Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mosi Partnership Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 239 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

I have 3 children at Mosi Partnership School and they absolutely love everything about the school except one thing THE FOOD! There are no choices and unfortunately I believe the school is ripping off the district as far as what's supposed to be served. All 3 of my kids did a great job adapting to the school, the small classes were a big plus (even though one of my kids is being left back but I believe that that is not from lack of effort on his teachers part) they all praise the teachers and the school but cry everyday from being hungry at school. So because I truly believe that Mosi is doing something wrong as far as the breakfast and lunch menu I could only give them 4 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

This is a horrible school! My daughter is advanced in both reading and math and this school has yet to challenge her. After discussing with the teacher why the students are being taught to write their own names and work on pre-k level material in the 1ST GRADE, I was met with resentment and a negative attitude that was directed towards not only myself but my 6 year old daughter. My daughter has loved school and learning from the day she opened up her first book and is now begging me to not attend every morning. The majority of the time the teacher speaks to the students only in Spanish, leaving out the children who are only English speakers. My daughter asked her to go to the restroom and she was told she could not go! This teacher should reconsider her career choice because she is not in any way contributing to Hillsborough County's education system. My daughter comes home on a daily basis telling me that she constantly feels like the teacher is angry with the class. Save yourself the time and trouble and DO NOT listen to or be fooled by the fact that this school is connected to a museum, it's NOT worth having your child being treated poorly or not being challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My son is in 4th grade . He did his 3rd grade in Mosi. Excellent school ! I have seen a wonderful development in my son in last year. The teachers are wonderful. Keep updated about students work all the time. take extra efforts for students developement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

My son is in 4th grade and it's his first year here and he loves it, his Teacher is excellent! He's always excited about school, I'd recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

Great staff and school! Teachers truly care about the kids! Awesome partnership with the museum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2012

I am disappointed and devastated by the school, staff, teachers and even bus driver. My son is 2nd grade and we are currently changing the school. Teachers put zero effort into progress of children`s education,in basic, reading, writing and math.Communication is hard to maintain as regardless of any talk they haven`t better anything.Bullying is another thing also. My son was asking me with tears in his eyes not to let him go on the bus again. I am being my son`t teacher more than his teacher itself. The list is long. The biggest mistake of my life was having my son there. I had spoken to other parents as well. Sadly, we share the oppinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

MY DAUGHTER ONLY ATTENDED MOSI FOR 2ND GRADE.....LAST YEAR. THE PRINCIPAL AND FACULTY HERE ARE TERRIBLE AND DONT CARE ABOUT THE CHILDREN. MY CHILD NOW GOES TO ANOTHER SCHOOL . AT THE END OF THIS YEAR SHE'S AN HONOR ROLL STUDENT. THEY DONT WANT TO TAKE TIME TO HELP ANY CHILDREN THAT MIGHT NEED ALITTLE EXTRA HELP..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

MOSI Partnership School works in collaboration with the museum to really expand the world of our students. The staff really takes advantage of of the wonderful programs offered by the museum to supplement our lessons. MOSI Partnership is an A rated school. It is a small school and it feels like a family. The students and staff know each other well and everyone works hard. I really enjoy working there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2009

I am a proud teacher at MOSI Partnership! I love our small family we have created. We have some outstanding National Board Teachers, incredible staff, and a super administration team that knows each child well.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
24%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

34 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 51%
Hispanic 40%
White 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 97%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%67%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROL BROWN
Fax number
  • (813) 983-3998

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 East Fowler Avenue
Tampa, FL 33617
Phone: (813) 983-3989

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Woodmont Charter School
Temple Terrace, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT