Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middleton High School

Public | 9-12 | 1135 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2007

I had awesome teachers throughout my whole Middleton experience, but my Senior year's college transition was made a mess by some of the poor Student Affair's Staff. It was always a pain to find time with a guidance counselor, even if you tried for a week straight. This school is rough, but it definitely prepares you for the real world and forces you to take your education into your own hands. Middleton also helped me understand poverty from history's causes in the United States. I found my high school experience to be quite fulfilling.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 4, 2006

This is an awesome school. I'm in the Engineering Magnet, and it's one of the best programs in Hillsborough County. All of the teachers here rock! They make learning fun and enjoyable. I love Middleton!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2006

I attend this school, I must say that the campus is beautiful and well-maintained. Most of the teachers are very involved and do a good job overall. The staff keeps good tabs on the students and they discipline us fairly. There are also plenty of great extracurricular activities, I know that our CAP and AFJROTC programs are thriving. Middleton is a great high school! The other students are also really great, overall everyone is polite and personable. We all have plenty of opportunities to participate in anything we want.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2006

My son is involved in the JROTC as well as the Civil Air Patrol program. Both are outstanding programs. He is enrolled in the Aerospace Technology Magnet program as a freshman. He absolutely loves the school and has had a great first year HS experience. The teachers are very involved and quite knowledgeable. The focus at the school is to graduate high achievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

My child is in the excellent computer magnet program and if is was not for the magnet programs, this school should be shut down. It will never get better than an 'F' and is failing to serve the local students unfortunate enough to have this as their neighborhood school. The local students are for the most part only attending to spend time with thier friends. The administration, other than the magnet program, is horribly inadequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I went to middleton high school and here is the truth. The staff dosen't do any thing all day. They sit around in their offices playing solitaire. You should hope to never have to talk to any one in the office, because they are more willing to attack your views then to help you. Little or no attention if any is given to the magnet students. With out a parent present staff members will not assist a student. Every thing that surrounds that school is athletics. If your not a football player your not any one. As far as education goes the computer science teachers are very intelligent but are often restricted by the absence of funds. If i could go back I would pick any other school. A school were people can be treated equally and not based on race or soly athletic ability.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2006

I have been less than impressed by the ability of staff to keep up with the number of students. Further, access to text books has been an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

I think this is a very good school in both acadmemics and sports. Its fights everyday at this school but you sort of get used to seeing those little kids get knocked out by others. But overall it is a very nice school and I look to be sending all my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2005

8/26/05 I think Middleton is a wonderful high school and I very much appreciate the extra effort and attention given to the magnet students. My daughter is a top student there and is well prepared to gain acceptance at top universities across the country. However, Middleton's new principal has much to work on. My concern today is just getting thru the process of calling the school for a sick day or early release. I had to resort to calling the school district's superintendent's office to relay a message to the school. This problem has occurred every time that my daughter has been sick, which thankfully has only been about 3 times in the last 3 years. I don't intend to go thru the process again!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2005

Middleton High School is a beautiful addition to the surrounding community and was very much needed. I believe the benefits of it's magnet programs are strong and need to be publicized more and continually enhanced or it will ultimately become the inner city school that it replaced. The over use and crowding of temporary buildings on this new facility's campus is a big drawback that raises the ongoing security and safety issuses that need to be addressed and enhanced! However, the overall school pride by its faculty and students is always very much apparent, positive and strong with great participation in most of its sports, music and other extracurricular activities programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

The kids here are very well-behaved and it is a very organized environment. The school is very attractive and the administrative offices are clean and well-decorated. I am in high schools all the time and this one definitely stood out to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

294 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 23%
Hispanic 18% 29%
White 14% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 59%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%67%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%0%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Owen Young
Fax number
  • (813) 233-3364

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 N 22nd St
Tampa, FL 33610
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 233-3360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT