Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 948 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2008

Deer Park is an awesome school with an amazing staff! My children are happy and enthusiastic about going to school, and learning. Mr. Cerreta knows EVERY childs name, grade, etc. He, his teacher's, and the PTA all work wonderfully together to make this school the great success that it is. The children are pretty amazing as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

As a parent at Deer Park for 3 years I can safely say it's the best experience we've had with our children. And we did have our children at a real private school before & pulled them out of 2nd grade there. As for the 'CEO' directing traffic- he does this so he can interact with the kids & parents every day & isn't it GREAT to be able to SEE your principal every day! He's not a remote figure that is inaccessible! The parents are welcome on campus everyday & are encouraged to be involved in both the school & the classrooms. And our principal and vice principal are always available to discuss and resolve any problems. Our teachers come from both public & private backgrounds and all tell me how wonderful their working environment is here. As parents, we feel welcome and at home at Deer Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

I made the decision during last school year to pull my son from private school. I visited many schools in the area including the school that my son was zoned for. I decided the second I walked into Deer Park that I wanted him to attend. I school choiced him & cannot be happier. I decided to introduce myself to some of the PTA over the summer and was pleasantly surprised to have made some great friends. I was a bit nervous on the first day of school, I worried my son wouldn't adjust well & it would be hard for him at his age. (He's in 3rd grade) When I picked him up the first day, he actually thanked me. Getting up in the morning hasn't been a chore & he looks forward to school. His teachers are fantastic and I am thrilled to be a part of the family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I am not all that impressed. Maybe I am too used to private school (preschool) yet. The people seem to first assume the kids behave badly and teach children what they can not or should not do, instead of focusing on what they can do. The teachers and VP are always telling kids, not asking kids, to do things. The afternoon pick up needs to improve. Westchase Elementary had the kids wait in the lunchroom, I heard, which I think is better. I have a great respect for the principal in his effort to be so involved. However, great organizations do not necessarily have their 'CEOs' directing traffic 1-2 hours of their days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

This school is excellent! I have had several parents tell me they pulled their children out of private education because Deer Park has a superior campus, teachers, and staff. The staff works with the families to find the right teaching style/teacher for the children. I feel there is plenty of parental involvement, but then again, you only get out what you put into it. Heck, there is even a dad's club that has at least one dad and kid event every month! The only issue I have with the school is inadequate parking, but that is on the district not the school. Contrary to a previous review there are benches around the campus (in fairness, that review was posted prior to the installation of said benches as the school had only been open for a few months).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Deer Park is hands-down one of the best public schools in the state. The principal is a dynamo - I can't say enough about his enthusiasm, visibility, availability to the parents, and genuine interest in the sucess and well-being of our kids. Parents love him, teachers love him, and the students treat him like a rock star. The best thing about Deer Park is Principal Cerreta's mission to make this a COMMUNITY. He has tasked the PTA with getting as much family involvement as possible, and encorages relationships with neighborhood business as well. The quality of the teachers is great, the options for extra-curricular activities are varied, and the campus is beautiful. We love Deer Park - it's the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

Absolutely fabulous. I pulled my children out of private school to go to Deer Park and I have never looked back! It is beyond expectations with wonderful teachers, huge parent participation and an extroadinary administration. And the principal...what can I say except that he is top notch. Fantastic school. Best school is the state if not one of the best in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

Trust me, this is a GREAT school. The principal is amazing...you'll see him every single day on campus. The assistant Principal is just as great. There isn't a student at the school they both don't know. Security is handled well, with a complete lockdown after the morning bell, and a computerized system to sign-in and check any and all visitors/volunteers at the school. The classrooms are nicely sized, and there is a beautiful courtyard with benches in the middle of the school. We have a great playground with small picnic tables to eat at, and soon we'll have a covered court to protect our kids from the sun during PE. Our staff, from front office to teachers to custodians are great people with a wonderful dedication to our students. Also, parent involvement is welcomed and appreciated. This is just a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

This was our first year there and the school was very well run and I felt very informed about everything going on with my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

The PE program is only twice a week and seems a bit boring, specially for boys. Classrooms are very tiny. There are no benches around the campus and no designated pick nick tables outside to have lunch with your kids.Campus should be more secure and only accessible through the front office. Music is great and they even offer free guitar lessons. Principal,Teachers and Staff are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

Im a prospective physical education teacher attending USF interning at Deer Park Elementary. For a school that has just opened I am suprised to see how good of a school it is, the principal is very good and seems to take a lot of pride in structuring a good program. The school has only one pysical education teacher, and like most Hillsborough County schools students have only two days of P.E. The instructor Mrs. Brown is very good, as she was one of the choosen by my professors as an intern to allow us to see how a good program is run. She has taught for about 20 years. She does not devote time to game play such as dodgeball and kickball, instead she developes skills in locomotor areas like throwing, hopping, kicking, running etc. She also runs an after school program called HOST and has a 'jump rope' team.


Posted October 18, 2007

Excellent school. Very organized adminstration & involved principal. You see him out and about every day, helping with the drop off line, in the cafeteria & just talking with parents. Great parental involvement and a great perspective on fundraising - you won't have to get your co-workers to buy wrapping paper & junky stuff to help raise money for the school. The school also reaches out to the community and has activities, like inviting students from an economically disadvantaged school to spend a fun day at Deer Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

We love Deer Park! The new campus is great and we are very happy with the adminsitration as well as the teaching staff. The principal is awesome!!! I'm looking forward to new activities/programs now that we are on our 'real' campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

Wonderful principle who is very involved with the students and knows them each by name. Ok parental involvement. Academics are fairly good. My child likes the school and her teacher isn't all that bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 23%
Asian 11%
Black 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%67%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11605 Citrus Park Drive
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 854-6031

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT