Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

365 students|Hillsborough
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Great school, staff and PTSA. Really challenges the kids. Student driven learning makes them confident and independent.

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
In first grade, the homework is just right, but when the reading requirement is placed on top of it, sometimes it is a little bit too much to get to every night.


Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Caring is one of the core behaviors that is embedded in the daily curriculum and way of teaching.

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Honesty and integrity are key components of the way that they teach at MFP. I love that attitudes and behaviors are a large part of the curriculum and way of teaching every day.

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Macfarlane Park is an incredible school. The parents are super involved. The teachers are caring and professional. The school provides many, many opportunities for activities, events, and celebrations to bring the parents and kids together. The curriculum is very unique, and teaches our kids to be kind, inquisitive, global citizens. We are so grateful to be a part of this "family"!


Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
MacFarlane Park is a place where parents are involved, teachers are caring, administration is dedicated, staff is invested and students thrive. My daughter has attended for five years and I know that she will be more than prepared for middle school next year academically and socially. She is a concerned citizen of the world thanks to the MacFaralane Park Family.

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
My son started here this year (August 2014) as an IB elementary magnet student - he loves it. Great teachers, good friends, great education. Feel like we are very fortunate to have an excellent educational opportunity in a public school. Beautiful facility in nice neighborhood and convenient to south and central Tampa area.

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Providing you with my honest opinion which is why this forum was created. My child attended Macfarlane Park from K-5th - my rating is based on: (a) Teachers - communication, involvement, quality, classroom structure, IB curriculum (b) PTA - excellent involvement, thanks to the community of great parents (c) Guidance counselor, Nurse, Front Office Staff, Cafeteria, PE Coach, Spanish/Chorus/Library/Strings - 5 starts all the way around, highly trained individuals who absolutely love what they do and they do it with class (d) Principal - this by far was the most disappointing experience I had during the 6 years. Future parents, please be aware of the lack of leadership and care the Principal shows. It's scary to have someone in authority who uses her title to bully parents, children and staff. The principal lacks all character traits of an IB leader. It saddens me to have seen first hand the lack of ethics and professionalism from someone in such an important role. As a parent, my advice is to make the best decision for YOUR child, always be involved. If something doesn't seem right use the tools you have at hand to have it researched such as calling the school district.


Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Macfarlane Park has consistently been one of the best elementary schools in Hillsborough County for a decade. Great staff, great administration, great students, and the best PTA in the state makes a great school. I will say that there have been lots of teachers coming and going and switching grade levels over the past couple of years. A lot of the staff who left became lead teachers at other schools, but still, it's a lot of change. I really hope it doesn't affect the quality at Macfarlane. It hasn't yet, thankfully.

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School 3

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
We were initially happy with this school and felt the IB curriculum was providing an advanced academic experience for our children. The school offers extras most others in the district do not (Strings, Spanish). While the Strings program is a jewel, Spanish was highly disappointing. Many teachers/staff here are dedicated and engaging with the students. However, there are others who don't model Respect, Caring and even Commitment; aspects of the IB program that are supposed to be the foundation of this school. Students here have the same issues with bullying and cliches you find elsewhere, which we had hoped wouldn't be the case in an IB school. The school has degraded in quality of both education and environment since 2010. Being a student (or teacher) here used to be a privilege that was respected and coveted by all. Over the past few years there has been a "revolving door" of teacher turnover. New hires are often first year teachers. This says a lot. We have seriously considered moving our youngest out. We now give this school a B-, downgraded from an A.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School
1721 North Macdill Avenue, Tampa, FL  33607
(813) 356-1760
Last modified Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Macfarlane Park Elementary Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. Top