Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 647 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

My kids have loved going to Heritage and have loved all of their teachers. The teachers really seem to care here at this school. We love the smaller classroom sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

My family has thoroughly enjoyed having our kids at this school. It's a hidden treasure off Cross Creek Blvd. The teachers are dedicated and loving to the children. I witness the teachers having solid relationships with children in their own classes and many other children of other grades. The administration and staff are also so friendly. Mr. Alvarez and Mrs. Stover are solid leaders and their office staff are wonderful and friendly. The whole school environment feels like a family. We are honored to be apart of it! The PTA is strong and hardworking as evident by the awards recently received at district level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

This school has been a blessing. My family moved to this school this year and my kids had problems at other schools but the teachers here have helped them especially my boys 5th grade teacher mrs.beckman. She somehow has my boy liking to go to school and wanting to do good. I hope my girl gets her for a teacher next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

We moved to this area a year ago. Heritage is a great school! My son has had a fantastic experience and loves school. The teachers and staff are great! They are very friendly and it is easy to see that the students are their first priority. I always feel welcome when I am visiting the school. This is a great learning environment. Class sizes are great too! We are very happy to be a part of the Bobcat family! I would recommend this school to anyone moving into this area. Compared to other schools in the immediate area, this one has smaller class sizes and a very attentive, friendly faculty and staff whose love of children is apparent in all that they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

They should rename this school the nightmare of New Tampa. The absolute most unprofessional school I have ever seen in my 27 year career. Staff members fighting each other in the parking lot. Teachers backstabbing one another. Administration at this school does not care or support the students and staff. ESE teachers screaming in students and staff member faces. A complete disgrace to the teaching profession. The few remaining great teachers have moved on. I will do the same. I hope parents in New Tampa area will see this and find a decent school. My three years of horror are over. If you must stay pick your cheek teachers wisely
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 22, 2013

This is our first year at this school and I cannot express my disappointment in the lack of leadership that administration shows when a teacher is failing to properly teach a class. I have been to speak with both administrators on several occasions and they have both denied that what I say is happening is happening even when I have shown cell phone video ~ how can you deny it has happened when a parent has shown you a video of it happening? I have 3 children at this school and we have issues in two classes, however only 1 teacher is really bad and inept the others are trying but without administration backing our teachers we are setting our teachers up for failure. there is virtually no parent involvement and I would say administration likes it that way they have expressed several times that they would prefer me not be at the school so often, unfortunately I will continue to come until we are able to change schools hopefully before another lost year of education occurs. if you are lucky enough to get a good teacher and don't come to the school you will have no problems but if your involved I'm sure you too will be asking to be changed to another school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

I must say it is sad that the reviews of parents are deleted when they r not saying how great the school is! The principal does nothing to make sure the teachers are taking care of their classes, call parents and students lairs . Our kindergarten teacher was great ! But I must say that is about it. My child has not moved forward at all this year. If u are able to choice to a different school that is your best choice for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

I have two children at Heritage Elementary. My oldest daughter has attended Heritage Elementary since Kindergarten. She graduates this year. She is already dreading her last day of school. I also have a 3rd grader at Heritage Elementary. My girls are very different learners yet Heritage has helped them both achieve straight A's. My daughter also has incredible bonds with many of her teachers. They care for her personal well being as well as her academic well being. Class sizes are small so each child gets personal attention. Only the best teachers teach at Heritage. I a nephew at another public school in Hillsborough county and he does not have the individual attention my child gets at Heritage. In fact, we are moving out of Hillsborough county this year and I am choicing my 3rd grader to Heritage for her 4th and 5th grade year. I cannot say enough about Ms. Donley and Ms. Lilius. They watch over my girls at school which makes me feel like they are well cared for in my absence. I feel my voice is heard at Heritage and will be very sad to leave this school in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS GREAT MY SON "JESSE" HAS ATTENDED HERE FOR 2 YEARS AND THIS IS THE BEST SCHOOL IN HILLSBOUROUGH COUNTY. THEY ARE SO HELPFUL AND KIND. "JESSE ENJOYS HIS TEACHER "MS. CORDER" SHE IS A GREAT TEACHER SHE KEEPS ME WELL INFORMED ON HIS PROGRESS AND HE HAS COME A LONG WAY SINCE BEING IN HER CLASS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Exceptional Staff!!!! Our son has been attending Heritage Elementary for the past four years. We can't express how deeply we appreciate the involvement of our son's teacher, Mrs. Schroeder. She really cares about each one of her students. She knows her students. She knows how each one learners and cares to help them to grow & excel academically. We love her!! Not only does this school abound with caring teacher, but the staff is amazing. The front office staff is warm and welcoming. They always have a friendly smile & eager to help parents when they walk in. The librarian is phenomenal!!! She loves what she does so much that she makes the love of reading infecious. This school has a staff this is involved. I only wish more parents would be as excited about thier childrens education as the teachers here. This school is very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

I graduated from Heritage Elementary School in 2008 and i am now entering High school. I enjoyed Heritage very much, as did my parents, they found that the teachers would work with you as long as you were willing to work with them. While I attened Heritage I had the same principal until 5th Grade when she relocated. I'm not sure how the new principle is handling Heritage but if shes(or hes) anything like the old one then Heritage should still be a school that works with the students so that they can acheive and surpass their potential. Go Bobcats!


Posted February 4, 2011

THIS SCHOOL IS ONE OF THE BEST MY KIDS HAVE BEEN IN, THE STAFF ARE SO SWEET AND VERY HELPFUL THEY ARE ALL DOING A GREAT WORK IN NOT ONLY THE KIDS AT SCHOOL BUT AT HOME WITH THE FAMILY THEY SEE A FAMILY IN THE COMMUNITY INNEED AND HELP, THEY PUT THE KIDS FIRST AND I SO THANK THEM FOR THIS KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

We moved from Alberta Canada and I find this school to be equally as diverse and welcoming to students from other countries. Teachers and admin staff are very accommodating and friendly. The school facility is safe and well maintained. My daughter says good things about her new teacher and she always has nice stories about her whole day in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

My son fels safe and ejoys his teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

My son attends Heritage Elementary school and has Mrs. Berschauer as his teacher. After nine years in the Army, I recently got out. Because of the military, my two boys have attended no less than 12 schools in the last five years. I am also finishing up a divorce an my son lives with his mom. I bring all this up, because I have never had the pleasure of meeting a teacher like Mrs. Berschauer. I contacted her a few weeks into the school year, because my divorce led to a lack of communication about school between my ex-wife and I. Since that time, I have been impressed more and more with each passing week. From my first contact, Mrs. B began sending me weekly updates on everything from how my son was doing to every activity that takes place in the classroom. I wish there was more room to write.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

My niece attends this school and so do all her friends. They could not imagine a better school atmosphere. It is very diverse. There are children from all over the world. The student teacher ratio is the lowest in Tampa and children receive lots of extra attention. P.S. if you are racist you should look elsewhere this schools is packed with Indians, Africans, Arabs, Chinese, and Hispanics, along with a equal number of Caucasians and African Americans. It is very diverse in a very well to do neighborhood and is only at 50% capacity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

This school has a great open door policy with the VP, however there seems to be a breakdown when it comes to the teachers. The campus is beautiful, the teachers are friendly but there is some sort of breakdown when it comes to the academic portion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

My daughter loves her school. We moved here at the beginning of the year and my daughter started Kindergarten at Heritage. We have loved it from the beginning. She has had caring teachers who want to see her excel. No overcrowding whatsoever like some nearby schools. They do not push the kids like other schools esp just to achieve higher test scores. I am a frequent volunteer and I see her teacher encouraging kids from all levels of learning. It is a very positive school and if given the choice, would choose NOT to leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

We have two children at Heritage and have been there from when they opened the doors in 2003. It is a great school with room to grow no over crowded classrooms. The teachers and staff are great and encourage parent envolvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

We moved from West Palm Beach last August and were hesitant on the Public School as my daughter was starting Kindergarten and had been rated gifted. While Palm Beach County has full time gifted programs for Kindergarten, Hillsborough County does not have any type of similar program for Kindergarten. However, at Heritage Elementary, my daughter's teacher and the Guidance Counselor worked towards creating a challenging and complete program for my daughter so that she takes some advanced lessons while still maturing, learning and growing with her age group. Her teacher has only been great and done so much for all her classroom, the school organizes great family events and programs. We are very happy with what Heritage Elementary is providing to our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 30%
Black 29%
White 29%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%67%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18201 East Meadows Road
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 740-4580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sand Pine Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT