Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
At the summer program offered at Lockhart Elementary, Jana researched butterflies and their habitats, created a schematic, and built a certified butterfly garden. Each day she shared all kinds of details about her new experiences. In the classroom she engaged in discussions that made it possible for her to reflect and make comparisons. This was excellent opportunity for her to be creative and exercise critical thinking skills in a real situation. She is very excited about starting her school year at Lockhart Elementary and I can't wait to hear about her new adventures. I am thankful for the teachers and staff members that made this program possible. I truly believe that programs like this are springboards to academic success. This program was empowering her as an independent learner. I am so very grateful!

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted June 18, 2012
- a community member
Lockhart Creative Science Centre provides opportunities for students to problem solve to engineer the future. The outdoor science labs are amazing. Students learn how to compost, build and maintain a butterfly garden and grow plants in a hydroponics garden.


Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
I love this school and their extracuricular activities. My kids have been in this school for their kindergarten year.

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted May 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted May 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 3

Posted January 09, 2007
- a parent
The academic quality of this school appears very low, pulling students mostly from the surrounding, lower socioeconomic community. The faculty and administrators are very friendly. The scope and variety of extracurricular activities is phenomenal--including violin, dance, singing, art, Latin, Spanish, steel drums, etc... Overall, I give the school very high marks for creating a varied extracurricular environment and friendly atmosphere, however the academics are lacking because it appears the teachers must teach to the lowest common denominator. Personally, I like the personal attention my child receives, therefore I'd endorse this school.


Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 4

Posted May 12, 2006
- a parent
teachers are nice, too many kids behind so that the kids who are on tract are not pushed to their potential. a lot of out of control kids at this school... practically no parent involvement

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School 4

Posted February 28, 2006
- a parent
Acdemics seem to be ok. My dd teacher is very involved and accessible. Great oppurtunities for xtra curricular activities but has very low parental involovement and seems somewhat disorganized. Principal is nice and friendly with parents and students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lockhart Elementary Magnet School
3719 North 17th Street, Tampa, FL  33610
(813) 276-5727
Last modified Lockhart Elementary Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lockhart Elementary Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top