first rate and the special opportunities are some of the best in the county!! We are so happy at Chiles, we know our daughter is in a great place! It's like they say, attitude reflects leadership!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chiles Elementary School
16541 Tampa Palms Boulevard West, Tampa, FL  33647
(813) 558-5422
Last modified Chiles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chiles Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top