Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 647 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2006

We moved from IL last year and were worried about the FL schools and their ratings. My son excelled in IL and hasn't skipped a beat since moving here. I've read some of the reviews about Heritage and can say of the cmoplaints that have been written, I have not noticed. What I have seen is caring, respectful and friendly people on staff. For those that complain about the 'teachers' and 'staff', perhaps instead of living in a 'blaming' society, you should realize YOU need to be more involved in your kids lives and not dump all their troubles on the teachers. Teachers are there to help and guide your children, not take over. No child will excel without your involvement. There is some lack of communication, but other than that, I have NO issues with my child at Heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

We recently moved from FL to TN. We had been at Heritage from day one. We absolutely loved the school. The staff is wonderful. Everyone there cared about your children even if they weren't the teacher. I really miss that school and all the help that was available to my kids. People really went out of their way to make all the kids feel safe and welcome. I would recommend this school to anyone with elementary aged children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

Recently moved from CA. My daughter is in 1st grade. She seems to be doing good in the classroom. great management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My student attended first two years at Heritage and is now atending second grade in Canella Elem. Heritage showed very poor communication and lack of concern from teachers and staff. No help or guidance offered for my ADHD student from teachers or guidance. I saw little to no academic progress at this school but have seen improvement since relocating. Glad I got him out before it was too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

Poor cooperation from teachers and staff. My child was allowed to slip significantly with his grades. He almost failed. I contacted the guidance counselor as well as the vice principle and nothing was done. My son has since been relocated and is now achieving far more than he ever did at Heritage. I feel this is because his new school did everything possible to bring him up to speed with several programs available to public schools. These programs were available to Heritage elementary school as well; they just chose to do nothing. My son was tested at Pride Elementary and a specialized program was made for him. His self esteem has improved and he is doing very well. I attribute this solely to the intervention of the teachers and staff of Pride Elementary. Don't send your children to Heritage Elementary, YOU WILL REGRET IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2005

Beautiful, new school! Small classes. Knowledgable teachers and staff. Teachers always have children's interests in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Heritage Elementary School is a great school especially if you like a low student/teacher ratio. The students enjoy art, chorus and etc. for extracurricular activities. Both pareents can be seen volunteering at this school. The teachers provide not only great education but they also meet their students emotional needs as well. The only problem I see for the 2005-2006 school year, is the fact that Heritage will not only house their students but they will be accomodating the students that are zoned for Sand Pine Elementary. The reason for this is that the construction will not be completed til 1/2006. To have twice as many students as they had this year seems to me to be quite a big problem for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

I love the staff at Heritage, very caring. Principal has open door policy. Diverse student population. The academic performance has been a huge disappointment. New Tampa schools are supposed to be the best but so far Heritage has not measured up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

103 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 30%
Black 29%
White 29%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%67%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18201 East Meadows Road
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 740-4580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Sand Pine Elementary School
Wesley Chapel, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT