Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School

Public | K-5 | 362 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2010

We have only been happy with the quality of the school, its teachers and the expectations of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

I decided to take my child out of this school after being at MacFarlane for many years. The teachers are great and I have never had any major issues with that, but the fact is that the administration has been focusing too much on issues that are not relevant to my child's education. The teachers seem to be busy preparing for events rather than teaching what they are supposed to teach. I knew that the scores would be lower this year, and a few parents and myself have been waiting for the scores before we pulled our children out of this school. It is a shame that with such wonderful teachers and kids, that there is an administration that is bringing this wonderful school down. New leadership is needed at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

MacFarlane Park has exceptional programs, teachers and administrators. The teachers develop innovative ideas and strategies to reach and teach our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

I am so happy with MacFarlane Park. The school culture is committed to excellence in academic achievement. More than that, it's committed to making the world a better place, starting with the surrounding community. My son loves going to school, and I'm happy to take him here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

This is our first year at MacFarlane IB. Our two children were coming from private school. They are very bright and go getters. We had concerns about whether the curriculum would measure up in continuing to challenge them. It has! The curriculum focuses not only on just academics but cultural, social, environmental, the arts, etc. There are numerous programs for the children to get involved. The environment is very organized/structured but loving and caring. The kids love it and the parent participation is awesome! We have become a part of the MacFarlane IB Family and couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2008

Overall, I am very pleased with the school. Our teachers have been great and really care about my child's education. The guidance counselor is wonderful and is an asset to the school. In my experiance, I don't think the principal shows impartialty in dealing with parents and faculty,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Very happy with the educational quality of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

Outstanding from top to bottom. Great teachers, great leadership, great curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

My children have been attending this school since its opening in 2004 and we just couldn't be happier. The teachers are amazing! They really work hard to provide authentic opportunities for the students to learn new material and apply it to their lives. The administration is excellent, always there to assist parents in any ways necessary. Because it is such a small school, it feels like a family where everyone knows each other and celebrates each others' successes. Just walking down the halls you can see the enthusiasm of the teachers and the students. They do a wonderful job of keeping the students engaged and on task, while allowing them to be themselves. I can't imagine my children attending school anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

The schools goals are great. I love the curriculum and the vision of the school. I just do not think all the teachers hired are qualified for this type of school. The faculty is not diverse enough to reflect the student bodleay and populations. International studies also should mean that all the staff knows the learning styles that differ and come along with the different cultures. My children go there and overall they like their friends they have made and the school has more than enough activities for the whole family to get involved in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

I could not imagine a better place for my daughter. She was always the shy type, but Macfarlane's caring staff and friendly students have turned her into a new child. It is amazing to see how comfortable and happy she is when she is there. As I walk down the halls, I peek in the windows of other classrooms, the classrooms seem like they always have enthusiastic teachers, children with smiles on their faces, and parents helping out. I believe that those are the three things that make a school excellent. Also, the PTA does an outstanding job with holding fun events that make everyone feel apart of something special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

Just amazing school! is the BEST. I'm sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My son loves this school. He looks forward to going to school. His teachers have found something that wants him to be his best. The individual attention he receives is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

My daughter has attended MacFarlanePark since it opened. You can't find a better program in Hillsborough county - it's asgood or possibly even better than a private school. The staff is excellent and the attitudes and atmosphere in and around the student body reflects the fabulous education they are receiving. The class sizes are small and noone is attending in a portable! She is a fifth grader this year, so not only she will have many tears at the conclusion of this year. Wonderful school for advanced studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

This is our 2nd year at this school. The offerings are extremely unique and very original. My child loves this school. The curriculum is challenging. The staff, administration & teachers are amazing! Nothing short of an excellent school. The children recieve above and beyond what a regular public school has to offer. The parent involvement is very impressive! We love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

After attending this school we found that the core curriculum was significantly lower than our regular neighborhood school. They stressed the learning of other countries though projects and regularly gave homework that was to challenge themselves in anything they wanted. Unfortunately, their was not any direction as to a theme or direction on what they were to challenge on. The music program is great also. The X-tra's would be great if the core curriculum was not so far behind as it does not give much of a foundation to build from. The administration was not helpfull in obtaining a more challenging curriculum so we ultimately left. They are a new school with alot to work through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

We move around a lot and have attended a lot of schools around the world, including some very well-reputed private schools. This one blows them away. This is my second year here with two children and I've never seen so much dedication and individualized instruction from a teaching staff. The principal is very hands on, and the parents are dedicated. I chose this school because it has internationally recognized academic standards, and I'm staying here because my children are gifted and they really know how to motivate and stimulate them, not just in math in science but the other subjects as well, particularly the music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

My son has attended this school since it opened in 2004. We are very pleased with the curiculum as well as the extent of involvment with parents and teachers. Great Staff, Great school! We are very happy to start his 4th year there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

Good school. I am a parent of a student at this school. The only problem I see is the basics are not always covered at a rate that all children can keep up with. Just because a child learns slower doesn't mean they are incapable of learning large amounts of material. Advanced is wonderful keep challenging all the students but make sure you are giving them the foundatins they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

Needed a larger playground for some time, but finally got an area. Teachers are nice and really seem to care. Program is academically challenging. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 35%
Hispanic 32%
Black 17%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%67%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • DR. DENYSE RIVEIRO
Fax number
  • (813) 356-1764

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1721 North Macdill Avenue
Tampa, FL 33607
Phone: (813) 356-1760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT