Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farnell Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1378 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2009

As a parent, I have to say that I agree with the posting by the parent on May 14th. There is definitely no extra help available. As a concerned parent, I also found that the teachers often became angry when you questioned them about your child's grades or school lessons. The principal (Mr. Cobb) and the other administrators are not great because they stand by the teachers no matter what. I believe there is some truth to what some of the students are saying in regards to the teachers and have witnessed it for myself. Some of the teachers are not as computer savvy and often mix up the grades. I had to get my daughter to keep copies of all her papers because the teachers were misplacing grades and not recording them properly. Avoid the chorus all together because IT IS HORRIBLE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

If your child needs any extra help, good luck.This school's administration does not hold their teacher's accountable for anything.An online grading system is set up so that parents may monitor the child's grades but the teacher's are not required to participate and most don't.There is a glich in their computer system that randomly blocks parents emails to teachers so you never know if a teacher received an email.As an active parent who has one child with outstanding grades and one child who needs extra assistance,this school is only an 'A' school for those children who are self motivated. For the rest, your child will get lost. This school has a serious lack of administrative guidance and control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

Great school, but I think students should be given more notice about upcoming events
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

my son goes to farnell, i think the teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

i when there... and i can tell is a really good school !!! i mean like i learn a lot and i realy liked my teacher they were friendly and also help me a lot because i didnt speak english back there and they did their best when i got to high school i got all my classes advance and AP =)


Posted December 23, 2008

We were very disappointed with this school. After 1 semester in the 7th grade we pulled our daughter and put her in privates school. She was in all honors classes and the curriculum was so below level in our opinions. She was not challenged whatsoever. I would not recommend this school for various reasons, but I will just say that education should be the most important reason, and the education there is not up to par, in our opinions and in our daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This school is way overcrowded. The enrollment is double what the school was meant to hold. The teachers are great but overworked & the principal is clueless. There is no effective discipline with the problem students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

It was a pretty good school.. I Went there from 6th-8th grade. I Still go back to see my orchestra teacher Mrs. Garrison. I Was there for 2 years with Mrs. Williams as the principal and then Mr. Cobb took over for my last year. I Must say I Found Mr. Cobb to be an unfair principal. Other then that many of the teachers were very helpfull. There were a few though who really really did not have a clue about what they were doing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

I have had one child graduate from Farnell last year and I have one child still there. Both my kids have done great. The kids are tough, but I believe that it is in every middle school. My oldest child was well prepared for high school. He had to have some help with writing and Farnell did awesome with him. The only issue i see is in pe, is where there seems to be trouble. Maybee too many kids for that situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

There is a total lack of guidance and tolerance for sixth graders making the huge transition from elementary school to middle school, even for advanced kids. Teachers don't seem to realize that they are not only responsible for teaching their curriculum, but also for teaching the students how things are done in middle school the school's orientation a day or two before school started was very unorganized, mismanaged and uninformative. Making matters worse is the school's inability or refusal to post academic information homework assignments, test scores, etc. online for the student's and parents to have easy access to. The school has a website and each teacher has their own web page, but they are not required to actually utilize this really important tool. Another negative, there is no required P.E. for sixth graders only 7th and 8th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I love this school sooo much my mom asked me if I would like to go to another school and I told her 'no way!!!' the teachers are great along with everyone who goes there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2006

Great school! Awesome teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

The teachers at farnell need to be more proactive. A more positive attititude with childern will get you more results. Teaching good behavior and respect is good but also teaching cildern to like school through support from people who are suppose to be mentors is so much more inportand. Childern tend to do so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

I find the acedemic programs are challenging and focus on high school readiness. The communication level is good between teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

This school has wonderful teachers who are just dying to give their kids information on whatever they need to know. This shool has many science facilities that many others dont have. Students also have an opprotunity to join the extramural sport activities offered at this school. There is also a wide variety of clubs that can enhance a childs learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

The new principal has a lot learn regarding what his repsonsibilities are both in a legal sense and in a practical matter. He is not readily approachable and needs to work on gaining a better sense of his duties at Farnell. Most of the teachers are adequate yet there are always the select few that don't even seem like they like children or know how to properly relate to them. On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give it a 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Excellent school-very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

Started out being impressed with the strict discipline format and uniforms, but the teachers and staff don't uphold the rules and the kids take advantage of that. I like the advanced classes and the curriculum seems to be on target. Don't be fooled by the 'Clubs' that they have. Each student is required to pick a club and they usually don't get their choice and are stuck with a club that they have to attend but don't want to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

I feel the teachers at Farnell care about the students. The principal is wonderful. I have enjoyed the past two years my son is has been a student at Farnell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

Farnell is a great school and I have had no problems with the school or the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

484 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

483 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

474 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

474 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

471 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

392 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

360 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 55%
Hispanic 25%
Black 8%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%67%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN COBB
Fax number
  • (813) 356-1644

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13912 9 Eagles Drive
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 356-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT