Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davidsen Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1037 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2010

i have been in davidsen for 6th grade now going to 7th grade but the school in the inside looks bad they need to clean it up more one of my teachers were horable i cant believe i went through 6th grade with him there is ALOT of drama and sometimes fights and the uniform is pretty good the principle dosent care hes going to change the school by having no teamss! i recommend for all middle schoolers MARTINEZ MIDDLE SCHOOL! martinez is clean safe environment great teaches nice friends good principal and the BEST ovrall! :)


Posted January 20, 2010

the teachres r so good at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

My child is new to the school. She is in 6th grade and wants to fit in with the fashion that girls are wearing today and she would like to make some new friends if she can. The teachers she has this year are ok.The uniform code is not so bad except you have to put a lot of money out for things they need.I think she will do fine as long as she stays out of trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I'm now going into 8th grade at davidsen. It has been a wonderful two years. My 6th grade my math score was a 3, and my math teacher in 7th grade brought it up 2 levels, I now have a 5 on my math fcat and will be doing 9th grade level math this year thanks to my 7th grade teacher. Sure theres drama at davidsen but you just have to work around it. Because I went to davidsen, i will remeber middle school as a great memory when im older. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2009

davidson is an awesome school. i have tons of friends!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2009

I love this school so much! I transfered there from Farnell in 7th grade. It has great Elective courses, even due to the budget cuts, and all the teachers really care about the students. All I really don't like is the uniform shirts, and how the new principal is planning to change most of the school, by having us possibly go into full uniform with Khaki pants. All that causes is just more parents spending more money on pairs of pants that their kids will grow out of in a year, and will only be wearing at school. Other than that, Davidsen stands up to being an A school. 2009-2010 year is going to be awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2009

I love Davidsen! It's a great school and there are so many nice people there. The teachers care about you and they want to make sure you get a good education. I wsih I would've went there for 6th grade!! The only thing I dont really like about Davidsen is the principal. He is from a bad school and transfered to our school and is planning on changing everything. But all in all I <3 my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I freakin love this school and i love all of the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

As a parent I was totally impressed with my daughters 6th grade experience. She had a great lang arts teacher. During 7th grade she developed into a very confident math student. During 8th grade she developed a love of math and history. I wish I could say the same for science and lang arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

Davidsen Middle school is the best school ever! You have respect from all the teachers and you get alot of good friends!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

i went to davidson last year and two years before that. Davidsen is a great school with great tachers, but while i was at school there were ALOT of fights.


Posted March 14, 2008

Davidsen middle school is a great school. It's very clean, and the teachers teach alot! I love being in this school! Alot of fun. My teachers are really nice to me, and they do fun activities with the classroom. We all have our opinions but parents, middle school is a big change for 6th graders. We're so used to elementary schhol that we've grown to it. It's a bit harder in middle school with all the new changes. But it's going to be great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

I have a 6th grader attending Davidsen Middle and he is quickly falling behind the district average in every subject. He was an average student at Westchase Ele. and now needs extensive tutoring-which can cost a fortune. The teacher quality is below average and I am currently looking into other school options-charter, magnet, even moving out of state. A good education is key for a successful future. Davidsen Middle is robbing my son of a successful future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

This school is terrible and unorganized. My daughter has been harrassed repeatedly. She tried to fix a relationship with a friend, it lasted for a few months then the troubles started again so she asked the guidance counselor if she could have another peer mediation but they said that she wasted too much time the last time. Also I have sent a healthy kids program form many times and they lost it several times. The school also ignores the drescode when it comes to skirts. You see many girls with their shirts longer than their skirts. Also the school is not specific with date of certain events until last minute. When I took a visit to this school I was shocked. All I want is for the school to buckledown
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I am a student at Davidsen and have had two great years there I am now going into the 8th grade and can't wait till it starts. I have had some of my favorite teachers at this school, and I think that the teachers are very helpful and understanding. When I came to the school I had a C average and now I have a A average and I'm in National Junior Honor Society.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2007

My son will be entering the 8th grade in 2007/08, overall I have been very impressed with Davidsen. Teacher commitment/quality remains high, discipline is well enforced and uniforms remain mandatory. The school systems policy of placing kids into groups based on their individual academic achievement is wonderful. Those kids truly interested in learning and achievement are rewarded by placement into honors programs and not forced to have their classroom learning opportunities compromised by kids with disciplinary/behavioral issues. The school band is outstanding as are intramural sports . That this middle school manages to maintain a disciplined and achievement oriented focus, in an era where our young people have so many distractions, is a major achievement of it's faculty , administration and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

I just started working at this school last year and have been very impressed with the commitment from the faculty. Students with academic problems are given major attention and support. I did note that there is an overall low tolerance for students with behavioral problems, especially when the parent(s) enable and/or make excuses. I believe this to be a good thing, as it keeps order and control for the ones who are taking it seriously and getting the right kind of support from their parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2007

If your child is a challenge in any way (behaviorally or acedemically) the teachers and/or administrative staff does not want to be bothered. It's like pulling teeth to get any help from anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Its the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2006

Teachers seem to care less about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

401 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 29%
White 37% 42%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brent Mcbrien
Fax number
  • (813) 558-5299

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10501 Montague St
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 558-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT