Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bartels Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 846 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

BARTELS is the best middle school ever!And I'm a student and to me I made the best of friends and their teachers super nice and give us homework but it's usually really easy and I'm an honor roll student so yeah...there's just like one or two problems to me and that's the gym I just don't like how there are like games that the students don't give any sportsmanship unless the coach tells u and the other problem is the uniform policy,I understand the good side about it but there honestly very ugly and the students don't get to express our selfs and we can't be different and I totally understand that some of the students dress very in mature but just take that into note and by the way I'm in 6th grade


Posted August 24, 2013

June 6th comment: First of all it is by far your place to comment about how parents are expressing their concern about their children! IF YOUR read correctly these parents were complaining their children were suspended BUT OBVIOUSLY with out you knowing the story and your "ARE YOU KIDDING ME " comment NO IM NOT KIDDING YOU BEACUSE MY SON WA SUSPENDED FOR SOMETHING HE DID "NOT" do ! That I why I obviously contacted the school board and went up to the school to speak to them and they let him back so thank you for writing your rude comment I'm a proud parent and come from a great neighborhood as my child is not being bused in and I'm HIGHLY INVOLVED in my child's education as I took him out of battles as it is down at the bottom but I pay very high taxes to deal with that such a real shame!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Don't send your child here. They are very racist with hispanics and blacks. It's like you have to be white to be accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Dedicated teachers, administrators, and support personnel fill the ranks of one of Hillsborough county's finest middle schools. The school has taken a new more positive direction requiring uniforms this year which will minimize conflicts between students and improve morale. Dr. Binder exemplifies professionalism and demands the same from his staff and students. A small percentage of parents or guardians are responsible for most problems. They blame everyone but themselves for discipline issues that occur and undermine progress. Most of the kids are great and will do well as they transition from middle to high schools. I highly recommend this school.


Posted August 2, 2013

If you genuinely care about your child, you would think twice about sending them to Bartels. I ask my child every night what they learned at school today. My child usually responds and gives me brief summaries of each class except her science class. I am aware that her science teacher was previously charged. She comes home saying that all her science teacher does is give her student bellwork and they work on it for the entire period. Her science teacher complains about her other classes to her students and even asks them to perform unnecessary tasks like fetching her a bottle of water. My daughter is in sixth grade, going on to seventh and she is very displeased with the new uniform policy. She spent her whole grade school experience wearing uniform. She gets one year to wear any shirt she wants and then she can't again. I know uniforms block potential bullying, but if the school was actually capable of solving bully problems, you wouldn't have to worry. I have complained to the school multiple times about my daughter getting called names and nothing changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Dismal at best. The behavior of some of the students is disgusting. My child went to this school one year (6th) and we were done. The administration is a joke for the most part. Parents, this is not your only option-look into school choice (even out of county) and virtual school. I cannot believe I moved into a decent area to have to deal with this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

My daughter has just finished 6th grade at Bartels. Can't say that I'm very impressed at all. I went down to that school at least 4 times last year due to problems with rotten, foul mouth kids saying and doing things to my daughter. Also there was one teacher who made it her mission to embarrass kids in her class. They let kids attend the school that come from bad neighborhoods and there lies the problem. But we're stuck. She'll have to go there again this year too. I just hope the administration gets a grip on handling situations better, or they'll be seeing me again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

My daughter and I are both disappointed in this school. She will likely enroll in virtual school next year as a result. She was so excited to start 6th grade at Bartels and fortunately has made some wonderful friends there but like other parents have noted, the overall social and academic experience is poor. I recognize that every school has challenges with the behavior of some kids and capability of some teachers, however Bartels and its management of poor behavior on both fronts have been disappointing at best. I agree with the parent that many of the teachers do not teach ~ they assign classwork, reading from texts and homework but do not expect interesting project assignments, interactive class activities or engaged teachers. With the exception of a couple, I have experienced very negative or patronizing interactions with the administration and teachers. I cannot help but think that if my daughter who is a high honors student with parents who wish to be engaged with the school is treated so poorly, how on earth are other kids facing the unresolved social and academic challenges at this school being treated?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

This school is horrible! The administration in the front office are pathetic. Almost all the teachers need FIRED. They are lazy and do not care about the students one bit! My child is an honor roll student but is drowning in all the bullying, drama, fighting and unruliness this school offers. AVOID at all costs. Do magnet, charter or virtual school for your child. Do not send them here! Also to the parents who are complaining about your kids getting suspended...Are you kidding me? Obviously they are being suspended for a reason. You point your fingers at the school but four more fingers are pointing back at YOU as the PARENT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

This school is vile!! My son was a straight A student before entering the 6th grade. He hates going to school and is failing 3 classes. The teachers DO NOT help!! They give the students bellwork and classwork but they do not teach. If you can avoid it, please do not send your child here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

TTO THE PARENT THAT JUST RECENTLY POSTED ON JAN OF THIS YEAR. I ABSOLUTELY AGREE WIYH YOU. I'VE BEEN HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS SCHOOL ABOUT MY DAUGHTER. I HAVE CALLED THE SCHOOL BOARD 3 TIMES TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE BEHAVIORS OF THE (PRINCIPLES). JUST RECENTLY GOT OFF THE PHONE WITH THE SUPERINTENDENT FOR THIS SCHOOL. DR. PATTERSON IS VERY UNPROFFESIONAL AND GOSSIPS TO OTHER PARENTS ABOUT OTHER CHILDREN, SHE SHOWS FAVORTISM AND SUSPENDS CHILDREN BASEF ON HERESAY. WHEN YOU CALL DR. BINDER TO DISCUSS CONCERNS ABOUT THINGS THAT ARE GOING ON AT THE SCHOOL HE ACTS AS IF HE HAS NO IDEAL OF WHAT'S GOING ON WHEN HE CLEARLY DOES! THEY DON'T PROVIDE SAFETY FOR YOUR CHILDREN, THEY ALLOW FIGHTS TO GO ON,AND THE TEACHERS CURSE IN THE CLASSROOMS. HOW PROFESSIONAL IS THAT?! I ABSOLUTELY HATE THIS SCHOOL AND SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE REAL SOON!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

I am very unimpressed with this school so far. The admisistrative staff acts like you are bothering them when you come in the office. They are unfriendly, unorganized, and inconsistant on what they tell you. They hardly ever answer the phones and if you leave a message no one call you back. Including the Principal.They really need to address this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

Am I the only parent that cringes reading the "student reviews" on here? This school is failing its students if that is the best grammar, sentence structure and punctuation they can muster. Our oldest daughter attends this school and we were not impressed for the majority of the year. They brought in new administration. I have high hopes Dr. Binder can turn this school around. I like that they are seriously considering mandatory uniforms. I think this school is below average at the moment but has potential to be great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT send your child to Bartells if you want him to succeed. After three years observing the way the school operates I believe that in terms of education, discipline and principal lack of leadership the school does more harm than good to your child. Find an alternative even if you have to drive more or move....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

Not impressed with this school at all. From the administrative staff to the teachers. It's unfortunate because I had high hopes given the fact that it's in my neighborhood. My husband and I are always involved and responsive with his teachers but they are inconsistant and I think most of them have forgotten what it's like to be a kid. I've given it two years before making this observation. I am limited here in the number of characters I can use so I can't explain in the depth that I would like to. If you can avoid this school and have other options I would say take the other option!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

I like bartels because of the people there but , the adminstration is wayy to strict . i dont know whether its because of the parents of student who attend that school but , the are uptight about certain thing that should even be a problem . most of the teachers are amazing ! & they did help me ! i juss dont agree with the new adminstration and they dont agree with the students . they dont take our thoughts or feelings into consideration . even thought there might be someone of greater and higher power like parents or the school board , we should at least be considered . if its the school we attend , why should we feel comfortable attending it ?


Posted February 15, 2010

I am currently going to Bartels Middle school and I love it! There is great teachers and the principle is very nice. I love the fact that the school is spread out and not all clumped together!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2010

The school is great and has been ever since my son was in 6th grade. He is now in 8th and a new administration has come in. Unfortunately, I've noticed a huge difference between this year and last. Different rules, focus, and an overall different feel. I understand the changes with new administration, but hope these changes don't negatively impact a school that didn't need any changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

I love this school , I like most of the teachers. and the ones that he has now are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Well I am in Seventh Grade, and I am pretty sure most Middle Schools are like this. But I am happy with it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

260 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

282 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

286 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

253 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
97%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 32%
White 31%
Black 23%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%67%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. TIM BINDER
Fax number
  • (813) 907-6805

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9020 Imperial Oak Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33647
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 907-6801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dr. John Long Middle School
Wesley Chapel, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT