Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bartels Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 846 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2010

The school is great and has been ever since my son was in 6th grade. He is now in 8th and a new administration has come in. Unfortunately, I've noticed a huge difference between this year and last. Different rules, focus, and an overall different feel. I understand the changes with new administration, but hope these changes don't negatively impact a school that didn't need any changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

I love this school , I like most of the teachers. and the ones that he has now are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Well I am in Seventh Grade, and I am pretty sure most Middle Schools are like this. But I am happy with it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2009

very good school I am happy I made the choice for my children to attend bartels. They are happy that is all that matters to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

i love this school i doin good in my studies the teachers help a lot
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2008

I go 2 Bartels.Im in 8th Grade ive been there since it opened. The School is okay but a little to strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2008

Bartels is a good school. just like every other middle school it has its up and downs. i started when i was in sixth grade and our class is the first class at bartels to go all the way thru, to eighth grade. a lot of people think its greener on the other side. when truely its the same.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

horrible school ......seems like the buy the cheapest equipment possible..... I think Liberty or Benito is better
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2008

man i loved this school i attended it last year and the teachers are great my personal favorite is ms.King she loves to joke around with the kids in an educative manner and her teaching tactics are extremely fun and exciting like the mathie wathie ms.King is an awesome teacher and a really good friend you can come to her crying and she will stop her lesson or what ever she's doing to listen she's fun but srict if she see's that you arent trying she wont leave you alone till you do and the counselor ms.Ware is also a good listener she if your having a problem with another student she won't say ignore it she will take matters into her own hands and the 8th grade assisstant principal mrs.Jenkins is also very sweet but extreely strict these ladies do not take intolerance or disobedience as a joke
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

My son has attended this school since it opened two years ago. I really feel that the teachers, the assistant principals, and the principal sincerely care about my child's needs. We are transplants from Ohio. The school district that my son attended was more concerned with maintaining high tests and acheivement scores than whether or not my son learned anything. He hated going to school. Since we moved here, he has done so much better academically. The staff really tries to meet the needs of my son through various programs offered for kids with special needs or learning problems. All of his teachers for the past two years have really worked with him to help him perform his best academically. I am only sorry that he has to leave after 8th grade. We are zoned for Wharton High, which to my understanding, is not a good high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

My daughter was in Bartels for a year and a half, and I could tell that the school is good. The teachers in six grades as Mrs. Gun math teacher, Mr. Love Science teacher and Mrs. Dowell language art Teacher are excellent Educators, and are top of the line in education. I did not work much with the seventh grade teachers, because we had to move out of states after the first semester, but Mrs. Trinkaus language art is another excellent educator in the school. The Principal and the magnificent counselors Mrs. Azzarelli and Ware are pleasant to work with and they will listen if any complains are brought to them. The only two complains about the school that I have, are: the horrible attitude from the Spanish teacher towards the students,(she loves to scream to students and treat them wrong), and the fights that regularly exist in the school. Mainly for two reasons the school board obligated the school to bring students from bad neighborhoods to the school, and also because some of the good high economic level students who belong to the school are spoiled brats and want to do whatever the heck they want. So is normal to see the sheriff office police cars around the school. The excellent thing is that the school has zero tolerance towards this behaviors, and they try to control the situation as soon as they see it. Over all the school is very good, the students are challenge, the level of education is outstanding, and most of the kids there come from good families with well oriented principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

My son has been here for 2 years, the principal is great, there are some very talented teachers who care, I was worried about middle school but it has been a great experience-fighting and bullying are not tolerated and are addressed immediately
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

This school is great. Its a first year school. I was a track coach and the flag football coach. Great staff, and a great bunch of kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

282 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

286 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

253 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
97%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 32%
White 31%
Black 23%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%67%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. TIM BINDER
Fax number
  • (813) 907-6805

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9020 Imperial Oak Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 907-6801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dr. John Long Middle School
Wesley Chapel, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT