Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 948 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

We LOVED our Kindergarten teacher here, Mrs. Lee. She was excellent in all aspects. But now in first grade we have been really disappointed. It seems that the curriculum is only placing ALL emphasis on FCAT performance than providing a solid education that will allow these students to compete throughout their lives. I'm not going o even mention the "non-existent" principal with NO leadership whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

I saw someone wrote they are impressed with the cleanliness of the school. Did you know children were getting sick because of the bacteria because of the water damage? With kids getting sick, they had to "redo" part of the school. Communication is poor at the school, information gets out last minute if it does get out at all. Many safety concerns with the school as there were holes in the play area/playground that kids were falling in and getting fractured ankles and also police were called when several kids heard adults yelling in the bushes. Notice how you never see the principal, Mrs. Porebski at the outside school functions? Lots of bullying at this school and nothing is done on the principal's part, teacher or guidance counselor. The principal is more concerned with her physical appearance than what goes on at the school. HOST program is poor too. Kids just run around the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My ten year old daughter (5th grader) NYC. Deer Park has made the transition wonderful. The teachers and administration are very communicative, and the curriculum is challenging yet provides students with all the necessary tools for success! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My started Kindergarten this year, and I have to say that I am impressed with the cleanliness of the school, the amazing staff and teachers. I am very happy to have him starting in such a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

My daughter will be starting 1st grade this year @ Deer Park. She loved her kindergarten teacher and class but I was less than impressed with the principal and the overall running of the school. There is very little communication with the parents and what does come is very late/last minute. The principal has no leadership skills and does not begin to know how to talk to parents. She seems more concerned with herself than the students. We never saw her at any school function. The school also seems overcrowded as they were struggling to find additional classrooms last year. Everyone talks about what a great school, but I'm not seeing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

My daughter completed her kindergarten year here @ deer park & she absolutely Loved it! Ms.Febre & Ms.Henry were amazing!! Very involved with their students & attentive to each students individual needs. I loved that they pay close attention to each students strengths & weaknesses & use that information to help them maximize their learning abilities. My child finished kindergarten as 1 of the top students in her class & reading @ a 2nd grade reading level. Staff members are very friendly & always helpful. I couldn't tell you how many times I'd be on campus & a staff member would approach me to tell me how well my child was doing. The staff knows their students even though they're not in their class & that alone says a lot to how attentive they are. This school really cares about their students & ensuring that they progress in ALL areas. We moved due to work related reasons & I am sad to have to withdraw her from Deer Park. I highly recommend Deer Park to anyone considering or new to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

The teachers at the school are top notch. The school is in a very good location. The only major issue is that the principal lacks good leadership skills and it does bring the quality down. WIth at new principal I would I would rate it a 4-5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Love this school! My son was at a private school in South Africa before we moved to the US and he was doing really well so I was quite worried to uproot him but he has settled so well and absolutely adores school! He is in first grade and his teacher, Mrs Kasper, has been fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

We were happy the first few years, here. But this year our teacher is very hands-off and the parents from our classroom feel out of the loop. The guidance department has been slow to respond or take action on several requests and I feel like the school constantly has a hand out for money from the parents. The new homes and apartments in our district have caused some overcrowding-especially in the lower grades. The PE and music teachers are great and the Library staff is, too. There are MANY wonderful teachers at this school. Thankfully, my child is a self-starter and really enjoys school. Otherwise, we would not be doing as well, here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

The test scores alone prove that the quality of education has gone down at this school. There are a few good teachers, but the majority are wet behind the ears and would make better baby sitters than educators. They are proof that teaching is not for everyone. They seem unable to get the best out of the students. Unlike her predecessor, the new principal seems relatively non-existent. My child has been a straight-A student at this school for years, but it seems like the quality of education at Deer Park has gone down. More emphasis is placed on FCAT performance than providing a solid education that will allow these students to compete globally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

Been at this school for 9 months now after attending an amazing school in the North. Despite what I've always believed, you can get a great education in FL. The teachers and faculty I've met are amazing. Great diversity without anyone feeling odd. Just attended an amazing MATH night where kids LOVED to do math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

Great teachers and good programs. Everyone cares for the kids great great scholl, now that is 15 words.


Posted October 27, 2012

Love, Love the school great teachers, principal vice principal and great students and strong PTA. My daughter has been here for 5 years, and we will miss it when she graduates
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

Deer Paerk is GREAT school! I have 3 children here, and could not be happier! The staff is great, the suppoert staff is wonderful, and Principal & Vice Principal are so helpful. Deer Park is a wonderful place to learn, volunteer and feel like a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Great, safe school with encouraging, friendly teachers, staff and PTA. Promotes reading and writing competitions. Offers extra newspaper, guitar, percussion, orchestra and choir classes, and fun science-based events, but no sports (through out district). Our 5th grade daughter has been here two years and enjoys her school and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school. We are delighted to have been able to get in through the CHOICE program. Leadership here is outstanding - some of the problems are district-based. Terrific teachers, private, nature setting. Outstanding array of extra curricular opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

Absolutely hands down the very finest school with excellent superb leadership and exceptional teachers. This is an amazing school. I would recommend to anyone to attend here! Thank You Deer Park for the fine education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I am still not impressed with the academics I see in Kindergarten. The private pre-school we were in had the 4 year olds doing 1st grade work and still having fun like 4 year olds. The security and the setting are great. The teacher we have us caring, concerned, and devoted to doing a good job. They are limited because you have to teach to the lowest skill level and a state curriculum. The principal is outstanding and his attitude is reflected in about 50-75% of the team. He himself is superior and I think he REALLY TRIES to attract and retain the best he can find. The hot lunch menu is appalling with things like corn dogs, powdered sugar, red jello, hot dogs, nachos, and the like. What happened to setting an example for good nutrition? This is the district's fault, not theirs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Great school. My daughter started kindergarden here, and we have been impressed with both the facilities and the teachers (Mrs. Patton). The principal is great, he was out in the parking lot directing traffic the first week of school, you don't see that very often. If you can afford to live in the area, Westchase has great schools all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Deer Park is an awesome school with an amazing staff! My children are happy and enthusiastic about going to school, and learning. Mr. Cerreta knows EVERY childs name, grade, etc. He, his teacher's, and the PTA all work wonderfully together to make this school the great success that it is. The children are pretty amazing as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 57%
Hispanic 23%
Asian 11%
Black 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%67%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11605 Citrus Park Drive
Tampa, FL 33626
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 854-6031

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT