Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brooks Debartolo Collegiate High School

Charter | 9-12 | 430 students

Our school is best known for coursework for college preparation.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, April 22, 2014

This is a school whose focus is the success of its students. They set the academic bar high, but work to help every student achieve. The encourage AP courses & dual enrollment. I also like that students are more than a number. Faculty take genuine interest in the success of there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, April 22, 2014

My school is Brooks DeBartolo Collegiate High School. I have the opportunity to volunteer each week at the school in the cafeteria. I observe the students/teachers and how they relate to each other. In three years I have not heard or seen a negative behavior. Students and teachers appear to have great respect and affection for each other. Not a fight. Not a bad word. Just smiles, hugs, jokes and respect. Compared to my experiences in the public schools, BDCHS is huge improvement. I was so pleasantly surprised! However they accomplish it, it proves discipline with respect can work. These kids are good and still having fun! A wonderful environment for our young people. Thank you BDCHS!


Posted November 11, 2013

As the parent of a senior, I can say this is a great school, no student "falls through the cracks" here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

This is honestly my dream school. I was worried about bullying, but this school accepted me and 95 percent of the kids that go there are amazing. The course work is challenging in a good way and I've seen more dedicated teachers. I have so much fun there, the school gives off such a positive vibe.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2013

Brooks DeBartolo CHS is just the environment I was looking for when my twin boys were ready for High school. They attended private christian schools all the way through 8th grade. Brooks afforded them a smaller class setting and a safer environment as they merged into public school education. We also were excited about the prospects of dual enrollment. So far we are pleased with the staff and faculty and look forward to 4 great years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My school is Brooks DeBartolo H.S., this school is everything and some in regards to my child's education and growth! We are happy and committed to build on the future of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Hello, My son recently graduated and now my Daughter Chelsea is a senior there. Both of my children have done very well due to the guideance and overall learning experience and the teachers have been great so has the leadership. I would and have suggested other parents to have their chilren attend Brooks Debartolo High School. Thanks; G.Drake Pelham
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Our son just graduated from this excellent school with enough credits for his associate degree (plus exploring three different majors). The opportunity for dual enrollment, for students who are ready for the challenge. Our daughter, currently attending BDCHS, plans to complete her associate degree concurrently with her high school diploma, and has found a great circle of supportive friends. Definitely the best-kept secret high school in Tampa! The faculty and staff have been so supportive, finding and communicating opportunities for leadership training, career events in my students area of interests, and scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My daughter is in her 9th grade year at the school. The curriculum is rigorous and challenging. As a parent, I like the uniform policy, the communication between the parents and teachers and the willingness of the Administration to listen to parent concerns. Beautiful facility. I feel so lucky to have my child attending such a quality school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

This school is the best kept secret in Tampa. Any student who desires to to be successful will excel at this school. Students are held to high academic expectations and are held accountable for their actions. Students are required to wear a uniform which takes away the peer pressure related to clothing. I feel that my child is very safe BDCHS and is being prepared for college and the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

August 2008 both my daughters (completely differeent from each other) started as Freshmen, it was also BDCHS's first year. Not being a traditional setting, it was a family compromise to give it one year. Needless to say, BDCHS exceeded our expectations and both graduated with high honors with one also representing the class of 2012 as the Valedictorian. Dual enrollment played a big part. Both graduated with almost one year worth of college credit and because of other opportunities offered at BDCHS, both received an invitation to a prestigious private college with substantial scholorships each and are attending UT. Needless to say, it was a life changing - educational decision that that was more than worth the compromise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

As a parent of students who have been there, since day one I, I am completely satisfied and supportative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

This school is one of the best school in Hillsborough County. When I made up my mind to change my daughter from the current high school district to Brooks-Debartolo, this was the best thing I could have ever done. She made a 360 degree double turn around in her grades. If possible send your sons, daughters, grandsons, granddaughters, nieces and nephews. You will not regret the move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Small size, uniform and discipline policies, teacher, faculty, parent, and staff dedication, rigorous curriculum and high expectations make this a great choice for those wanting a positive environment that promotes hard work and success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
61%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 23%
White 29% 42%
Hispanic 27% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 93%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Terrace Community Middle School
Trinity
Bay Area Middle Schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 35% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 62% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 3% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Tampa
St. Leo University
HCC
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 17%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 17%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Japanese
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • America's Most Challenging High School (2012)
  • High Performing Charter School by Florida Department of Ed (2013)
  • "A" Grade from FDOE (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Finalist for Non-Profit of the Year (2013)
  • Florida Blood Services lifesaver appreciation recognition (2012)
  • Golden School Award for parent volunteerism by FDOE (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kristine Bennett
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (813) 971-5656

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Carpool
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Basketball
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Gardening
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Volleyball
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join Parent Advisory Council (PAC)
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • BDCHS provides rigorous coursework in a safe, caring environment. We hold prospective student open houses once a month. Please visit our website, www.bdchs.org to view the open house schedule.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 24, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
300
Students typically come from these schools
Terrace Community Middle School
Trinity
Bay Area Middle Schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Tampa
St. Leo University
HCC
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 35%
4 year college - 62%
Military - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10948 N Central Ave
Tampa, FL 33612
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 971-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT