Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Tampa, FL
Students enrolled: 647
 

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Heritage Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
Some are very unprofessional and poorly educated especially in special ed.Poor grammar and usage of unprofessional language.A complete disgrace to the teaching profession.

Heritage Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
there is a overall lack of respect and lack of determination at this school.Starting with the administration going all the way down to the lunch room staff


Heritage Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
once the school principal learns to respect her students faculty and staff maybe some students will be respected in return. The worst is special ed in the treatment of students and staff members.

Heritage Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
some teachers in the special ed department do not treat other faculty members or students fairly. Many reports against them for discrimination have been made.

Heritage Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
I have witnessed discrimination towards the students and staff including those with disabilities. Administration retaliates against their own staff regarding the mistreatment of the students and teachers to keep them from reporting the truth. Administration is totally immature and unprofessional. As a former faculty member , I can assure you they had many complaints made to the Hillsborough County School Board and the EEOC.


Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted June 14, 2015
- a community member
By far one of the worst schools in Hillsborough County as far as academics professionalism and overall school performance. Some of the teachers are not able to teach on the level that parents are expecting. Our children deserve so much better than this elementary school surprised the school board hasn't cleaned house yet starting with administration which is horrible. Parents choose wisely there are much better schools in New Tampa.An absolute disgrace to the teaching profession.

Heritage Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Tutors (paid by parents) help some students DURING SCHOOL HOURS AT THE CLASS!! Also these students get additional advantages and privileges during the tests. During SAT and FSA tests the students, who were signed up for tutoring, were taking to a separate classroom (from the rest of the students) and were allowed to use DICITIONARIES! The rest of the students on their own. Looks like their achievments are not so importants to an administration and teachers, since the good grades are achieved by students with tutoring programm, so the School's students grades overall look good. It seems like this School achieved its good "B" rate by udsing this unfair "Tutoring system". I don't know if the Schoold Board approved this practice. Maybe it's in whole Hillsborough County.

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
We relocated from Northern VA- July 2014. I was very nervous about my daughter starting 5th grade at a new school- where she did not know anyone.. However, after just a few days she adjusted well and started making new friends and loves her new school. Her teacher- Mrs. Beckmann is superb! She truly cares about each student and has excellent communication with me regarding my daughter's progress! Heritage also offers various clubs and programs- which my daughter loves- Chorus, Running Club and Peer Mediator. Thanks Heritage Elementary and Mrs, Beckmann for making my daughter's last year of elementary school an awesome experience!
4 people found this helpful


Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
My kids have loved going to Heritage and have loved all of their teachers. The teachers really seem to care here at this school. We love the smaller classroom sizes.
2 people found this helpful

Heritage Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My family has thoroughly enjoyed having our kids at this school. It's a hidden treasure off Cross Creek Blvd. The teachers are dedicated and loving to the children. I witness the teachers having solid relationships with children in their own classes and many other children of other grades. The administration and staff are also so friendly. Mr. Alvarez and Mrs. Stover are solid leaders and their office staff are wonderful and friendly. The whole school environment feels like a family. We are honored to be apart of it! The PTA is strong and hardworking as evident by the awards recently received at district level.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Heritage Elementary School
18201 East Meadows Road, Tampa, FL  33647
(813) 740-4580
Last modified Heritage Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Heritage Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top